Tagged

Business Librarian and Business Owner: Goal Setting and Planning

The new year brings about an urgency to create new goals, make resolutions, change some of our habits, and look toward the future. This applies not only to our personal lives, but to business as well—whether you’re in the…

Celebrate National Handwriting Day!

January 23 happens to be a date of importance for two similar reasons: it is the birthday of John Hancock , who was the first person to sign the Declaration of Independence , with his name becoming synonymous with the act of signing…

New Release of the ProQuest Sanborn Maps Database

Sanborn fire insurance maps are available once again through ProQuest’s updated and newly-released database, Sanborn Maps 1867-1970 (formerly known as Sanborn Maps Geo Edition 1867-1970). This database gives you access to…

Squash Across Tables

Thank you to Nourishing Literacy (NL) team member Carolyn for writing this blog post! In addition to sharing her experience and findings, Carolyn has included some of the activities and approaches that we use in NL. The Nourishing…

Announcing the Upcoming 'Hear Me Out' Civic Dialogue Line-Up!

Navigating social distancing and splintering ideological differences across Pennsylvania has not been an easy feat. Debuting in October 2020 , the Hear Me Out civic dialogue program works to get at the heart of the issues that we face.…

Picture Book Highlights | Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

On Monday, January 18, celebrate Martin Luther King, Jr. Day with us! These books honor Dr. King’s work and the impact of his amazing life during the Civil Rights Movement . A renowned speaker and activist, Dr. King’s words…

Author Events Winter / Spring 2021 Schedule

The Free Library’s Winter / Spring 2021 Author Events series is set to begin! As in the fall, all of these events will be virtual and held on Zoom. All events begin at 7:30 p.m. Most are free, and you can find all the information…

Announcing the 2021 One Book, One Philadelphia Selection...

The Free Library is thrilled to announce the 19th annual One Book, One Philadelphia selection... The Tradition by Jericho Brown   Each year, a single book is chosen by library staff, teachers, and community members as the…

Tips on Searching for Books for the Whole Family in Our Catalog!

I know a lot of parents and caregivers out there miss taking a trip to the library. Believe me, we miss having you! One part of using the library that is harder when you can’t actually come into the library is picking out books to…

Celebrate the South Indian Holiday of Pongal!

The South Indian holiday of Pongal is a multi-day harvest festival full of music and food observed by the Tamil and Telugu community, celebrated this year per the Hindu religious calendar, starting on Thursday, January 14 and ending on…

Newest Additions to the National Film Registry

Seen any good movies lately? If you've exhausted watching everything on your streaming media platforms of choice, take a look at the National Film Registry 's yearly recommendations and selections to be preserved in the Library…

Online Exhibition Experiences to Welcome in the New Year

While the days of immersing ourselves at an in-person exhibit at a favorite gallery or museum are still out of reach for so many of us, as we continue to follow health guidelines to help manage the spread of COVID-19, online versions…

Let Culinary Explorations of Literature Nourish You with Book Feast!

Have you ever thought about why we use the same vocabulary to describe consuming food and consuming knowledge? How we’re hungry for the truth, devour a good book, and digest information?  Intellectual nourishment has been so…

Story Search from Special Collections: An Interview by Hannah Cho

Hannah Cho is a University of Pennsylvania Work-Study student from Davis, CA. During the Fall semester, she studied, recorded, and edited the Story Search podcasts remotely from South Korea. I’ve always been more of a talker…

I Belong: Facing COVID-19 with Wellness and Resilience

The Languages and Learning Center (LLC) supports the individual literacy and learning goals of Philadelphia adults, including resources for Adult Basic Education, language learning, and digital literacy.  This guest blog post is…

Healing Verse Philly: a Project from the Poet Laureate

Through the challenges of 2020, one of the abiding sources of relief for many of us has been poetry. More people than ever are looking to the written word for strength, wisdom, and comfort. Even before the pandemic struck, Trapeta B.…

New Titles Coming to the Free Library in January!

