Tagged
Black and Queer: 10 Powerful Reads at the Crossroads of Identity
Being Black and LGBTQ+ means navigating multiple dimensions of identity, each with its own unique set of challenges and triumphs. For some, the intersection of the LGBTQ+ and Black communities is a rich legacy of resilience, culture,…
Welcoming You Back to the Free Library's Improved Branches!
The Free Library is thrilled to welcome the community back to its recently renovated and reopened branches: Lawncrest Library , Blanche A. Nixon/Cobbs Creek Library , Kingsessing Library , and Frankford Library ! After much…
Rolling for Identity: The Intersection of TTRPGs and LGBTQ+ Communities
What do the TTRPG (tabletop role-playing game) community and the LGBTQ+ community have in common, besides long acronyms? It turns out, a whole lot; there is a significant overlap between the two communities! Tabletop…
Go Birds: Appreciating Our Avian Friends - An Exhibition from Special Collections
The Go Birds: Appreciating Our Avian Friends exhibition is on view in the Second Floor West Gallery at the Parkway Central Library from June 2 – August 30, 2025 . Birds have long captivated…
Pride in Video Gayming
Queer people and video games have gone hand-in-hand since the days of Pac-Man . Who among us hasn’t made their Sims get gay married? Or dreamt about rescuing Princess Zelda from the clutches of evil? Or built the perfect…
The Rare Book Department Reopens on Monday, June 16
The Free Library is pleased to announce that the Rare Book Department in Parkway Central Library will reopen to the public on Monday, June 16 , following the successful completion of a major renovation and HVAC replacement.…
The Oxford English Dictionary Online
The Free Library of Philadelphia is excited to offer access to the Oxford English Dictionary Online , a historical dictionary and thesaurus providing everything you need for a deep dive into the complex histories of over 500,000 words.…
Juneteenth at the Library: Freedom, Culture, and Community
Juneteenth is a powerful celebration of freedom, resilience, and putting the "unity" in community. The Free Library is proud to honor this important day with a series of vibrant cultural events for all ages. From…
What's Philly Reading? May 2025
The Free Library's physical and digital shelves have been alive with the excited energy of the impending summer reading season. While patrons check their to-be-read lists and stock up on beach reads, the Library embarks…
Queer Women in Free Library Special Collections
The art and artifacts of Queer women artists archived in the Free Library's Special Collections — specifically, the Print and Picture Collection , the Theatre Collection , and the Children's Literature Research Collection…
Free Library Board of Trustees Public Meeting on Thursday, June 12 at 4:00 p.m.
The Free Library Board of Trustees will be holding its last meeting of FY25 on Thursday, June 12, 2025, from 4:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. The meeting will be held in person in Rooms 405/406/407 at Parkway Central Library (1901 Vine…
Richmond Library Construction Updates
On this page, we will have roof and ceiling repair updates on the Richmond Library every two weeks until the library is reopened. The estimated date for the library’s reopening is summer 2025. June 18, 2025 - Interior plaster…
New Monday Poets Chapbook: The Sankofa Season
The Literature Department ’s Monday Poets series is one of the longest-running programs for adults at the Free Library. This past season’s theme was Sankofa (SAHN-koh-fah), a Twi word from the Akan Tribe of Ghana…
Queer Films in the Free Library Catalog
The Free Library is home not only to books, but digital, visual, and auditory media. We take pride in curating a diverse collection of materials for our patrons to explore and borrow. People who don’t fit neatly into…
Be a Health Scientist with Science in the Summer!
Summer is the perfect time to explore the world around us, to play and be active, and to learn about new things for fun! This summer, students entering grades 2–6 will have the chance to enjoy all the best parts of summer while…
A Model Ship Docks at the Library
Looming from behind a glass case and wood framing in Parkway Central Library's Social Sciences and History Department is an accurate model of the USS North Carolina , a 74-gun ship of the line. While the oversized model was…
New Titles Coming to the Free Library in June
There are lots of new titles for all ages to explore in early summer at the Free Library of Philadelphia! Young Children (up to 2nd Grade) City Summer, Country Summer by Kiese Laymon Three Black boys spend one special summer exploring…
News Matters: Why Local Journalism is Crucial to Democracy
Join the Newspapers and Microfilm Center on Thursday, May 29, at 6:00 p.m. as we explore the vital role that local journalism plays in our communities. We’ll be screening News Matters , a powerful documentary by Brian…
Celebrate LGBTQ+ Pride Month with the Free Library
This June, the Free Library of Philadelphia celebrates Pride Month with events, programs, and resources that amplify LGBTQ+ voices and stories. Everyone is welcome and everyone belongs at the Free Library. We value…
Celebrate Pride with Ready, Set, Rainbow at Haddington Library!
