Databases

Use our subscription databases to find citations and full text articles. To get started, just click on the database that you would like to search. If you're outside the library, you may need to enter your library card number and PIN in order to access the database.

• Digital Media
• Digital Learning
• Free Library Catalog

Awarded “Best Library Digital Resources” by Philadelphia Magazine

• Academic OneFile

  Find peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals in the areas of the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, literature, and more. More than 20,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 10,900 in full text.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Art
  • Homework Help and Study Aids
  • Literature
  • Medical
  • Newspapers Magazines and Journals
  • General Research
  • Science
  • Social Science
  • Technology
  • Adults
  • Teens

• American Physical Society Online Journals

  Dating back to 1893, this collection is published by The American Physical Society and consists of more than 400,000 scientific research papers.

  Available To: All Free Library locations.

  • Science
  • Adults

• Gale in Context | Middle School (formerly Research in Context)

  Gale in Context | Middle School provides support for middle grade students working on papers and projects. Includes full-text magazine & news articles, multimedia, biographies, and primary sources.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Biography and Autobiography
  • Government Information
  • Homework Help and Study Aids
  • Literature
  • Newspapers Magazines and Journals
  • General Research
  • Science
  • Social Science
  • Teens
  • Children
  • History

• Gale OneFile | High School Edition (formerly InfoTrac Student Edition)

  Content for high school students from magazines, journals, newspapers, reference books, and rich media (images, audio, video) covering a range of subjects, from science, history, and literature to political science, sports, and environmental studies.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Environment and Nature
  • Homework Help and Study Aids
  • Literature
  • Newspapers Magazines and Journals
  • Politics
  • General Research
  • Science
  • Sports and Recreation
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • History

• Salem Press Reference

  Searchable database of reference titles developed by Salem Press

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Literature
  • General Research
  • Science
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • History

• Science Reference Center

  Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other reliable sources. In addition, Science Reference Center includes more than 280,000 high-quality science images.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Science
  • Adults
  • Teens

• Student Search: General Encyclopedia

  Search across a range of digital encyclopedias to find information on any topic.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • General Research
  • Science
  • Teens
  • Children
  • Animals and Nature

denotes POWER Library resource

This project is made possible in part by Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) funds from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services and through Library Access Funds administered by the Office of Commonwealth Libraries, Department of Education, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Tom Wolf, Governor.