It’s finally 2021! Hopefully this year will bring better things than the last... and on that note, why not try one of these recommended reads!   Young Children (Up to 2nd Grade) Outside, Inside by LeUyen Pham Something…

Resilience Builds Positive Outcomes

The Merriam-Webster online dictionary defines the word resilience as "an ability to recover from or adjust easily to misfortune or change." Learning how to remain positive, in the face of adversity, is a challenging skill to…

Dena's Favorite Books of 2020

It's that time of year again for my annual list of favorite books from the Philbrick Hall Fiction Department at Parkway Central Library . It's been a hard year for a lot of people, and although I usually read around 350 books a…

New Year's Resolutions: Moving Forward by Taking a Step Back in 2021

What can I say about 2020 that hasn’t already been said? The Coronavirus pandemic completely turned the world upside-down and forced many of us to hunker down in our households, work from home, and greatly alter the way we travel…

Virtual Course | Ulysses

Registration Tuition for this course is $250 Rosenbach members (including the Dracula Club) receive a 10% discount on tuition. If you have questions about discounted tuition please call (215) 732-1600 x 138 or…

Virtual Course | Read the Blood of Dracula: The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

Registration Tuition for this course is $35 per session Rosenbach members receive a 10% discount on tuition. If you have questions about discounted tuition please call (215) 732-1600 x 138 or…

Virtual Course | Ulysses

Registration Tuition for this course is $250 Rosenbach members (including the Dracula Club) receive a 10% discount on tuition. If you have questions about discounted tuition please call (215) 732-1600 x 138 or…

Making Her Mark Spotlight: Generation to Generation | Digital Discussion

Join curators from regional institutions whose exhibitions look at the multi-generational women-led movement building around voter rights and enfranchisement leading up to the passage of the 19th Amendment and beyond. This discussion…

Sundays with Frankenstein

Following our very successful series, Sundays with Dracula, which ran from May 3–November 15, 2020 (you can watch past episodes here!) we now bring to you a fifteen week exploration of Mary…

Virtual Course | Alice Dunbar-Nelson: Reading from Inside the Archive

“Reading from Inside the Archive” is a unique opportunity offering an exploration of Alice Dunbar-Nelson’s life and work through her published writing and literary archive. Questions throughout center on how public…

Sundays with Frankenstein

Following our very successful series, Sundays with Dracula, which ran from May 3–November 15, 2020 (you can watch past episodes here!) we now bring to you a fifteen week exploration of Mary…

VIRTUAL - Natalie Diaz | Postcolonial Love Poem with Denice Frohman

REGISTER HERE Natalie Diaz is the author of When My Brother Was an Aztec , an “ambitious . . . beautiful” ( New York Times ) American Book Award–winning poetry collection that ruminates on her sibling’s drug…

Virtual Course | Read the Blood of Dracula: Fledgling by Octavia Butler

Registration Tuition for this course is $35 per session Rosenbach members receive a 10% discount on tuition. If you have questions about discounted tuition please call (215) 732-1600 x 138 or…

Sundays with Frankenstein

Following our very successful series, Sundays with Dracula, which ran from May 3–November 15, 2020 (you can watch past episodes here!) we now bring to you a fifteen week exploration of Mary…

A Conversation with Jericho Brown: One Book, One Philadelphia Kickoff

The 2021 One Book programming season kicks off with a reading and conversation with Pulitzer Prize-winning poet Jericho Brown and Philadelphia Poet Laureate Trapeta B. Mayson. The event will feature special performances of original…

Virtual - Blake Bailey | Philip Roth: The Biography

REGISTER HERE Blake Bailey is acclaimed for his “meticulously researched, judicious, and critically perceptive” ( Boston Globe ) biographies of some of the 20th century’s most complicated writers, including John…

Virtual Course | Ulysses

Registration Tuition for this course is $250 Rosenbach members (including the Dracula Club) receive a 10% discount on tuition. If you have questions about discounted tuition please call (215) 732-1600 x 138 or…

Sundays with Frankenstein

Following our very successful series, Sundays with Dracula, which ran from May 3–November 15, 2020 (you can watch past episodes here!) we now bring to you a fifteen week exploration of Mary…

Virtual Course | Alice Dunbar-Nelson: Reading from Inside the Archive

“Reading from Inside the Archive” is a unique opportunity offering an exploration of Alice Dunbar-Nelson’s life and work through her published writing and literary archive. Questions throughout center on how public…

Making Her Mark Spotlight: Poetry and Movement Building | Digital Readings

Live readings of historical and contemporary poetry that center movement building. Movements to expand voting rights have always used spoken word and poetry as modes of expression and connection. Join staff from the Free Library's…

Lunch & Learn: Online Learning

Lunch & Learns have gone virtual this year! Join us for our fourth 2021 Lunch & Learn, Online Learning! Are you interested in learning a new skill, brushing up on old skills, or earning a certificate - for FREE with your…

Sundays with Frankenstein

Following our very successful series, Sundays with Dracula, which ran from May 3–November 15, 2020 (you can watch past episodes here!) we now bring to you a fifteen week exploration of Mary…

VIRTUAL - Walter Isaacson | The Code Breaker: Jennifer Doudna, Gene Editing, and the Future of the Human Race

PURCHASE TICKETS HERE Pine Tree Foundation Lecture “A renaissance man…driven by a joyful desiredrive to discover” ( The Times of London ), Walter Isaacson is the author of definitive and internationally bestselling…

Mindfulness Meditation via Instagram Live

Join Miss Abbe on Wednesdays at 10:00 a.m. on Instagram Live for some calm Mindfulness Meditation using body scan and breathing techniques, ground your body and mind. 

