Read a Youth Media Award Winner!

By Emily S. RSS Thu, January 28, 2021

It’s that time of year again! The 2021 Youth Media Award winners have been announced, honoring this year’s best and brightest titles for children and young adults.

Watch Julius C. Jefferson Jr., President of the American Library Association, deliver the full announcement of the award winners.

Usually accompanied by audible cheers from a live audience, this year’s announcement was delivered virtually from Chicago. "The challenges over the past year have been unprecedented," said American Library Association President Julius C. Jefferson, Jr. "and yet our library community continues to prevail. Libraries are transforming communities." He gave a special welcome to the young people watching, and applauded the continued work of library staff and the selection committee striving "to create a nation of avid readers."

Administered by the ALA, these prestigious awards include the Caldecott Award (most distinguished American picture book), the Newbery Award (children’s literature), the Coretta Scott King Award (honoring outstanding African American authors and illustrators), the Stonewall Book Award (for exceptional merit relating to LGBTQ+ experience), the Pura Belpré Award (honoring Latinx writers and illustrators), and the Schneider Award (for artistic expression of the disability experience).

Want a fun new way to celebrate red carpet season for books? Join our newest online reading mini-challenge, "Read a Winner!" Read award winning titles, attend book talks and author workshops, and earn points as you go! Open to book lovers of all ages and abilities. Register online to sign up today!

You can also try your hand at a YMA-themed word search on the Youth Services’ Instagram.

Browse our catalog for all of the 2021 Youth Media Award Winners, available in book, ebook, and audiobook formats. For a complete list of this year’s awards and honors, visit

Leave this field empty

Add a Comment to Read a Youth Media Award Winner!

Email is kept private and will not be displayed publicly
Comment must be less than 3000 characters