Join us at Haddington Library on Monday, June 2, at 3:30 p.m. for Ready, Set, Rainbow , a fun and inclusive Pride Month event for families with children ages 3 to 10. This free event features Ants on…
First Wednesdays with the Rare Book Department
Join the Rare Book Department for extended evening hours on the first Wednesday of every month. The Department will be open until 7 p.m. and staff will be offering tours, pop-up programs, and sneak-peaks. Can’t make it?…
First Wednesdays with the Rare Book Department
Join the Rare Book Department for extended evening hours on the first Wednesday of every month. The Department will be open until 7 p.m. and staff will be offering tours, pop-up programs, and sneak-peaks. Can’t make it?…
First Wednesdays with the Rare Book Department
Join the Rare Book Department for extended evening hours on the first Wednesday of every month. The Department will be open until 7 p.m. and staff will be offering tours, pop-up programs, and sneak-peaks. Can’t make it?…
First Wednesdays with the Rare Book Department
Join the Rare Book Department for extended evening hours on the first Wednesday of every month. The Department will be open until 7 p.m. and staff will be offering tours, pop-up programs, and sneak-peaks. Can’t make it?…
Sew What?! Evening CANCELED Sewcial-Needle Crafts
**Sew What is cancelled this week, we will meet next Thursday at 5-7:30pm in Room 108** ----- Sew What?! Is a clever and creative get together for crafters who do crochet, knitting, sewing, embroidery, quilting, felting, and more. …
Sew What?! ROOM 108 Sewcial-Needle Crafts
Sew What?! Is a clever and creative get together for crafters who do crochet, knitting, sewing, embroidery, quilting, felting, and more. Want to share what you're making with other fabric crafters? Join us to collaborate and…
Sew What?! Evening ROOM 108 Sewcial-Needle Crafts
Sew What?! Is a clever and creative get together for crafters who do crochet, knitting, sewing, embroidery, quilting, felting, and more. Want to share what you're making with other fabric crafters? Join us to collaborate and…
Sew What?! ROOM 108 Sewcial-Needle Crafts
Sew What?! Is a clever and creative get together for crafters who do crochet, knitting, sewing, embroidery, quilting, felting, and more. Want to share what you're making with other fabric crafters? Join us to collaborate and…
Sew What?! Evening room 108 Sewcial-Needle Crafts
Sew What?! Is a clever and creative get together for crafters who do crochet, knitting, sewing, embroidery, quilting, felting, and more. Want to share what you're making with other fabric crafters? Join us to collaborate and…
Resume Review with Dress For Success
Need to refresh your resume? We're excited to partner with Dress for Success Greater Philadelphia to offer resume review services and job search assistance on the first Thursday of each month! Resume review will be…
Virtual Event - PMC Shares Workshop: Veterans Court
Many PA counties have various problem-solving courts, such as Veterans Court, which is focused on serving Veterans who may be struggling with addiction/substance abuse issues, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Traumatic Brain Injury,…
Sew What?! ROOM 108 Sewcial-Needle Crafts
Sew What?! Is a clever and creative get together for crafters who do crochet, knitting, sewing, embroidery, quilting, felting, and more. Want to share what you're making with other fabric crafters? Join us to collaborate and…
Mystery, Mayhem, and Murder...