The Shoutflower

Created by the editors of The Shoutflower, the Philadelphia art and literature journal, on the occasion of their Philadelphia Press Spotlight on February 8th, 2021

2021 Youth Media Award Winners

Youth Media Award Winners for children and young adults.

Hank Aaron

Hammerin' Hank was regarded as one of the greatest baseball players of all time and became an inspiration and pop culture figure to all. His 755 career home runs stood as the MLB record for 33 years. As a right fielder, he played 23…

Picturing Information

Books for the February 2021 online art book club on information graphics for artists, with a special focus on the designs created for the W.E.B. Du Bois curated Paris 1900 exhibit. Many more books on the subject are normally available to…

Martin Luther King Jr. Day at JEC

A selection of adult and teen materials about Martin Luther King Jr. available at Joseph E. Coleman Northwest Regional Library.

Eric Jerome Dickey

Eric Jerome Dickey was a novelist who gained a devoted following among African American women and a steady spot on the bestseller lists with page-turning narratives of steamy romance and urban intrigue. A one-time software engineer who…

New Public Domain Titles for 2021

When a work's copyright expires, it enters the public domain. On January 1, 2021, copyrighted works from 1925 entered the US public domain, where they are now free for all to use and build upon. So, check out one of these new public…

One Book 2021 - Teens and Youth

This year's One Book - Teen and Youth supplemental reading recommendations!

One Book 2021 - Film

This year's One Book - Film supplemental viewing recommendations!

One Book 2021 - Nonfiction

This year's One Book - Nonfiction supplemental reading recommendations!

One Book 2021 - Poetry

This year's One Book - Poetry supplemental reading recommendations!

One Book 2021 - Fiction

This year's One Book - Fiction supplemental reading recommendations!

2020: The Favorites

Fiction librarian Dena from Philbrick Hall has read over 250 books in 2020. Like in previous years, she continues to escape the anxiety of the real world with fantastic escapism and romance. Here are the best 30 books published in 2020…

npr best books of 2020

I sorted through all of NPR's Best Books of 2020 and made a list of the ones I want to read.

Three Stories from Indigenous Muslim Philadelphians

This list accompanies Episode 5 from Season 1 of Story Search from Special Collections, a podcast series exploring stories based on, inspired by, or connected to material artifacts. |…

Philadelphia Labor History: Then and Now

This list accompanies Episode 4 from Season 1 of Story Search from Special Collections, a podcast series exploring stories based on, inspired by, or connected to material artifacts. |…

Barack Obama's Favorite Books of 2020

On Dec 17, President Obama tweeted his 2020 favorites: "As 2020 comes to a close, I wanted to share my annual lists of favorites. I’ll start by sharing my favorite books this year, deliberately omitting what I think is a pretty good book…

Stolen Identities: The Many Faces of James Bond, 007

This list accompanies Episode 2 from Season 1 of Story Search from Special Collections, a podcast series exploring stories based on, inspired by, or connected to material artifacts. |…

In Praise of Forgeries

This list accompanies Episode 1 from Season 1 of Story Search from Special Collections, a podcast series exploring stories based on, inspired by, or connected to material artifacts. |…

Value Line

Research, recommendations, rankings & financial information on 3,500 stocks, more than 2,000 mutual funds, as well as options, convertibles, & OTC special situations.

