This event has already happened. Check out our other great events!


Saeed Jones | How We Fight for Our Lives with Clifford Thompson | What It Is: Race, Family, and One Thinking Black Man’s Blues

Tue, November 12, 2019 7:30 P.M.
Parkway Central Library

Cost: FREE

Saeed Jones is the author of the “hard and glaring and brilliant” (NPR Book Review) poetry collection Prelude to Bruise, winner of the 2015 Stonewall Book Award/Barbara Gittings Literature Award. He is also the co-host of BuzzFeed’s morning show AM to DM and was the website’s former LGBT editor. How We Fight for Our Lives is a memoir of Jones’s life as a young, black, gay man in the South searching for his place in the American landscape. 

The recipient of the Whiting Award for nonfiction, Clifford Thompson’s writing has appeared in a diverse array of publications, including the Washington Post, the Village Voice, and the Wall Street Journal. The author of an essay collection, Love for Sale, and a novel, Signifying Nothing, he teaches writing at New York University and Sarah Lawrence College. In the tradition of James Baldwin and Ta-Nehisi Coates, Thompson’s latest book is ruminates on race in America amidst the tumult of Trump’s America.

Parkway Central Library
1901 Vine Street (between 19th and 20th Streets on the Parkway)
Philadelphia, PA 19103
215-567-4341

Upcoming Events at Parkway Central Library

Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019

Upcoming Author Events - Free Series Events

Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019