There is no other area of genealogy in which DOING YOUR HOMEWORK is more important than research using government documents, laws, and case reporters. The indexing systems used in these documents are unique and sometimes unusual. Most of the material listed below can be found at the Free Library of Philadelphia Government Publications Department (GPD), the Free Library of Philadelphia Social Science and History Department (SSH), or the Jenkins Law Library (JLL), 841 Chestnut Street, Suite 1220, Philadelphia, PA 19107, (215) 574-7900. Actual court records are NOT within the scope of this research guide; talk to a Federal, State, or Local archivist about them.

Introduction to United States Government Information Sources. SSH 015.7305 M813i.

Guide to U.S. Government Publications. GPD 015.73 G941t.

Materials and Methods of Legal Research. SSH Shelved with 929.1072.

Research in Pennsylvania Law. GPD 016.34 Su78r.

Martin's Bench and Bar of Philadelphia. SSH 923.4 M362.

Private Claims, Bills, and Laws. Earlier in U.S. history, it was a common practice for a citizen to ask the legislative branch of government to pass a law or make some other ruling to right a perceived wrong. The interaction usually involved the citizen and their elected representatives, but sometimes an executive or judicial agency became involved. If the citizen's request was favorably considered, a "private law" would be passed or a favorable ruling made. These laws and favorable rulings can be found in published statutes/laws (federal and state), published minutes or journals (county, city, and local), or in agency records (federal, state, and local). If the citizen's request was EITHER favorably considered OR not favorably considered, mention of the debate or consideration of the matter by a legislative body may be found in The U.S. Congressional Serial Set or theCongressional Record and its predecessors (U.S.); the Pennsylvania Archives, PA House Journal, PA Senate Journal, Pennsylvania Legislative Documents, or Pennsylvania Legislative Record/Journal (PA); theMinutes of the Common Council, Journal of Common/Select Council, or Journal of City Council (Philadelphia).

Cases that went before the courts. Important cases were reported in digests, reporters, and encyclopedias. See the case digests, reporters, and encyclopedias listed below. Keep in mind that most cases were NOT reported.

Lists made by governments. e.g., pensioners, land owners, disabled veterans in government homes, educators, persons arrested by police, etc. See the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, the Pennsylvania Archives, and the annual reports of Philadelphia government agencies. These documents are indexed in a variety of ways.

Government employees or contractors. See the manuals and directories listed below.

IMPORTANT PUBLISHED SETS

United States Congressional Serial Set Index (GPD 328.73 C7613c) and the CIS U.S. Serial Set Index (GPD 328.73 C7613ca). Essential for access to private bills (see the Private Relief and Related Actions Index), to lists completed for special purposes, to annual reports of some governmental agencies and departments, and to annual reports of some non-governmental organizations (see the Subject Index).

Carto-Bibliography of Maps, 1789-1969. Part XIV of the United States Congressional Serial Set Index. GPD 328.73 C7613c. Lists and describes maps in the Serial Set.

Papers of the Continental Congress and Index, Papers of the Continental Congress, 1774-1789 (GPD GS 4.2: C 76/3/v.1-5); Journals of the Continental Congress (GDP LC 4.5:) and Index: Journals of the Continental Congresses, 1774-1789 (GPD LC 4.5:ind). Use these documents for records of the pre-federal government of the United States. The Papers consist of five microfilm publications: M247 (204 rolls), M40 (first 4 rolls), M61 (1 roll), M332 (10 rolls), M866 (1 roll). These microfilm rolls can be ordered from Washington, D.C. by the archivist at the Mid-Atlantic Branch of the National Archives or they can be viewed on microfilm at the David Library of the American Revolution, Washington Crossing, PA, (215) 493-6776. The indexes to the Papers are at GPD. The Journals are on the Internet, and are in GPD with the index.

Letters of Delegates to Congress, 1774-1789, 26 vols. GPD LC 1.34:. Indexed at the end of each volume. This set is also available on the Library of Congress web site athttp://memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwdglink.html.

Territorial Papers of the United States, 28 vols. GPD GS 4.13. Much material on early inhabitants of the following territories: NW Territory, SW Territory, Mississippi, Indiana, Orleans (Louisiana), Michigan, Louisiana-Missouri, Illinois, Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, and Wisconsin.

GUIDES TO UNPUBLISHED RECORDS

Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States. GPD AE 1.108:G 94/. Lists the holdings of the National Archives (NARA). Should be used in conjunction with Microfilm Resources for Research. GPD AE 1.102:M 58/2/.

Guide to Genealogical Research in the National Archives. GPD 016.9291 Un3g2. Especially useful for censuses, passenger lists, and military records.

The Archives. SSH 016.973 Sz71a. Lists holdings of the Regional Branches of the National Archives.

ARC, the NARA's Archival Resource Catalog. ARC is the online catalog of NARA's nationwide holdings in the Washington, DC area, Regional Archives and Presidential Libraries. The site also has an ARC Guide for Genealogists and Family Historians.

Legislative Documents - Federal: The following four documents are all related to one another. Look in them for what took place in Congress on a daily basis. Ask for them at the GPD reference desk.

