Tagged
Library Lovers' Day: In Your Own Words!
Love is in the air, and we’re not just talking about Valentine’s Day. February 14th is also Library Lovers’ Day! To celebrate, we’ve gathered some of our favorite comments from the outpouring of support we…
Warming Centers Open at Select Libraries on February 17, 2025
Residents can get out of the cold and into a heated space at a neighborhood library with access to books, computers, wireless internet, and other Free Library amenities. The following neighborhood library locations will serve as warming…
Philadelphia and the African American Stage
Theater plays a significant role in our society. Beyond entertaining us, it promotes education and literacy, and it promotes different perspectives on issues and historical events, as well as discussion, social change, and…
Legal Forms Now Easily Accessible With Your Library Card
Everyone needs legal assistance at one time or another. Rest assured, the Free Library has Gale Legal Forms resources at the ready. State-Specific Gale Legal Forms is relevant to Pennsylvania law. There are categories like…
Celebrate Children’s Authors and Illustrators Week With Local Creators
The first week of February is Children’s Authors and Illustrators Week, an opportunity to celebrate the contributions of the writers and artists who play an integral part in the literacy journey of children worldwide.…
Black Histories of Philadelphia: An Exhibition from Special Collections
The exhibition Black Histories of Philadelphia observes the stories of people and places that make up Philadelphia’s countless histories. Some stories are kept, some fade over time, and others are misrepresented or…
New Titles Coming to the Free Library in February
There is lots to explore with these new titles coming to the Free Library of Philadelphia in February! Young Children (up to 2nd Grade) Space for Everyone by Seina Wedlick Zainab cherishes time spent with family and friends around…
Join the Entrepreneur Book Club
Most CEOs read four to five books a month — join their ranks! Every Fourth Saturday of the month, the Entrepreneur Book Club will discuss books focusing on starting, running, and enhancing business success,…
Celebrating Black Authors From Around the Globe
The commonalities connecting our African heritage, which is our Blackness, our resistance, and our resilience are well represented in writers from around the world. Within the history of African-American descent, our familial,…
Nothing Less Than What We’ve Earned: Black Voices in the Labor Movement
For centuries Black free labor was simply a guarantee. However, there was always an awareness that we were entitled to equity in the profits from the country we worked hard to create. 1850 ushered in the first attempt at a Black labor…
Inner Excellence: Read-Alikes for Championship-Level Inspiration
As the Philadelphia Eagles advance in the playoffs (GO BIRDS!), football fans everywhere are looking for a copy of A.J. Brown's viral sideline read , Inner Excellence . While the Free Library does carry digital audiobook…
History in the Free Library Archives
For over 130 years, the Free Library has been serving the communities of Philadelphia. Because we believe that history is important and should be shared, we are working to make the Free Library of Philadelphia Archives an accessible and…
Abortion and Women's Rights 1970: Film Screening and Panel Discussion
On Tuesday, January 21, at 6:00 p.m. the Social Science and History Department will screen Abortion and Women's Rights 1970 , the first documentary made in the U.S. about the struggle for reproductive rights. Following the…
Secretary to the People: Activating Democracy With Art
On a recent winter day, Sheryl Oring found her childhood library cards and the memories came flooding back. For Oring, the local library was a refuge: a place for kids to feel safer and dream with fewer interruptions. As a…
When Your Favorite Creator Does Something Terrible
With the internet at our fingertips, learning about the people who make our media has become much easier. Sometimes, we learn things we wish we could un-learn. The betrayal feels so personal. How can the stories that inspire and comfort…
Mark Edgar Allan Poe's 215th Birthday with Live Theater at the Library
January 19 marks the 215th birthday of poet and author Edgar Allan Poe . Poe lived in Philadelphia from 1838 to 1844, when he published his most famous poem, "The Raven." To commemorate the anniversary of Poe’s…
Dena's Favorite Books of 2024
It's the 13th annual list of my favorite books — the 2024 edition! This year I leaned quite heavily into my three favorite genres: Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Romance. I also seemed to zero in on joyful books. But…
New Titles Coming to the Free Library in January
Check out some new titles for the New Year! Young Children (up to 2nd Grade) We Are Lion Dancers by Benson Shum Celebrate Lunar New Year with the lion dance, bringing good luck and fortune to all. In this story designed to engage early…
The Top Titles Checked Out from the Free Library in 2024
As we come to terms with the results of our Spotify Wrapped lists, the Free Library is again wrapping up our year with the most circulated items of 2024! While it may feel like it snuck past us, it was an…
The Central Children's Department's Book Awards of 2024
