Databases

Use our subscription databases to find citations and full text articles. To get started, just click on the database that you would like to search. If you're outside the library, you may need to enter your library card number and PIN in order to access the database.

• Digital Media
• Digital Learning
• Free Library Catalog

Awarded “Best Library Digital Resources” by Philadelphia Magazine

• Gale Health and Wellness (formerly Health and Wellness Resource Center)

  Find accurate, up-to-date information on a full range of health topics, from current diseases and disorders to in-depth coverage of alternative medicine practices. Access full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Health and Fitness
  • Medical
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • Seniors

• Gale in Context | Elementary (formerly Kids InfoBits)

  Students in K-5th grade will find kid-friendly content covering topics such as animals, arts, geography, health, literature, people, social studies, technology, and more! Includes more than 16,600 images and over 600 high-quality educational videos.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Biography and Autobiography
  • Health and Fitness
  • Homework Help and Study Aids
  • Literature
  • Movies and Television
  • Music
  • Newspapers Magazines and Journals
  • General Research
  • Social Science
  • Sports and Recreation
  • Technology
  • Children
  • Animals and Nature

• Gale In Context: High School

  Primary documents, biographies, topical essays, background information, critical analyses, full-text coverage of 800 magazines, photographs and illustrations, audio and video clips

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Health and Fitness
  • Homework Help and Study Aids
  • Newspapers Magazines and Journals
  • General Research
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • Children

• HealthCare.Gov

  Official guide to the health care, health insurance and the Affordable Care Act

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Government Information
  • Health and Fitness
  • Medical
  • Adults

• KidsHealth

  KidsHealth is the most-visited site on the Web for information about health, behavior, and development from before birth through the teen years.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Children
  • Health and Fitness
  • Medical
  • Adults
  • Children

• NewsBank Hot Topics

  Trending news and topics for your next assignment! Covers current events, business & economics, civics, government, & politics, social issues, science, technology & health, sports, arts & literature, and people in the news. *Chrome browser not supported.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Art
  • Business and Economics
  • Health and Fitness
  • Homework Help and Study Aids
  • Literature
  • Newspapers Magazines and Journals
  • Politics
  • General Research
  • Sports and Recreation
  • Technology
  • Adults
  • Teens

• Universal Class

  Over 1,500 online continuing education courses in a wide variety of subjects at your own pace from real instructors.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Crafts and Hobbies
  • Health and Fitness
  • Job Seekers
  • Online Learning
  • Business and Entrepreneurs
  • Adults
  • Teens

denotes POWER Library resource

This project is made possible in part by Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) funds from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services and through Library Access Funds administered by the Office of Commonwealth Libraries, Department of Education, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Tom Wolf, Governor.