Annals of Congress, 1789-1824. Indexed annually.

Register of Debates, 1824-1837. Indexed annually.

Congressional Globe, 1833-1873. Indexed annually.

Congressional Record, 1873-present. Indexed annually.

Lists of and Indexes to Published Federal Government Documents: The following five documents are all related to one another. Look in them for a wide variety of published government documents like annual reports of government agencies and departments. Ask for these at GPD.

Descriptive Catalog of the Government Publications of the United States, September 5, 1774-March 4, 1881. 015.73 P793d.

Comprehensive Index to the Publications of the United States Government, 1881- 1893. 015.73 Un32c.

Checklist of United States Public Documents, 1789-1909. GP 3.2:C 41/2.

Catalog of the Public Documents of the [53d-76th] Congress and of All Departments of the Government of the United States. 1893-1940. (Documents Catalog on spine, shelved near GP 3.8:).

Monthly Catalog. 1895-present. GP 3.8:.

For more recent government publications, do keyword searches on the electronic catalogs at the Free Library of Philadelphia (a Government Depository Library).

ANNUAL REPORTS OF FEDERAL DEPARTMENTS AND AGENCIES

United States Congressional Serial Set Index (GPD 328.73 C7613c) and the CIS U.S. Serial Set Index (GPD 328.73 C7613ca).

Monthly Catalog and its predecessors. See above.

Ask a GPD librarian about the date ranges of the annual reports for a specific department or agency.

FEDERAL LAWS

United States Statutes at Large. GPD GS 4 111:. Use to locate Private Laws. Indexed in a variety of ways: large blocks of years in earlier times, with separate indexes to Private Laws. Keep in mind that these laws were the results of legislation FAVORABLY considered.

FEDERAL CASE DIGESTS, REPORTERS, AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS

West's Federal Practice Digest. Jenkins Law Library (JLL).

American Digest. JLL. Especially the First Decennial, vols. 21-25.

United States Reports. GPD LR345.4 Un3. Decisions of the U.S. Supreme Court. Use Digest of United States Supreme Court Reports, Lawyer's Edition (GPD LR345.51 D56213) as an index.

Federal Cases, Circuit & District Courts, 1789-1880. District Courts and Courts of Appeals. JLL.

Federal Reporter. 1880 to date. Appellate, District, and other courts. JLL.

Federal Supplement. 1932 to date. District and other courts. JLL.

Corpus Jurus and Corpus Jurus Secundum. JLL.

American Jurisprudence. JLL.

When using the material listed above, look for Tables of Cases, Defendant- Plaintiff Tables, and other indexing devices.

The best place to do case research is at the Jenkins Law Library.

MANUALS AND DIRECTORIES

U.S. Government Manual. SSH 353 Un32gm and GPD AE 2.108/2:.

Official Register of the United States, 1816-1959. CS 1.31:. Microfilm at GPD.

Biographical Directory of the United States Congress 1774-Present.

The State Library of Pennsylvania at Harrisburg is the official depository for all printed publications of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and has the most comprehensive collection of Pennsylvania titles in existence. The State Library is also the Regional Federal Depository Library and receives a copy of all items sent to Federal Depository Libraries. Federal and state documents are available to Pennsylvania residents via interlibrary loan through local libraries.

IMPORTANT PUBLISHED SETS

Pennsylvania Archives. SSH 974.8 P3822. Essential for PA research.

GUIDES TO UNPUBLISHED RECORDS

Guide to Genealogical Sources at the Pennsylvania State Archives. SSH 016.9293 P384g2.

Guide to Photographs at the Pennsylvania State Archives. SSH 016.9748 P384g.

Guide to the Manuscript Groups in the Pennsylvania State Archives. SSH 016.9748 P384h.

Preliminary Guide to the Research Materials of the Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission. SSH/STX 016.9748 P3843p.

LEGISLATIVE DOCUMENTS - PENNSYLVANIA

PA House Journal, 1791-1942. GPD Gov Pub States P 38-161:.

PA Senate Journal, 1804-1942. GPD Gov Pub States P 38-157:.

Pennsylvania Legislative Documents, 1854-1886. GPD Gov Pub States P 38-160:.

Pennsylvania Legislative Record/Journal, 1857-1999. GPD Gov Pub States P 38-5:.

LISTS OF AND INDEXES TO PUBLISHED PENNSYLVANIA GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS

Index of Economic Material in Documents of the States of the United States: Pennsylvania, 1790-1904. GPD 016.3309 H275i. This set of books gives subject access to the legislative documents listed above and the annual reports listed below that were published before 1905.

ANNUAL REPORTS OF STATE DEPARTMENTS AND AGENCIES - PENNSYLVANIA

Executive Documents, 1848-1885. GPD Gov Pub States P 38-159:.

Pennsylvania Official Documents, 1886-1895.GPD Gov Pub States P 38-158:.

Keep in mind that an annual report may appear as a stand-alone volume, or it may be bound into a larger volume which contains annual reports from MANY departments and agencies; e.g., the documents listed above.