If you love mysteries and thrillers, join us for our book club! As a genre, mysteries span countries, cultures, and historic periods, varying in tone, pace, and characterization. From the hardboiled to the cozy, from the…
Sew What?! Evening ROOM 108 Sewcial-Needle Crafts
Sew What?! Is a clever and creative get together for crafters who do crochet, knitting, sewing, embroidery, quilting, felting, and more. Want to share what you're making with other fabric crafters? Join us to collaborate and…
Treasures from the Literature Vault
Do you love old books? Then join us for Treasures from the Vault– a casual, hands-on book club program spotlighting items from the Literature vault! The vault, home to our closed reference collections, is a treasure trove of…
Resume Review with Dress For Success
Need to refresh your resume? We're excited to partner with Dress for Success Greater Philadelphia to offer resume review services and job search assistance on the first Thursday of each month! Resume review will be…
First Wednesdays with the Rare Book Department
Join the Rare Book Department for extended evening hours on the first Wednesday of every month. The Department will be open until 7 p.m. and staff will be offering tours, pop-up programs, and sneak-peaks. Can’t make it?…
Sew What?! ROOM 108 Sewcial-Needle Crafts
Sew What?! Is a clever and creative get together for crafters who do crochet, knitting, sewing, embroidery, quilting, felting, and more. Want to share what you're making with other fabric crafters? Join us to collaborate and…
Sew What?! Evening CANCELED Sewcial-Needle Crafts
Sew What?! Is a clever and creative get together for crafters who do crochet, knitting, sewing, embroidery, quilting, felting, and more. Want to share what you're making with other fabric crafters? Join us to collaborate and…
Sew What?! ROOM 108 Sewcial-Needle Crafts
Sew What?! Is a clever and creative get together for crafters who do crochet, knitting, sewing, embroidery, quilting, felting, and more. Want to share what you're making with other fabric crafters? Join us to collaborate and…
Into the Weeds – Gardening and the Natural World
Getting into the details and science-based understandings of plant-human interactions. Geology, evolution, botany, chemistry, history, biography, sociology, etc. And of course a few How-To books. These are among the best gardening,…
Books to Beat Summer Boredom for Kids (and Kids at Heart)
Instead of getting bored this summer, let these books inspire you to try cooking, moving, crafting, or exploring nature. For more hands-on fun, check out a Birding Backpack or Play Backpack from your local branch, borrow a musical…
Boxopolis
Books featured in the Summer 2025 Playstallation at Smith Memorial Playground, all about building with boxes and using your imagination.
Pride Month 2025: A Few Centuries of Gay Culture
Painting, poetry, fashion, photography, drama, cinema, and theory; by and about queer people; selected from the Art and Literature departments
Zines (books about zines)
Books ABOUT zines and small press/self-publishing. Not including examples of zines (see collection of zines and Philly Comics for library use in the Art Department, artist books in the Print and Picture Collection and more examples in…
News Matters
A list of recommended books that explore the history of the newspaper industry, the impact of private equity on journalism, and the role of local news in sustaining democracy.
LGBTQ+ Graphic Novels
Celebrate Pride Month with these comics, manga, and graphic novels with queer themes and protagonists!
Be a Health Scientist!
Reading recommendations to get ready for 2025 Science in the Summer.
Words Beyond the Walls: Communication for Incarcerated Trans Liberation
Learn more about the trans experience of incarceration with these trans, queer, and radical books on the criminal justice system. Move alongside these authors towards a liberated society, free from the carceral system.
Teen Reads for AAPI Month 2025
May is Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month! Celebrate during May (and all year long) by reading teen books by and about Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders. Visit your local library or contact TeenCenter@freelibrary.org…
Role-Playing Fiction for All Ages
Whether you want to read about people playing table-top role-playing games, or about characters within the Dungeons and Dragons universe, there's something for you here!
TTRPGs
Want to go beyond Dungeons and Dragons? Check out these other table-top roleplaying games!
Dungeons and Dragons Resources
Dungeons and Dragons is a fantasy table-top roleplaying game played with a group of people. Use these books to design and improve your game!
Dungeons and Dragons Official Books
To get started with playing Dungeons and Dragons, a fantasy table-top role-playing game, you need to know the rules. These official books from Wizards of the Coast include all the resources for creating characters and fantastical worlds…
LGBTQ+ Horror Books for Adults
As a genre, horror reflects the fears and disgusts of society. Considering the long history of coding villains as queer, it's no surprise that many queer people have a complex relationship with the monstrous. Perhaps it is the personal…
Value Line
Research, recommendations, rankings & financial information on 3,500 stocks, more than 2,000 mutual funds, as well as options, convertibles, & OTC special situations.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980)
The bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives constitutes a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history. Upon…
TumbleBooks
TumbleBooks is an online collection of animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. Check out our home user guide
TrueFlix *
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is an authoritative, comprehensive Web-based reference work about philosophy, useful to scholars of all levels as well as the general public. Published through Stanford University’s Center for the…
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
With an extraordinary array of more than 35,000 individual tracks of streaming music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds, users can listen to performances by American folk icons such as Woody Guthrie, Lead Belly, Pete Seeger…
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture, and Law
This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the U.S. and the English-speaking world. It includes nearly 2,000 titles, with every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery,…
SimplyAnalytics
A mapping and data visualization application that makes it easy to create interactive maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data.
