This event has already happened. Check out our other great events!


Queer Discoveries Film Series | Philadelphia

Wed, June 13, 2018 5:30 P.M.
Lovett Memorial Library

Join us for a screening of Philadelphia, a drama based on a true story.  Fearing it would compromise his career, laywer Andrew Beckett (Tom Hanks) hides his homosexuality and HIV status at a powerful Philadelphia law firm.  But his secret is exposed when a colleague spots the illness's telltale lesions.  Fired shortly afterwards, Beckett resolves to sue for discrimination, teaming up with Joe Miller (Denzel Washington), the only lawyer willing to help.  In court, they face one of his ex-employer's top litigators, Belinda Conine (Mary Steenburgen).

This is the 25th anniversary of this film, which was shot entirely in Philadelphia. A talk-back with members of Philly AIDS Law Project will follow the screening.

Lovett Memorial Library
6945 Germantown Avenue (Germantown Ave. & Sedgwick St.)
Philadelphia, PA 19119-2189
215-685-2095

Upcoming Events at Lovett Memorial Library

Tuesday, January 22, 2019
10:30 A.M.
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
10:30 A.M.
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Saturday, February 2, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
10:30 A.M.

Upcoming Film Screening Events

Thursday, January 17, 2019
6:30 P.M.
Daughters of the Dust Screening Featuring Actress Alva Rogers | Bryn Mawr Film Institute, 824 W. Lancaster Ave.
Saturday, January 19, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
6:30 P.M.
Killer of Sheep: Screening and Seminar | Bryn Mawr Film Institute, 824 W. Lancaster Ave.