Databases
Use our subscription databases to find citations and full text articles. To get started, just click on the database that you would like to search. If you're outside the library, you may need to enter your library card number and PIN in order to access the database.
Filters
-
Academic OneFile
Find peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals in the areas of the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, literature, and more. More than 20,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 10,900 in full text.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Access World News
Explore events and issues at the local, national, and international levels from over 9,000 news sources. Includes the Philadelphia Tribune, Philadelphia Magazine, and 30 other Philadelphia-area news sources. *Chrome browser not supported.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
American Broadsides and Ephemera
Rare printed documents that illuminate the history and culture of earlier Americans. Find over 30,000 searchable images of printed items including confessions, menus, playbills, music programs, and more from 1760-1900. *Chrome browser not supported.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
America's Historical Newspapers (formerly Early American Newspapers, Series I 1690-1876)
Search early American newspapers from all 50 states published across three centuries. Find cover-to-cover reproductions of over 750 fully searchable newspapers from 1690 to the recent past. *Chrome browser not supported.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
America's Obituaries & Death Notices - Heritage Hub
A collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices from around the country.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
AP Images (formerly AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive)
Current photos & a selection of pictures/images from the 50 million print & negative library of photographs at the Associated Press. Search for a picture/image of your favorite celebrity.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
eMagazines on OverDrive (formerly RBdigital Magazines)
Read and download over 4,000 digital magazines on OverDrive or the Libby app.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Evening Public Ledger
Find full text access to back issues of this popular daily paper from 9/14/1914 and 12/31/1922 online here. Visit the Newspaper Department at Parkway Central for microfilm access to additional years (9/14/1914 - 1/5/1942).Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Gale Business Insights: Global
Search companies, brands, market rankings, investment reports, corporate histories, industry studies and business news from a variety of reference sources, directories, and periodicals.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Gale in Context | Elementary (formerly Kids InfoBits)
Students in K-5th grade will find kid-friendly content covering topics such as animals, arts, geography, health, literature, people, social studies, technology, and more! Includes more than 16,600 images and over 600 high-quality educational videos.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Gale in Context | Middle School (formerly Research in Context)
Gale in Context | Middle School provides support for middle grade students working on papers and projects. Includes full-text magazine & news articles, multimedia, biographies, and primary sources.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Gale In Context: Biography
Comprehensive online biographical reference database containing 414,000 biographies.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Gale In Context: High School
Primary documents, biographies, topical essays, background information, critical analyses, full-text coverage of 800 magazines, photographs and illustrations, audio and video clipsAvailable To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Examine the many sides of today's hottest social issues. Explore pro/con viewpoints, articles, and infographics.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Gale In Context: U.S. History
U.S. History In Context provides a complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues and current information.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Gale In Context: World History
A multicultural, global resource that moves chronologically from antiquity to the present and geographically around the globe, to ensure that the events, movements and individuals that defined and shaped our world are covered with a sense of balance.Available To: All Free Library locations and internet with authentication.
-
Gale OneFile | High School Edition (formerly InfoTrac Student Edition)
Content for high school students from magazines, journals, newspapers, reference books, and rich media (images, audio, video) covering a range of subjects, from science, history, and literature to political science, sports, and environmental studies.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
General OneFile
A broad collection of news articles, magazines, reference books, images, audio, and video that support general interest research and exploration. Offering more than 8,800 full-text titles, with millions of articles available.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Historical Newspapers - Black Newspapers
Primary source material from ten historic Black newspapers, including the Chicago Defender, The Baltimore Afro-American, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, Los Angeles Sentinel, Atlanta Daily World, and the Cleveland Call and PostAvailable To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
JSTOR
Digital archive to back issues of over 2,800 journals. Available at all Free Library locations. JSTOR no longer provides remote access to public libraries as of September 2023. *Chrome browser not supportedAvailable To: All Free Library locations
-
New York Times Anywhere
Enjoy an unlimited number of free 72-hour passes to NYTimes.com, including historical coverage and international Spanish and Chinese editions. Crossword access is not included. Registration at NYTimes.com is required.Available To: Free Library card holders
-
New York Times at the Library
Enjoy free access to NYTimes.com from all Free Library locations, including historical coverage and international Spanish and Chinese editions. Crossword access is not included. Registration at NYTimes.com is required.Available To: All Free Library locations
-
NewsBank Hot Topics
Trending news and topics for your next assignment! Covers current events, business & economics, civics, government, & politics, social issues, science, technology & health, sports, arts & literature, and people in the news. *Chrome browser not supported.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
NewsBank Main Menu
The main portal to Newsbank Inc.'s databases, providing international, national, local, and historical news coverage.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Newsbank Selected America's Historical Newspapers
Articles from selected American newspapers covering many topics from 1690-1922.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Newsbank Special Reports
NewsBank's Special Reports focus on topics of current interest. They include content from sources throughout the world to provide a global perspective, current and background information, statistics, maps, images, websites, and suggested search terms.Available To: All Free Library locations.
-
NewspaperArchive
Historic coverage of 15,600+ newspaper and publication images from the U.S. and around the world starting from 1607 to the present, fully searchable by keyword or date.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Philadelphia Business Journal Online
Find the latest breaking local business news, updated throughout the day, this week's top stories from the Philadelphia Business Journal, and other popular features from the print edition such as the the Book of Lists.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Philadelphia Daily News
Philadelphia Daily News in full text from 1/4/1978 – Present (includes sporadic gaps in coverage)Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Philadelphia Evening Telegraph
Find full text issues of this afternoon daily published between 7/1/1864 and 6/30/1871 online here. These and additional years from 6/30/1871 to 6/28/1918 are available on microfilm at Parkway Central Library. Many coverage gaps.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Philadelphia Inquirer
JULY ISSUES SPORATICALLY AVAILABLE: SEE THE PRESSREADER DATABASE FOR FULL ACCESS. Philadelphia Inquirer in full text from 1/1/1981 – Present (includes sporadic gaps in coverage)Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Philadelphia Inquirer Historical Archive (formerly Civil War Archive)
Full text of the Philadelphia Inquirer from 1829-1922. *Chrome browser not supported.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Philadelphia Press Index
Electronic version of a paper index to the Philadelphia Press, one of Philadelphia's oldest newspapers.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
Full access to the oldest continuously published daily Black newspaper in the United States.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
PressReader including the Economist Magazine
Read or listen to 6,300+ newspapers from the U.S. and around the world in digital format in 60 languages from 120 countries. Translate into 20 languages. Borrow the Economist for 7 day periods. Mobile app available: use library card & PIN.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Search more than 3 million articles from 375 leading magazines from 1890 to 1982.Available To: All Free Library locations.
-
TDNet
Listing of full-text journals available electronically at the Free Library. Replaces JournalWebCite.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
denotes
POWER Library
resource
This project is made possible in part by Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) funds from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services and through Library Access Funds administered by the Office of Commonwealth Libraries, Department of Education, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Tom Wolf, Governor.