Free Library of Philadelphia

Explore
Home > What We're Reading: Book Reviews
Book Reviews - Want to know what our librarians and staff are reading? Browse through a variety of book reviews added to our catalog from a variety of genres. Subscribe
There Are 51 Reviews | Showing 1 to 10
Slightly bad girls of the Bible : flawed women loved by a flawless God Book Cover
Slightly bad girls of the Bible : flawed women loved by a flawless God by Higgs, Liz Curtis.
Reviewed by G (Jun 5, 2014)
Excellent, this author know how to correlate, the old and the new, the past and the present, untainted with the tainted, she opines just so, not overwhelming me with unnecessary comments. Any woman living today can get help,and or understand how our today lives mimic and reflect on the past live of our biblical ancestors. This book need to be written. Thank you Liz
 
 
Slightly bad girls of the Bible : flawed women loved by a flawless God Book Cover
Slightly bad girls of the Bible : flawed women loved by a flawless God by Higgs, Liz Curtis.
Reviewed by G (Jun 5, 2014)
Excellent, this author know how to correlate, the old and the new, the past and the present, untainted with the tainted, she opines just so, not overwhelming me with unnecessary comments. Any woman living today can get help,and or understand how our today lives mimic and reflect on the past live of our biblical ancestors. This book need to be written. Thank you Liz
 
 
Giggle, giggle, quack Book Cover
Giggle, giggle, quack by Cronin, Doreen. Lewin, Betsy.
Reviewed by Robert S (May 23, 2014)
Is Duck both a leader and a uniter or just a party animal? Farmer Brown leaves the pigs, cows and Duck behind on the farm for a few days. The suspense builds. What will Duck do? Farmer Brown knows Duck will do something. Spoiler Alert! Duck wastes no time. With a multitude of drawings, shout-along “Oinks”, “Moos”, and “Quacks” we experience the excitement and satisfaction as Duck sends out for pizza! I’ve repeatedly used Giggle, Giggle, Quack in storytimes. Kids and parents rate it two thumbs up!
 
Tags:  5 Stars (LOVED it), Children's
 
Gee Whiz Book Cover
Gee Whiz by Smiley, Jane
Reviewed by Teresa G (May 21, 2014)
Abby Lovitt's life on her family's horse farm continues as she works with True Blue and the rest of the horses. Jack has been sent to train at a nearby racing stable and, while Abby misses him, she knows he is where he belongs. When her brother, Danny, arrives with a 17-hand retired race horse and asks to stable him on the farm, Abby quickly becomes involved with his care and training. He is the largest, most powerful horse she has ever seen and she can't figure out what use Gee Whiz might have in his new life. When she finds out her brother, Danny, actually owns the horse, she is both pleased and shocked. By the end of the book Gee Whiz begins to show potential in a way that surprises and exhilarates Abby. I am looking forward to the next installment in the series to find out just what becomes of Gee Whiz.
 
 
Pie in the Sky Book Cover
Pie in the Sky by Smiley, Jane
Reviewed by Teresa G (May 21, 2014)
When Abby takes her horse, True Blue, to a clinic run by a famous ex-cavalry rider, she is shocked by the harsh way he treats the riders. When he tells Abby that Blue is worthless she knows it isn't true but she can't help being hurt by his negative comment. Another horse at the clinic, Pie in the Sky, known for being an exceptional jumper, makes several mistakes due to Sophia, his rider. Sophia is normally very accomplished and rarely makes mistakes. When Abby is asked to ride Pie she finds him one of the most amazing horses she has ever ridden. Sophia and her sudden change become a mystery Abby must solve.
 
Tags:  4 Stars (liked it), Children's
 
True Blue Book Cover
True Blue by Smiley, Jane
Reviewed by Teresa G (May 21, 2014)
True Blue enters Abby Lovitt's life after his previous owner dies in a car crash. Since his owner was new to California, no one at the show stable where Abby sometimes rides knew her very well. Blue is a nice horse, but Abby sometimes feels the presence of his former owner, as if she is telling Abby, "He is still mine." As Abby struggles to figure out what this mysterious feeling means she must also help Blue become a reliable show horse. The slight supernatural slant to this book made it a bit different from the others in the series.
 
 
A Good Horse Book Cover
A Good Horse by Smiley, Jane
Reviewed by Teresa G (May 21, 2014)
Book two in the Horses of Oak Valley Ranch, A Good Horse, continues the story of Abby Lovitt and her family. Abby's orphaned colt, Jack, is growing up. Worries about his future on the farm arrive with a letter from an investigator who is searching for a stolen thoroughbred mare who was pregnant when she was taken. Could this mare be Jack's dam? Meanwhile Black George is developing into a talented jumper. Abby must face the possibility of losing him as well. Again, the descriptions of life with horses is excellent and the characters are so real that the reader feels like they are old friends.
 
Tags:  5 Stars (LOVED it), Children's
 
The Georges and the Jewels Book Cover
The Georges and the Jewels by Smiley, Jane
Reviewed by Teresa G (May 21, 2014)
Set in California in the 1960's this book introduces Abby Lovitt and her family and describes their life on their horse farm. Abby's father buys horses, trains them, then resells them. To keep from becoming attached each mare is named Jewel and each gelding is named George. Abby, an accomplished rider, helps with all aspects of work with the horses, but she meets her match with Ornery George. With the help of her brother, estranged from the family, she must find a way to overcome her fear and turn Ornery George into a useful horse. Abby's family and their sometimes difficult relationships is well-developed. The details about riding and caring for horses couldn't be better. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and am looking forward to reading the next one in the series!
 
 
Dot. Book Cover
Dot. by Zuckerberg, Randi, author.
Reviewed by Debra E (Mar 31, 2014)
Meet Dot! She's a girl that knows how to use digital tools! She can tap, swipe, text, and share. She tires of all of this indoor activity; she finds that she can be just as interactive outdoors with her friends. This book is a good story that parents can use to show a child that there is still fun to be had outside of the digital world.
 
Tags:  4 Stars (liked it), Children's
 
Ophelia and the marvelous boy Book Cover
Ophelia and the marvelous boy by Foxlee, Karen
Reviewed by Jen M (Jan 8, 2014)
A lovely fairy tale type story that sucks you right in. Although the story was predictable, it had a nice flow. The descriptions were incredible and the whole book came to life in my head as I read.