This event has already happened. Check out our other great events!


A Taste of African Heritage

Sat, May 19, 2018 11:00 A.M.
Lillian Marrero Library

A Taste of African Heritage brings the African Heritage Diet Pyramid to life, showing people how to eat and cook healthfully, traditionally, and enjoyably. With lesson plans that simultaneously teach history, nutrition, and cooking techniques, the program introduces participants to the rich cultural history of African heritage foods while providing them the tools they need to adopt this traditional way of eating for better health in modern day life.

A Taste of African Heritage is more than just a series of cooking classes. It is a new kind of wellness program designed to reconnect participants with vibrant ways of eating and living that once promoted the health of African American ancestors everywhere.

Participants are encouraged, but not required, to attend every class in the series. To sign up, contact the librarian at Lillian Marrero by phone at (215) 685-9794. This class is open to adults.

Healthy Communities is a partnership with the Free Library of Philadelphia and the Philadelphia Department of Public Health’s Get Healthy Philly program and supports a community-based approach to improving health across Philadelphia.

Lillian Marrero Library
601 West Lehigh Avenue (6th St. & Lehigh Ave.)
Philadelphia, PA 19133-2228
215-685-9794

Upcoming Events at Lillian Marrero Library

Saturday, October 6, 2018
Saturday, October 13, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Saturday, October 27, 2018
Saturday, November 10, 2018

Upcoming Culinary Literacy Events

Friday, September 21, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Friday, September 28, 2018