Jaap de Roode | Doctors by Nature: How Ants, Apes, and Other Animals Heal Themselves
The Author Events Series presents Jaap de Roode | Doctors by Nature: How Ants, Apes, and Other Animals Heal Themselves REGISTER Ages before the dawn of modern medicine, wild animals were harnessing the power of nature's pharmacy to…
Katie Kitamura | Audition
The Author Events Series presents Katie Kitamura | Audition: A Novel REGISTER In Conversation with Adam Dalva One woman, the performance of a lifetime. Or two. An exhilarating, destabilizing Möbius strip of a novel that asks whether we…
Dr. Anthony Fauci | On Call: A Doctor's Journey in Public Service
The Author Events Series presents Dr. Anthony Fauci | On Call: A Doctor's Journey in Public Service THIS EVENT IS NOW SOLD OUT! In Conversation with Dave Davies Anthony Fauci is arguably the most famous - and most revered - doctor in…
Maria Shriver | I Am Maria
The Author Events Series presents Maria Shriver | I Am Maria REGISTER In Conversation with Dr. Martha Beck Special Guests: Bob Roth & Kate Baer Please join us in celebrating Maria Shriver’s I Am Maria: My Reflections and Poems on…
Fawn Weaver | Love & Whiskey: The Remarkable True Story of Jack Daniel, His Master Distiller Nearest Green, and the Improbable Rise of Uncle Nearest
The Author Events Series presents Fawn Weaver | Love & Whiskey: The Remarkable True Story of Jack Daniel, His Master Distiller Nearest Green, and the Improbable Rise of Uncle Nearest REGISTER In Conversation with Michelle Miller…
Laurie Woolever | Care and Feeding: A Memoir
The Author Events Series presents Laurie Woolever | Care and Feeding: A Memoir REGISTER In Conversation with Reem Kassis In this moving, hilarious, and insightful memoir, Laurie Woolever traces her path from a small-town childhood to…
Chris Hayes | The Sirens’ Call
The Author Events Series presents Chris Hayes | The Sirens’ Call REGISTER In Conversation with Kate Shaw We all feel it--the distraction, the loss of focus, the addictive focus on the wrong things for too long. We bump into the…
Marlene Daut | The First and Last King of Haiti
The Author Events Series presents Marlene Daut | The First and Last King of Haiti REGISTER In Conversation with Grace Sanders Johnson Slave, revolutionary, traitor, king, and suicide, Henry Christophe was, in his time, popular and…
Judy Giesberg & Lee Hawkins | Last Seen: The Enduring Search by Formerly Enslaved People to Find Their Lost Families AND I Am Nobody's Slave: How Uncovering My Family's History Set Me Free
The Author Events Series presents Judy Giesberg & Lee Hawkins | Last Seen: The Enduring Search by Formerly Enslaved People to Find Their Lost Families AND I Am Nobody's Slave: How Uncovering My Family's History Set Me Free REGISTER In…
Brian Kelly | How to Win at Travel
The Author Events Series presents Brian Kelly | How to Win at Travel REGISTER In Conversation with Haley Sacks In How to Win at Travel, Brian Kelly shares his greatest tips and strategies to experience the world in ways you never…
Juan Williams | New Prize for These Eyes: The Rise of America's Second Civil Rights Movement
The Author Events Series presents Juan Williams | New Prize for These Eyes REGISTER In Conversation with Marsha Levick In New Prize for These Eyes, award-winning author Juan Williams shines a light on this historic, new movement. Who…
Uché Blackstock | Legacy: A Black Physician Reckons with Racism in Medicine
The Author Events Series presents Uché Blackstock | Legacy: A Black Physician Reckons with Racism in Medicine REGISTER In Conversation with Dr. Joel Bervell The rousing, captivating story of a Black physician, her career in medicine,…
Caroline Eden | Cold Kitchen: A Year of Culinary Travels
The Author Events Series presents Caroline Eden | Cold Kitchen: A Year of Culinary Travels REGISTER In Conversation with Jonathan Deutsch From the author of Red Sands, a New Yorker "Best Cookbook of the Year," a cozy, thoughtful memoir…
The Intertextual Self: New Approaches to the Memoir
The Author Events Series presents The Intertextual Self: New Approaches to the Memoir REGISTER Memoirists most often focus on the authenticity of their own voice and experience, and how best to render on the page the intersection of…
Bill Clinton | Citizen: My Life After the White House
The Author Events Series presents Bill Clinton | Citizen: My Life After the White House REGISTER In Conversation with Jonathan Capehart A powerful, candid, and richly detailed memoir from an American icon, revealing what life looks like…