What did we read in 2024? From "Most 2024" to "Terrible Schools and Awesome Adventures," Parkway Central Children’s Department has all the extremely specific book awards you never knew you needed! …
Resume Review with Dress For Success
Need to refresh your resume? We're excited to partner with Dress for Success Greater Philadelphia to offer resume review services and job search assistance on the first Thursday of each month! Resume review will be…
Treasures from the Literature Vault
Do you love old books? Then join us for Treasures from the Vault– a casual, hands-on book club program spotlighting items from the Literature vault! The vault, home to our closed reference collections, is a treasure trove of…
Resume Review with Dress For Success
Need to refresh your resume? We're excited to partner with Dress for Success Greater Philadelphia to offer resume review services and job search assistance on the first Thursday of each month! Resume review will be…
Bridging Blocks: A WHYY Community Conversation
This event will be held in Parkway Central's Skyline Room - please take the gold lobby elevators to the 4th Floor. Join WHYY News Community & Engagement team for Bridging Blocks, a civic dialogue series in partnership…
Resume Review with Dress For Success
Need to refresh your resume? We're excited to partner with Dress for Success Greater Philadelphia to offer resume review services and job search assistance on the first Thursday of each month! Resume review will be…
Treasures from the Literature Vault
Do you love old books? Then join us for Treasures from the Vault– a casual, hands-on book club program spotlighting items from the Literature vault! The vault, home to our closed reference collections, is a treasure trove of…
Resume Review with Dress For Success
Need to refresh your resume? We're excited to partner with Dress for Success Greater Philadelphia to offer resume review services and job search assistance on the first Thursday of each month! Resume review will be…
Bridging Blocks: A WHYY Community Conversation
This event will be held in Parkway Central's Skyline Room - please take the gold lobby elevators to the 4th Floor. Join WHYY News Community & Engagement team for Bridging Blocks, a civic dialogue series in partnership…
Resume Review with Dress For Success
Need to refresh your resume? We're excited to partner with Dress for Success Greater Philadelphia to offer resume review services and job search assistance on the first Thursday of each month! Resume review will be…
Treasures from the Literature Vault
Do you love old books? Then join us for Treasures from the Vault– a casual, hands-on book club program spotlighting items from the Literature vault! The vault, home to our closed reference collections, is a treasure trove of…
Resume Review with Dress For Success
Need to refresh your resume? We're excited to partner with Dress for Success Greater Philadelphia to offer resume review services and job search assistance on the first Thursday of each month! Resume review will be…
Resume Review with Dress For Success
Need to refresh your resume? We're excited to partner with Dress for Success Greater Philadelphia to offer resume review services and job search assistance on the first Thursday of each month! Resume review will be…
Bridging Blocks: A WHYY Community Conversation
This event will be held in Parkway Central's Skyline Room - please take the gold lobby elevators to the 4th Floor. Join WHYY News Community & Engagement team for Bridging Blocks, a civic dialogue series in partnership…
Treasures from the Literature Vault
Do you love old books? Then join us for Treasures from the Vault– a casual, hands-on book club program spotlighting items from the Literature vault! The vault, home to our closed reference collections, is a treasure trove of…
Resume Review with Dress For Success
Need to refresh your resume? We're excited to partner with Dress for Success Greater Philadelphia to offer resume review services and job search assistance on the first Thursday of each month! Resume review will be…
Resume Review with Dress For Success
Need to refresh your resume? We're excited to partner with Dress for Success Greater Philadelphia to offer resume review services and job search assistance on the first Thursday of each month! Resume review will be…
Treasures from the Literature Vault
Do you love old books? Then join us for Treasures from the Vault– a casual, hands-on book club program spotlighting items from the Literature vault! The vault, home to our closed reference collections, is a treasure trove of…
Resume Review with Dress For Success
Need to refresh your resume? We're excited to partner with Dress for Success Greater Philadelphia to offer resume review services and job search assistance on the first Thursday of each month! Resume review will be…
Treasures from the Literature Vault
Do you love old books? Then join us for Treasures from the Vault– a casual, hands-on book club program spotlighting items from the Literature vault! The vault, home to our closed reference collections, is a treasure trove of…
Older Adult Coffee/Tea Table Talk
The first Thursday of the month, a different agency will provide information and resources relevant to older adults, in an informal, congenial atmosphere around the table over a nice cup of tea or coffee.