U.S. History In Context

Covers themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-colonial times to the present. The material also includes access to the citations for over 180 additional history journals from the Institute for Scientific…

U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980)

The bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives constitutes a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history. Upon…

TumbleBooks

TumbleBooks is an online collection of animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. Check out our home user guide

Student Resources In Context

"Thousands of curriculum-targeted primary documents, biographies, topical essays, background information, critical analyses, full-text coverage of 800 magazines, over 10,000 photographs and illustrations, and more than 8 hours of audio…

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is an authoritative, comprehensive Web-based reference work about philosophy, useful to scholars of all levels as well as the general public. Published through Stanford University’s Center for the…

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries

With an extraordinary array of more than 35,000 individual tracks of streaming music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds, users can listen to performances by American folk icons such as Woody Guthrie, Lead Belly, Pete Seeger…

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture, and Law

This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the U.S. and the English-speaking world. It includes nearly 2,000 titles, with every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery,…

SimplyAnalytics

A mapping and data visualization application that makes it easy to create interactive maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data. Watch this video to learn more

Sanborn Maps, 1867–1970 (Formerly Sanborn Maps Geo Edition)

Produced for over a century, Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of cities or towns which list street blocks and building numbers. Explore America’s building history through over 660,000 maps, which chart the growth of more than 12,000…

Gabriel Byrne | Walking with Ghosts

In conversation with musician and novelist Wesley Stace, author of Misfortune , By George , Wonder Kid and most recently Out Loud with dancer and choreographer Mark Morris An actor renowned as much for his versatility as his depth,…

Ijeoma Oluo | Mediocre: The Dangerous Legacy of White Male America

In conversation with Tracey Matisak, award-winning broadcaster and journalist “A nuanced analysis of White male America” that “deftly combines history and sociological study with personal narrative” ( Washington Post ), Ijeoma Oluo’s So…

George Saunders | A Swim in a Pond in the Rain: In Which Four Russians Give a Masterclass on Writing, Reading, and Life

In conversation with Daniel Torday , Director of Creative Writing at Bryn Mawr College, author of The Last Flight of Poxl West,   Boomer1, and The Sensualist , and two-time winner of the National Jewish Book Award. “One of the most…

Katherine May | Wintering: The Power of Rest and Retreat in Difficult Times

In conversation with Tracey Matisak, award-winning broadcaster and journalist Katherine May ’s fiction and memoirs include The Electricity of Every Living Thing ,  Burning Out, a nd  No-Stress Meditation . She was also the editor of …

Jerald Walker | How to Make a Slave and Other Essays

In conversation with author, essayist, and radio host Solomon Jones. Jerald Walker ’s recent How to Make a Slave and Other Essays was a finalist for the 2020 National Book Award. A “restless, brilliant” collection that “can alight on a…

An Evening with Signe Wilkinson

In celebration of thirty-five years of cartooning at the Philadelphia Daily News and Inquirer . The first woman to win the Pulitzer Prize for Editorial Cartooning, Signe Wilkinson is acclaimed for her distinctive and irreverent art. A…

Catherine Coleman Flowers | Waste: One Woman’s Fight Against America’s Dirty Secret

In conversation with Khaliah Ali Wertheimer Dubbed the “Erin Brockovich of Sewage,” Catherine Coleman Flowers is a hero of the environmental justice movement. She is the rural development manager at the Race and Poverty Initiative of…

Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o | The Perfect Nine: The Epic of Gĩkũyũ and Mũmbi

In conversation with Ketu H. Katrak, Professor in the Department of Drama at the University of California, Irvine, and author of the forthcoming book Jay Pather, Performance, and Spatial Politics in South Africa Acclaimed Kenyan scholar…

Eddie Glaude, Jr. | Begin Again: James Baldwin's America and Its Urgent Lessons for Our Own

In converation with Tamala Edwards, anchor, 6ABC Action News morning edition The chair of the Department of African American Studies and the James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor at Princeton University, Eddie S. Glaude…

André Gregory | This is Not My Memoir

In conversation with co-author Todd London, Head of the MFA Playwriting Program at the New School, School of Drama A theater director in New York for more than 50 years, the legendary André Gregory has collaborated on film adaptations…

Karen Russell | Sleep Donation with Charles Yu | Interior Chinatown

Karen Russell ’s debut novel,  Swamplandia! , the tale of a family’s run-down alligator-themed Everglades amusement park, was a New York Times Best Book of the Year, a Pulitzer Prize finalist, and a nominee for the Orange Prize. Her…

Antonio M. Johnson | You Next: Reflections in Black Barber Shops

The nephew of a beloved neighborhood barber, West Philadelphian Antonio M. Johnson is the creator of  You Next , a pictorial dive into one of African American men’s most valued institutions. Part sanctuary, part cultural space, barber…

Jess Walter | The Cold Millions

Jess Walter’s six acclaimed novels include the #1  New York Times  bestseller  The Beautiful Ruins , the National Book Award finalist  The Zero , and  Citizen Vince , winner of the Edgar Award. A former print journalist, he was a…