Lori Ginzberg | Tangled Journeys
The Author Events Series presents Lori Ginzberg | Tangled Journeys REGISTER In conversation with Tamala Edwards In 1830 Richard Walpole Cogdell, a husband, father, and bank clerk in Charleston, South Carolina, purchased a…
Andre Robert Lee | A Conversation with the Documentary Filmmaker and Author
The Author Events Series presents Andre Robert Lee | A Conversation with the Documentary Filmmaker and Author REGISTER In Conversation with Cherri Gregg André Robert Lee most recently served as the Executive Producer of Notes From…
Maira Kalman | Still Life with Remorse
From the critically acclaimed artist, designer, and author of the bestsellers The Principles of Uncertainty, My Favorite Things, and Women Holding Things comes a moving meditation in words and pictures on remorse, joy, ancestry, and…
Malcolm Gladwell | Revenge of the Tipping Point
Congregation Rodeph Shalom 615 North Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19123 Enter at 1339 Green Street, Philadelphia, PA 19123 The Author Events Series presents Malcolm Gladwell | Revenge of the Tipping Point REGISTER In conversation…
Paola Mendoza | Solis: A Companion to Sanctuary
The Author Events Series presents Paola Mendoza | Solis: A Companion to Sanctuary REGISTER In conversation with AJ Hikes From the authors of Sanctuary comes a haunting near-future companion tale about undocumented immigrants subjected…
ZOOM Trivia Games
ZOOM-from PBS Kids! A game to play with your friends or family. For grades 4 and up.
ZOOM
ZOOM from PBS-by kids, for kids. Lots of fun science activities. Grades 2 and up; may need adult supervision.
Ziggity Zoom
This site offers a variety that will appeal to preschool and younger elementary age children. Online and printable activities are available.
Zero to Three
The mission of Zero to Three is to promote the healthy development of infants and toddlers. This website provides a breadth of behavioral and developmental information for parents, as well as suggestions for creating positive learning…
Zenkaikon
The Philadelphia-area Anime Convention.
ZDNet
A wholly-owned subsidiary of CNET networks, ZDNet aims to be the "premier 'full service' destination for people looking to buy, use, and learn more about technology." On its site, the company offers news, product reviews, downloads, free…
Zamzar
Free Online File Converter
Yves St. Laurent
Yves St. Laurent launched his label in 1962 and turned the fashion world on its ear with his mix of pantsuits and fitted gowns. The line is now supervised by Stefano Pilati, whose innovative designs continue the legacy of St. Laurent…
Yuckiest Site on the Internet
From Discovery.com - The Yuckiest Site on the Internet! Join Wendell the worm and check out his buggy scrapbook! For grades 3 and up.
Youthspeaks.org
Provides safe spaces to empower the next generation of leaders, self-defined artists, and visionary activists through written and oral literacies.
YouthSpeak Newsletter
YouthSpeak is a grassroots citizen organization working to empower youth and to allow youth to make the democratic choices that affect their lives.
YouthRules!
Information from the U.S. Department of Labor for teens, parents, educators, employers and the public on Federal and State rules regarding young workers, to help ensure a safe and positive work experience for young people.
Youth work Links and Ideas
This site's author has a Master's Degree in Social Work from Boston University School of Social Work, and 20 years experience working with adolescents. The site is comprehensive and contains frequently updated links pages for youth and…
Youth Violence Fact Sheet
This site from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention lists current statistics on youth violence, including risk factors.
Youth United for Change (YUC)
Youth United for Change (YUC) is a democratic organization primarily made up of working class youth of color, which builds the “people power" necessary to hold school officials and government accountable to guarantee the educational…
Youth Service America: National Child Awareness Month Youth Ambassador Program
Year-long program helps young leaders (ages 16-22) create change around critical issues facing youth today.
Youth Health Empowerment Project (Y-HEP)
Y-HEP's mission is to help young people grow into healthy adults by supporting them in empowering themselves to make healthy choices. They offer outreach and drop-in services.