Children's Books About Oral Health
This list was compiled by Laurel Graham, the Director of the University of Pennsylvania Leon Levy Dental Medicine Library.
Gena Showalter
I love it
Letter Writing
Books on the history of Letter Writing
Animals in Art
Books with images of animals for artists, how-to books for making art featuring animals, and fine art of animals.
Go Birds!
Teen books for Eagles fans. Fly, Eagles, fly!
Black, Queer, Teen
Teen books of all genres about being Black and queer.
B. J. Daniels
I love it
Independent Black Comic Books and Graphic Novels
Black independent comic books are crucial in ensuring that the comic book industry reflects the diversity of its audience. They provide a platform for authentic, innovative, and impactful stories that celebrate Black culture and offer…
African American Theater
From Shuffling Along to A Strange Loop, African American theater has not only shaped the arts but has also served as a critical tool for social change. Its impact is far-reaching, offering powerful narratives that reflect the African…
Culturally Affirming Books for Black Children
Not only do Free Library staff work diligently to ensure libraries are welcoming and inclusive spaces, but they create visual displays, public art exhibitions, and book displays based on the interests of patrons. This year we would like…
Black LGBTQ+ Culture
From the early 20th century today, leaders, artists, civil rights activists, and everyday people have all played a part in this cultural history. This list includes powerful memoirs, influential novels, personal recollections of ballroom…
Value Line
Research, recommendations, rankings & financial information on 3,500 stocks, more than 2,000 mutual funds, as well as options, convertibles, & OTC special situations.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980)
The bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives constitutes a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history. Upon…
TumbleBooks
TumbleBooks is an online collection of animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. Check out our home user guide
TrueFlix *
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is an authoritative, comprehensive Web-based reference work about philosophy, useful to scholars of all levels as well as the general public. Published through Stanford University’s Center for the…
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
With an extraordinary array of more than 35,000 individual tracks of streaming music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds, users can listen to performances by American folk icons such as Woody Guthrie, Lead Belly, Pete Seeger…
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture, and Law
This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the U.S. and the English-speaking world. It includes nearly 2,000 titles, with every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery,…
SimplyAnalytics
A mapping and data visualization application that makes it easy to create interactive maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data.
