This event has already happened. Check out our other great events!


Octavius V. Catto: A Legacy for the 21st Century

Sat, February 24, 2018 2:00 P.M.
Oak Lane Library

Interactive workshop for the whole family featuring hands-on activities, examination of primary sources, and a screening of History Making Productions' Octavius V. Catto: A Legacy for the 21st Century followed by a discussion led by local Catto experts.

Octavius V. Catto was a 19th century civil rights activist, scholar, athlete, and community leader. In September 2017 a coalition of community activists, scholars, and public servants had the joy of dedicating a memorial at City Hall to this local hero, making him the first individual African American to be honored with a statue on public land in Philadelphia.

Oak Lane Library
6614 North 12th Street (12th St. & Oak Lane)
Philadelphia, PA 19126-3299
215-685-2848

Upcoming Events at Oak Lane Library

Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Thursday, December 27, 2018
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019

Upcoming Black History Month Events

Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019