Youth Health Empowerment Project
Youth Drop-In Center
YourDictionary
Provides an easy-to-use search engine for words and the results are quite detailed. Also offers 400 different language dictionaries.
You Can Play Sax
Community video lessons by and for saxophone players. Watch video lessons to improve your skill or upload a lesson yourself to help others learn the instrument! A space for instructors and students.
Anime and Manga
In Japanese, the word "anime" simply refers to all animation. Outside of Japan, the term "anime" refers specifically to Japanese animation. Anime comes in a wide variety of genres and encompasses both film and television animation. It…
Asian Americans
Asian American resources for teens, cultural traditions and celebrations, biographies on famous Asian Americans, history of different Asian ethnic groups in America, lesson plans for teachers to explore a variety of Asian cultures, Asian…
Black History Month
In celebration of Black History Month and African American History as a whole, explore our history and culture resources including famous African Americans from Philadelphia, essential reading lists, information about the Harlem…
Black Lives Matter
The #BlackLivesMatter movement began in 2013 after a jury acquitted the armed civilian who murdered seventeen-year-old Trayvon Martin. Though activists and organizers have resisted the long history of police and state-sanctioned…
Computer Skills
Do you feel comfortable using a computer or navigating the Internet? The links and resources below may be able to help you get started. Learn basic computer skills and tablet skills. Find easy instructions on surfing the Internet. Build…
Digital Media Guide
Borrowing ebooks and audiobooks, downloading podcasts, and streaming media such as movies, music, and even comic books, from Free Library has never been easier. In this guide, we'll offer tips and information to get you started or…
Fix It Yourself
Resources on how to do your own repairs on everyday items: Grab the scissors for sewing projects, drapery, upholstery, or even a haircut! View a list of do it yourself videos and tackle some of those household chores on your to-do list!…
Genealogy
This series of guides, web links, book lists, and resources will introduce you to the genealogical resources available through the Free Library of Philadelphia and to other important libraries and archives throughout the Philadelphia…
Graphic Novels
Graphic novels are, simply defined, book-length comics. Sometimes they tell a single, continous narrative from first page to last; sometimes they are collections of shorter stories or individual comic strips. Comics are sequential visual…
Green Living
Green living allows you to become an everyday environmentalist. Practitioners of sustainable living often attempt to reduce their carbon footprint by altering methods of transportation, energy consumption, and diet. Go green with these…
Grimm
Explore the world of the Brothers Grimm and their legendary tales.
Health
What are your health questions? The Free Library can connect you with resources to help you live a healthier lifestyle, including research tools, cooking classes, resources to help you quit smoking or increase your exercise, and…
Job Seekers
The Free Library supports job seekers within the Business Resource and Innovation Center (BRIC). We provide current information and resources on changing careers, job searching techniques, and emerging employment fields to help career…
LGBTQ
The Free Library of Philadelphia celebrates LGBTQ+ Pride Month in June with book and film recommendations and events for all ages. Through this Explore Topic, you can also find local and national LGBTQ+ resources and support that…
Martin Luther King Jr.
Martin Luther King Jr. was the leading voice of the American Civil Rights Movement, which fought for equal rights for all. He was famous for using nonviolent resistance to overcome injustice, and he never tired of trying to end…
Medieval Manuscripts
Are you interested in learning more about the history of people who lived in Europe between 500 and 1500 A.D.? Below you can find helpful information for your research or check out our Medieval Manuscript Digital Collection with over…
Personal Finance
The Free Library supports the economic well-being and financial interests of patrons. We provide current information and resources on a variety of topics such as budgeting, homeownership, credit repair, and investing. Through the explore…
Poetry
Poetry in all its forms including classic selections from our Literature Department, Haikus, poetry for children, and poetry with special appeal for tweens and teens. Read poets from diverse cultures and in other languages, as well as…
Returning Citizens
"Returning citizens" refers to groups of people who have been incarcerated and are regaining their lives as free citizens. Returning citizens may require aid including, but not limited to, supplies for basic needs, housing, legal…
STEM
An acronym referring to the Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics fields of study. The term was created for schools from kindergarten through college to improve competitiveness in learning and workforce development. "Science"…
Voting and Elections
Discover information on voter registration, elections, and the different ways to cast your ballot in Pennsylvania. You'll also find comprehensive guides on understanding your rights as a voter, tips for researching candidates and issues,…