Judy Giesberg & Lee Hawkins | Last Seen: The Enduring Search by Formerly Enslaved People to Find Their Lost Families AND I Am Nobody's Slave: How Uncovering My Family's History Set Me Free
The Author Events Series presents Judy Giesberg & Lee Hawkins | Last Seen: The Enduring Search by Formerly Enslaved People to Find Their Lost Families AND I Am Nobody's Slave: How Uncovering My Family's History Set Me Free REGISTER In…
Brian Kelly | How to Win at Travel
The Author Events Series presents Brian Kelly | How to Win at Travel REGISTER In Conversation with Haley Sacks In How to Win at Travel, Brian Kelly shares his greatest tips and strategies to experience the world in ways you never…
Juan Williams | New Prize for These Eyes: The Rise of America's Second Civil Rights Movement
The Author Events Series presents Juan Williams | New Prize for These Eyes REGISTER In Conversation with Marsha Levick In New Prize for These Eyes, award-winning author Juan Williams shines a light on this historic, new movement. Who…
Uché Blackstock | Legacy: A Black Physician Reckons with Racism in Medicine
The Author Events Series presents Uché Blackstock | Legacy: A Black Physician Reckons with Racism in Medicine REGISTER In Conversation with Dr. Joel Bervell The rousing, captivating story of a Black physician, her career in medicine,…
Caroline Eden | Cold Kitchen: A Year of Culinary Travels
The Author Events Series presents Caroline Eden | Cold Kitchen: A Year of Culinary Travels REGISTER In Conversation with Jonathan Deutsch From the author of Red Sands, a New Yorker "Best Cookbook of the Year," a cozy, thoughtful memoir…
The Intertextual Self: New Approaches to the Memoir
The Author Events Series presents The Intertextual Self: New Approaches to the Memoir REGISTER Memoirists most often focus on the authenticity of their own voice and experience, and how best to render on the page the intersection of…
Bill Clinton | Citizen: My Life After the White House
The Author Events Series presents Bill Clinton | Citizen: My Life After the White House REGISTER In Conversation with Jonathan Capehart A powerful, candid, and richly detailed memoir from an American icon, revealing what life looks like…
Lori Ginzberg | Tangled Journeys
The Author Events Series presents Lori Ginzberg | Tangled Journeys REGISTER In conversation with Tamala Edwards In 1830 Richard Walpole Cogdell, a husband, father, and bank clerk in Charleston, South Carolina, purchased a…
Andre Robert Lee | A Conversation with the Documentary Filmmaker and Author
The Author Events Series presents Andre Robert Lee | A Conversation with the Documentary Filmmaker and Author REGISTER In Conversation with Cherri Gregg André Robert Lee most recently served as the Executive Producer of Notes From…
Maira Kalman | Still Life with Remorse
From the critically acclaimed artist, designer, and author of the bestsellers The Principles of Uncertainty, My Favorite Things, and Women Holding Things comes a moving meditation in words and pictures on remorse, joy, ancestry, and…
Malcolm Gladwell | Revenge of the Tipping Point
Congregation Rodeph Shalom 615 North Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19123 Enter at 1339 Green Street, Philadelphia, PA 19123 The Author Events Series presents Malcolm Gladwell | Revenge of the Tipping Point REGISTER In conversation…
Paola Mendoza | Solis: A Companion to Sanctuary
The Author Events Series presents Paola Mendoza | Solis: A Companion to Sanctuary REGISTER In conversation with AJ Hikes From the authors of Sanctuary comes a haunting near-future companion tale about undocumented immigrants subjected…
Francis Collins | The Road to Wisdom: On Truth, Science, Faith, and Trust
The Author Events Series presents Francis Collins | The Road to Wisdom: On Truth, Science, Faith, and Trust REGISTER In conversation with Kathleen Hall Jamieson In The Road to Wisdom , Francis Collins reminds us of the four core…
Carrie Rickey | A Complicated Passion, The Life and Work of Agnès Varda
The Author Events Series presents Carrie Rickey | A Complicated Passion, The Life and Work of Agnès Varda REGISTER In conversation with Gary Kramer Born in Los Angeles, Carrie Rickey is an award-winning film critic, art critic, and…
SOLD OUT! Melissa Fitzgerald and Mary McCormack | What's Next: A Backstage Pass to the West Wing
SOLD OUT The Author Events Series presents Melissa Fitzgerald & Mary McCormack | What's Next: A Backstage Pass to the West Wing REGISTER WHAT’S NEXT: A Backstage Pass to The West Wing, Its Cast and Crew, and Its Enduring Legacy of…
Daniel Schlozman and Sam Rosenfeld | The Hollow Parties: The Many Pasts and Disordered Present of American Party Politics
In conversation with author and Pennsylvania State Senator, Nikil Saval In The Hollow Parties , Daniel Schlozman and Sam Rosenfeld present a comprehensive history of the rise of American mass party politics through the Jacksonian era up…
George Stephanopoulos | The Situation Room: The Inside Story of Presidents in Crisis
Meelya Gordon Memorial Lecture In conversation with Tamala Edwards, anchor, 6abc Action News morning edition. ABC News’ Chief Anchor, the host of This Week with George Stephanopoulos , and co-anchor of Good Morning America , George…
Paul Hendrickson | Fighting the Night: Iwo Jima, WW II and a Flyer’s Life
In conversation with Wil Haygood Paul Hendrickson ’s books include Sons of Mississippi , winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award; Hemingway’s Boat: Everything He Loved in Life, and Lost, 1934–1961 , a National Book Critics…
Claire Messud | This Strange Eventful History: A Novel
In conversation with Laura McGrath, Assistant Professor of English at Temple University “Among our greatest contemporary writers” ( The Miami Herald ), Claire Messud is the author of The Emperor’s Children , a cutting portrait of…
Colm Tóibín | Long Island: A Novel
“His generation’s most gifted writer of love’s complicated, contradictory power” (Los Angeles Times) , Colm Tóibín is the author of an impressive list of novels, short stories, essays, plays, poetry, and criticism. His novels The…
ZOOM Trivia Games
ZOOM-from PBS Kids! A game to play with your friends or family. For grades 4 and up.