Alex Ross | Wagnerism: Art and Politics in the Shadow of Music

In conversation with Simon Callow Music critic for the  New Yorker  since 1996, Alex Ross is the author of the international bestseller  The Rest Is Noise: Listening to the Twentieth Century . A trip down the rabbit hole of modern…

Tamara Payne | The Dead Are Arising: The Life of Malcolm X

In conversation with Sarah Glover, veteran journalist and past president of the National Association of Black Journalists.   In 1990, Pulitzer Prize -winning journalist Les Payne set out on a nearly 30-year crusade to write the most…

Issac J. Bailey | Why Didn't We Riot: A Black Man in Trumpland

In conversation with Tracey Matisak, award-winning broadcaster and journalist “A painful indictment of American inhumanity woven with threads of grace and love” ( Guardian ) Issac J. Bailey ’s memoir My Brother Moochie offered a raw,…

Nicole Krauss | To Be a Man: Stories

In conversation with Nomi Eve, author of Henna House and The Family Orchard , Director of the Creative Writing MFA program, Drexel University. “One of America’s most important novelists and an international literary sensation” ( New…

H. W. Brands | The Zealot and the Emancipator: John Brown, Abraham Lincoln, and the Struggle for American Freedom

“A terrific writer who commands” his historical subject matter with “authority and panache” ( New York Times ), H. W. Brands was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize for his bestselling biographies of Benjamin Franklin ( The First American…

Ayad Akhtar | Homeland Elegies

In conversation with Tracey Matisak, award-winning broadcaster and journalist Acclaimed for exploring complicated sociopolitical aspects of identity within the Muslim American experience, Ayad Akhtar won the 2013 Pulitzer Prize for…

Barbara Kingsolver | How to Fly (In Ten Thousand Easy Lessons)

A “gifted magician of words” ( Time ), Barbara Kingsolver is the author of the Pulitzer Prize finalist  The Poisonwood Bible , a postcolonial epic about an evangelical American family’s undoing in the Congo. She is the author of several…

African American History

In celebration of Black History Month and African American History as a whole, explore our resources on African American history and culture including famous African Americans From Philadelphia, Poets and Poetry, Speculative Fiction,…

American Presidency Series

Join the Free Library for a series of compelling provocative programs that examine the untold stories of, unconventional approaches to, and contemporary concerns about the world's most difficult job. The 2016 American Presidency Series…

Anime and Manga

Anime is an animation style originated in Japan that is characterized by distinctive characters and backgrounds. Storylines may include a variety of fictional or historical characters, events, and settings. Manga is Japanese for "comics"…

Asian Americans

Asian American resources for teens, cultural traditions and celebrations, biographies on famous Asian Americans, history of different Asian ethnic groups in America, lesson plans for teachers to explore a variety of Asian cultures, Asian…

Back to School

The start of another school year is underway here in Philadelphia! Get ready for school with these helpful resources for students, teachers, parents, and caregivers to help make the school year easier. Learn new study skills,…

Bestsellers

Find out about the latest bestsellers from many well known resources.

Black Lives Matter

The #BlackLivesMatter movement began in 2013 after a jury acquitted the armed civilian who murdered seventeen-year-old Trayvon Martin. Though activists and organizers have resisted the long history of police and state-sanctioned…

Cutting Clutter

Are you constantly trying to find papers you placed down on your desk? Is your closet overflowing with junk? Are you drowning in clutter and don't know where to begin to cleanup? Take charge with these books and resources on clutter,…

Digital Media Guide

Borrowing ebooks and audiobooks, downloading podcasts, and streaming media such as movies, music, and even comic books, from Free Library has never been easier. In this guide, we'll offer tips and information to get you started or…

Fantastic Planets

The void that exists between celestial bodies is vast. How many rings does Saturn have? Where did galaxies come from? What is Dark Matter? How do astronauts travel through space? Where does science fiction end and science fact begin?…

Fix It Yourself

Resources on how to do your own repairs on everyday items: Grab the scissors for sewing projects, drapery, upholstery, or even a haircut! View a list of do it yourself videos and tackle some of those household chores on your to-do list!…

Freedom Train

From July 1st through November 1st, the Rosenbach will feature Freedom Train 1947-1949, an exhibition on the history of the Freedom Train that toured the continuous 48 states in the post-war years. The topics of freedom, liberty, and…

Genealogy

This series of guides, web links, book lists, and resources will introduce you to the genealogical resources available through the Free Library of Philadelphia and to other important libraries and archives throughout the Philadelphia…

Graphic Novels

Graphic novels are, simply defined, book-length comics. Sometimes they tell a single, continous narrative from first page to last; sometimes they are collections of shorter stories or individual comic strips. Comics are sequential visual…

Green Living

Green living allows you to become an everyday environmentalist. Practitioners of sustainable living often attempt to reduce their carbon footprint by altering methods of transportation, energy consumption, and diet. Go green with these…

Grimm

Explore the world of the Brothers Grimm and their legendary tales.

