Showing 1061 to 1080 of 1147

Shakespeare in the World Lecture Series: Shakespeare and Religion

Wed, April 11, 2018 6:00 P.M.
Literature Department at Parkway Central Library

Room 108 The early modern period, and Shakespeare’s plays, are a useful mirror to our contemporary religious turmoil. Then as now, there was a fear that secularization would lead to moral decay and a belief that the “other” religion was fundamentally incompatible with the most…

Adult Senior Speakers and Lectures Shakespeare in the World

Preschool Storytime

Thu, April 12, 2018 11:00 A.M.
Wynnefield Library

Join Ms. Susan for stories, songs, and interactive play.

Preschool Toddler Family Programs Storytimes Children Family

Italian Movie Matinee

Fri, April 13, 2018 12:00 P.M.
Fumo Family Library

Join us on the second Friday of the Month for a showing of Italian Language Films (except March). You are welcome to bring a bagged lunch or a snack. 

Adult Film Screening

Friday Builders

Fri, April 13, 2018 3:30 P.M.
Cecil B. Moore Library

Come build with us! We’ll use a rotating mix of Legos, Magnatiles, wooden blocks, cups, and more. Primarily intended for children ages 6-12 and their families. Siblings always welcome; soft play materials can be provided for infants and toddlers. Day care groups and preschools must call to…

School Age Family Programs LEGO STEM

Poetry Reading and Open Mic

Sat, April 14, 2018 2:00 P.M.
Kingsessing Library

Join us as we celebrate National Poetry Month at Kingsessing Library!  Everyone is welcome to share a poem or another talent.  Local artists will be reading poetry.  Light food and refreshments will be provided. To register, contact Rachel J. Hayes at 215-685-2690 or…

Adult Young Adult Senior Community Events Poetry

Cookbook Club

Sat, April 14, 2018 2:00 P.M.
Philadelphia City Institute

Do you enjoy cooking and sharing meals with friends? Join us one Saturday a month as we explore a new cookbook. We’ll each choose a recipe from the featured cookbook to make and bring for sharing with the group. On April 14, we will be preparing recipes from A New Way to Dinner by Amanda…

Adult Other Great Programs Cooking & Nutrition Health

English Conversation Group

Mon, April 16, 2018 5:30 P.M.
Philadelphia City Institute

Please join us for a free conversation hour as you build your confidence in speaking English. Topics may involve small talk, holidays and customs, and common slang. Participants will get to practice speaking in a casual environment and meet other international adults. This program will be held…

Adult New Americans New Americans ESL

Toddler Storytime

Tue, April 17, 2018 10:00 A.M.
Fumo Family Library

Join us for stories, songs, and activities.  These programs are intended for children three years old and younger, accompanied by a caregiver.  Daycares, please call for separate appointments.  For more information, contact the children's librarian at 215-685-1758.

Toddler Family Programs Storytimes Children

Social Justice Read Aloud

Tue, April 17, 2018 4:00 P.M.
Cecil B. Moore Library

Practice your reading skills and explore the library’s books with Miss Kayla. We will feature books and stories that showcase and reflect current social issues. All readers are welcome to listen, read aloud, and participate in group discussions. This program is intended for children ages 8…

School Age Discussion and Participation Social Justice

WC Gatchel and Friends Show

Tue, April 17, 2018 4:00 P.M.
Lillian Marrero Library

The show is inspired by the book "The King Who Had Issues," a best-selling children's book.  The author himself plays the part of the Chef and reads the book to the children with the help of his puppets to teach nutrition.

School Age Preschool Family Programs Children Cooking & Nutrition Family Health

Community Storytimes

Wed, April 18, 2018 10:30 A.M.
Cecil B. Moore Library

Join us for our family & community story time! Children ages 0-5, their siblings, and their caregivers are invited for stories, songs, and movement. Day care groups and preschools must call to schedule an appointment.

Preschool Toddler Family Programs Storytimes

ESL Class

Wed, April 18, 2018 1:30 P.M.
Independence Library

Free weekly ESL class for English language learners every Wednesday from 1:30 to 3:00 p.m. All are welcome! Please email instructor Nad Rosenberg for more information at twnad@techw.com.

Adult New Americans New Americans ESL

Wednesday Jazz Concert Series | Jack Saint Claire

Wed, April 18, 2018 6:00 P.M.
South Philadelphia Library

Please join us for a Jazz Concert presented by JOTSS-Jazz and Other Soulful Sounds. Free admission.

Adult Young Adult Other Great Programs Music

Pajama Storytime

Wed, April 18, 2018 7:00 P.M.
Fumo Family Library

Children seven years old and younger are invited to snuggle in with their parents or caregiver for an evening of stories and songs, with milk and cookies to follow! Wear your pajamas, and bring along your favorite stuffed animal to snuggle with!

Preschool Family Programs Storytimes Children

Construction Club

Thu, April 19, 2018 10:00 A.M.
Fumo Family Library

Children aged eight and younger, accompanied by a caregiver, are invited to join us as we build with wooden blocks, magnetic tiles, Lincoln Logs, Mega Bloks, and more, with people, animals, and vehicles to inhabit their creations! In addition to being a lot of fun, construction play supports the…

School Age Preschool Family Programs Children

Preschool Storytime

Thu, April 19, 2018 11:00 A.M.
Wynnefield Library

Join Ms. Susan for stories, songs, and interactive play.

Preschool Toddler Family Programs Storytimes Children Family

State Representative Morgan Cephas Mobile Office Hours

Thu, April 19, 2018 11:00 A.M.
Haddington Library

STATE REPRESENTATIVE MORGAN CEPHAS is bringing State services to YOU! Staff will be on hand to assist with any state-related issues or programs including: Property Tax/Rent Rebate LIHEAP PACE/PACENET PennDOT Applications Mobile office hours are from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. For more information,…

Adult Young Adult Senior Other Great Programs Government Information

Preschool Science Exploration

Thu, April 19, 2018 11:00 A.M.
Lillian Marrero Library

Each month, students will explore concepts of Science and do STEM activities. This is for preschool/kindergarten children ages 3 to 7. Groups must call to schedule a visit.

Preschool Family Programs Family Science STEM

Teen Comic Book Club

Thu, April 19, 2018 4:00 P.M.
Blanche A. Nixon/Cobbs Creek Library

For fans of Comics, Graphic Novels, and Manga. Come hang out and discuss your favorite titles, recommend new books, make crafts and more!

Young Adult Discussion and Participation Comics & Graphic Novels Teens Anime & Manga

Friday Builders

Fri, April 20, 2018 3:30 P.M.
Cecil B. Moore Library

Come build with us! We’ll use a rotating mix of Legos, Magnatiles, wooden blocks, cups, and more. Primarily intended for children ages 6-12 and their families. Siblings always welcome; soft play materials can be provided for infants and toddlers. Day care groups and preschools must call to…

School Age Family Programs LEGO STEM
Narrow Events

Add Our Events to your Google Calendar: Author Events | Adult | Teen | Children