ZOOM
ZOOM from PBS-by kids, for kids. Lots of fun science activities. Grades 2 and up; may need adult supervision.
Ziggity Zoom
This site offers a variety that will appeal to preschool and younger elementary age children. Online and printable activities are available.
Zero to Three
The mission of Zero to Three is to promote the healthy development of infants and toddlers. This website provides a breadth of behavioral and developmental information for parents, as well as suggestions for creating positive learning…
Zenkaikon
The Philadelphia-area Anime Convention.
ZDNet
A wholly-owned subsidiary of CNET networks, ZDNet aims to be the "premier 'full service' destination for people looking to buy, use, and learn more about technology." On its site, the company offers news, product reviews, downloads, free…
Zamzar
Free Online File Converter
Yves St. Laurent
Yves St. Laurent launched his label in 1962 and turned the fashion world on its ear with his mix of pantsuits and fitted gowns. The line is now supervised by Stefano Pilati, whose innovative designs continue the legacy of St. Laurent…
Yuckiest Site on the Internet
From Discovery.com - The Yuckiest Site on the Internet! Join Wendell the worm and check out his buggy scrapbook! For grades 3 and up.
Youthspeaks.org
Provides safe spaces to empower the next generation of leaders, self-defined artists, and visionary activists through written and oral literacies.
YouthSpeak Newsletter
YouthSpeak is a grassroots citizen organization working to empower youth and to allow youth to make the democratic choices that affect their lives.
YouthRules!
Information from the U.S. Department of Labor for teens, parents, educators, employers and the public on Federal and State rules regarding young workers, to help ensure a safe and positive work experience for young people.
Youth work Links and Ideas
This site's author has a Master's Degree in Social Work from Boston University School of Social Work, and 20 years experience working with adolescents. The site is comprehensive and contains frequently updated links pages for youth and…
Youth Violence Fact Sheet
This site from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention lists current statistics on youth violence, including risk factors.
Youth United for Change (YUC)
Youth United for Change (YUC) is a democratic organization primarily made up of working class youth of color, which builds the “people power" necessary to hold school officials and government accountable to guarantee the educational…
Youth Service America: National Child Awareness Month Youth Ambassador Program
Year-long program helps young leaders (ages 16-22) create change around critical issues facing youth today.
Youth Health Empowerment Project (Y-HEP)
Y-HEP's mission is to help young people grow into healthy adults by supporting them in empowering themselves to make healthy choices. They offer outreach and drop-in services.
Youth Health Empowerment Project
Youth Drop-In Center
YourDictionary
Provides an easy-to-use search engine for words and the results are quite detailed. Also offers 400 different language dictionaries.
You Can Play Sax
Community video lessons by and for saxophone players. Watch video lessons to improve your skill or upload a lesson yourself to help others learn the instrument! A space for instructors and students.