Halloween

Hello boils and ghouls! It's that time of year again—Halloween! We've concocted a creepy cross section of spooky stories from our chilling collections of boo-ks, mad monsters in macabre movies, and scary soundtracks, as well as links to…

Health

What are your health questions? The Free Library can connect you with resources to help you live a healthier lifestyle, including research tools, cooking classes, resources to help you quit smoking or increase your exercise, and…

Health Literacy Month

October is Health Literacy Month, a month dedicated to promoting the importance of understandable health information. The month was first honored as an annual worldwide event in 1999 and continues to be an important initiative in…

Healthy Communities

Healthy Communities, a partnership with the Philadelphia Department of Public Health’s Division of Chronic Disease and Injury Prevention , increases the library’s capacity to offer free, accessible cooking, physical activity, gardening…

Honeybees

The third Saturday in August is National Honeybee Day, a day to celebrate this small but vital insect. Philadelphians should be especially proud; the modern beehive, known as the Langstroth hive, was invented in the City of Brotherly…

Jerry Pinkney

Philadelphia born and raised, Jerry Pinkney is one of the most beloved artists in children’s literature, illustrating more than 100 books that have delighted children—and adults—for generations. This year, as the American Library…

LGBTQ

The Free Library of Philadelphia celebrates LGBTQ+ Pride Month in June with book and film recommendations, events for all ages, and resources in Philadelphia. Through this Explore Topic, you can also find lesbian, gay, bisexual,…

Martin Luther King Jr.

Martin Luther King Jr. was the most important voice of the American civil rights movement, which worked for equal rights for all. He was famous for using nonviolent resistance to overcome injustice, and he never got tired of trying to…

Medieval Manuscripts

Are you interested in learning more about the history of people who lived in Europe between 500 and 1500 A.D.? Below you can find helpful information for your research or check out our Medieval Manuscript Digital Collection with over…

Philadelphia Cooks

Explore diverse cooking styles and cuisine throughout Philadelphia, read cookbooks by renowned Philly chefs, learn about the latest nutritional values and advancements, search or browse through The Philadelphia Inquirer's restaurant and…

Poetry

Poetry in all its forms including classic selections from our Literature Department, Haikus, poetry for children, and poetry with special appeal for tweens and teens. Read poets from diverse cultures and in other languages, as well as…

Remembering September 11th

On September 11th, 2001, the world changed. For those of us who experienced it as a current event, life can be divided between a before and after, and we can clearly remember where we were when the news first reached us. For those not…

Returning Citizens

Resources for returning citizens in the transition from incarceration to society including information on job training, housing assistance, and counseling services. One such resource is Bridges, which offers returning citizens from jails…

Season's Greetings

It's that time of year again, full of many diverse holiday celebrations including Christmas, Hanukkah, Kwanzaa, the Winter Solstice, and New Year's. This Explore Topic features lists of great books, music, and movies to share and learn…

Shakespeare

William Shakespeare, born in 1564, was an English poet, playwright and actor, widely regarded as the greatest writer in the English language and the world's pre-eminent dramatist. Poet Ben Johnson wrote “He was not of an age but for all…

STEM

An acronym referring to the Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics fields of study. The term was created for schools from kindergarten through college to improve competitiveness in learning and workforce development. "Science"…

Talking About Consent

As librarians, we are frequently asked to offer advice about resources that help explain current events to young children. When a disturbing story appears in the news, parents and caregivers may struggle to find age-appropriate…

Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving is a public holiday celebrated on the fourth Thursday of November throughout the United States. It originated as a harvest festival of giving thanks and although it has historical roots in religious and cultural traditions,…

The Olympics

The Olympic Games are the world's foremost sports competition, featuring thousands of athletes from around the world who participate in a variety of events. More than 200 nations participate every four years, alternating between the…

U.S. Elections and Politics

The United States presidential election will be held on Tuesday, November 3, 2020. In addition to candidates for U.S. president and vice president, the Pennsylvania ballot includes candidates for the U.S. House of Representatives, the PA…