American Presidency Series
Join the Free Library for a series of compelling provocative programs that examine the untold stories of, unconventional approaches to, and contemporary concerns about the world's most difficult job. The 2016 American Presidency Series…
Anime and Manga
In Japanese, the word "anime" simply refers to all animation. Outside of Japan, the term "anime" refers specifically to Japanese animation. Anime comes in a wide variety of genres and encompasses both film and television animation. It…
Asian Americans
Asian American resources for teens, cultural traditions and celebrations, biographies on famous Asian Americans, history of different Asian ethnic groups in America, lesson plans for teachers to explore a variety of Asian cultures, Asian…
Black History Month
In celebration of Black History Month and African American History as a whole, explore our history and culture resources including famous African Americans from Philadelphia, essential reading lists, information about the Harlem…
Black Lives Matter
The #BlackLivesMatter movement began in 2013 after a jury acquitted the armed civilian who murdered seventeen-year-old Trayvon Martin. Though activists and organizers have resisted the long history of police and state-sanctioned…
Computer Skills
Do you feel comfortable using a computer or navigating the Internet? The links and resources below may be able to help you get started. Learn basic computer skills and tablet skills. Find easy instructions on surfing the Internet. Build…
Digital Media Guide
Borrowing ebooks and audiobooks, downloading podcasts, and streaming media such as movies, music, and even comic books, from Free Library has never been easier. In this guide, we'll offer tips and information to get you started or…
Fix It Yourself
Resources on how to do your own repairs on everyday items: Grab the scissors for sewing projects, drapery, upholstery, or even a haircut! View a list of do it yourself videos and tackle some of those household chores on your to-do list!…
Genealogy
This series of guides, web links, book lists, and resources will introduce you to the genealogical resources available through the Free Library of Philadelphia and to other important libraries and archives throughout the Philadelphia…
Graphic Novels
Graphic novels are, simply defined, book-length comics. Sometimes they tell a single, continous narrative from first page to last; sometimes they are collections of shorter stories or individual comic strips. Comics are sequential visual…
Green Living
Green living allows you to become an everyday environmentalist. Practitioners of sustainable living often attempt to reduce their carbon footprint by altering methods of transportation, energy consumption, and diet. Go green with these…
Grimm
Explore the world of the Brothers Grimm and their legendary tales.
Health
What are your health questions? The Free Library can connect you with resources to help you live a healthier lifestyle, including research tools, cooking classes, resources to help you quit smoking or increase your exercise, and…
Job Seekers
The Free Library supports job seekers within the Business Resource & Innovation Center (BRIC). We provide current information and resources on changing careers, job searching techniques, and emerging employment fields to help career…
LGBTQ
The Free Library of Philadelphia celebrates LGBTQ+ Pride Month in June with book and film recommendations and events for all ages. Through this Explore Topic, you can also find local and national LGBTQ+ resources and support that…
Martin Luther King Jr.
Martin Luther King Jr. was the leading voice of the American Civil Rights Movement, which fought for equal rights for all. He was famous for using nonviolent resistance to overcome injustice, and he never tired of trying to end…
Medieval Manuscripts
Are you interested in learning more about the history of people who lived in Europe between 500 and 1500 A.D.? Below you can find helpful information for your research or check out our Medieval Manuscript Digital Collection with over…
Personal Finance
The Free Library supports the economic well-being and financial interests of patrons. We provide current information and resources on a variety of topics such as budgeting, homeownership, credit repair, and investing. Through the explore…
Philadelphia Cooks
Explore diverse cooking styles and cuisine throughout Philadelphia, read cookbooks by renowned Philly chefs, learn about the latest nutritional values and advancements, search or browse through The Philadelphia Inquirer's restaurant and…
Poetry
Poetry in all its forms including classic selections from our Literature Department, Haikus, poetry for children, and poetry with special appeal for tweens and teens. Read poets from diverse cultures and in other languages, as well as…
Returning Citizens
Resources for returning citizens in the transition from incarceration to society including information on job training, housing assistance, and counseling services. One such resource is Bridges, which offers returning citizens from jails…
STEM
An acronym referring to the Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics fields of study. The term was created for schools from kindergarten through college to improve competitiveness in learning and workforce development. "Science"…
Voting and Elections
Discover information on voter registration, elections, and the different ways to cast your ballot in Pennsylvania. You'll also find comprehensive guides on understanding your rights as a voter, tips for researching candidates and issues,…