For the range of dates of annual reports for any PA Department of agency see Index of Economic Material in Documents of the States of the United States: Pennsylvania, 1790-1904. If the needed report is not available in GPD, ask about interlibrary loan.

PENNSYLVANIA LAWS

Statutes at Large of Pennsylvania, 1700-1809. GPD Gov Pub States P 38-7:.

Laws of Pennsylvania, 1806-Present. GPD Gov Pub States P 28-21:.

Genealogical Abstracts of the Laws of Pennsylvania & the Statutes at Large, 1682-1820. SSH 929.3 L749g.

Index to Local Legislation in Pennsylvania from 1700 to 1892. GPD/STX L345.3 P93. This useful index gives subject access by PA county and corporation name access to PA legislation from 1700 to 1892.

PENNSYLVANIA CASE DIGESTS, REPORTERS, AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Vale Pennsylvania Digest, 1682-1938. JLL.

West's Pennsylvania Digest, 1938-present. JLL.

Atlantic Reporter. JLL.

Atlantic Reporter 2nd Series. JLL.

Pennsylvania Law Encyclopedia. GPD 345.22 P384L2. When using the material listed above, look for Tables of Cases, Defendant- Plaintiff Tables, and other indexing devices.

Research in Pennsylvania Law. GPD 016.34 Su78r. Lists Pennsylvania law reporters. Actual reporters are at JLL.

Martin's Bench and Bar of Philadelphia. SSH 923.4 M362. Contains a bibliography of the laws of Pennsylvania, of Pennsylvania law reporters, and of pamphlet reports up to 1883.

The best place to do case research is at Jenkins Law Library.

MANUALS AND DIRECTORIES

Smull's Legislative Handbook, 1868-1922. GPD Gov Pub States P 38-19:. Gives lists of state officials, biographical sketches of legislators, lists of post offices, lists of newspapers, lists of county officials, and much more.

Pennsylvania Manual, 1923-present. GPD Gov Pub States P 38-19:. Comprehensive historical lists of PA government officials can be found in v. 88, 1947-48.

Pennsylvania Legislative Directory, 1895-1984. GPD Gov Pub States P 38-24:.

Industrial Directory of Pennsylvania, 1914-1979. GPD Gov Pub States P 38-453b.

IMPORTANT PUBLISHED SETS

None.

GUIDES TO UNPUBLISHED MATERIAL

Descriptive Inventory of the Archives of the City and County of Philadelphia. SSH 016.9748 P53d.

Subject Index to the Photograph Collection of the Philadelphia City Archives. SSH 016.9748 P53de.

Philadelphia City Archives Web Site

"Report of the Public Archives of the City and County of Philadelphia," in Annual Report of the American Historical Association, 1901. GPD SI 4.1:. Essential for getting a good look at the government of Philadelphia in the 1700-1800s and the documents the government generated. Generally, this may serve as an inventory as of 1901.

Inventory of the County Archives of Pennsylvania. GPD Gov Pub States P 38-1948:. There are volumes for Adams, Beaver, Berks, Blair, Delaware, Erie, Fayette, Forest, Greene, Lancaster, Lawrence, Warren, Washington, and Westmoreland counties.

LEGISLATIVE DOCUMENTS - PHILADELPHIA

Minutes of the Common Council, 1704-1776. GPD Gov Pub Cities P 53-7:. The full text is also digitized at Google Books.

Journal of the Common/Select Council, 1835-1920. GPD Gov Pub Cities P 53-8:, P53-9:.

Journal of the City Council, 1920-Present. GPD Gov Pub Cities P 53-231:.

Lists of and Indexes to Published Philadelphia Government Documents: No good historical lists.

ANNUAL REPORTS OF PHILADELPHIA DEPARTMENTS AND AGENCIES

Annual reports of some Philadelphia branches of government are very useful to genealogists, especially those annual reports listed below. Generally, annual reports can be found in two formats: stand-alone volumes issued annually and collective annual reports issued annually in one binding; for example, Annual Messages of the Mayor. Some of the most useful are:

Fire Department. GPD Gov Pub Cities P 53-17:. Annual report.

Education Department. GPD Gov Pub Cities P 53-28:. Annual report.

Journal of the Board of Public Education. GPD Gov Pub Cities P 53-26:.

Handbook of the Board of Public Education. GPD Gov Pub Cities P 53-217:. System handbook.

Board of Directors of City Trusts. GPD Gov Pub Cities P 53-35:. Use for lists of students in Girard College.

Police Department. GPD Gov Pub Cities P 53-42:. Annual report.

Annual Messages of the Mayor, 1855-1936. GPD Gov Pub Cities P 53-65:. Collected annual reports in most volumes.

Ask a GPD librarian about the date ranges of the annual reports for a specific department or agency. If they do not have what you need, try the Philadelphia City Archives or the Historical Society of Pennsylvania.

PHILADELPHIA LAWS/ORDINANCES

Ordinances and City Solicitors Opinions, City of Philadelphia, 1701-Present. GPD Gov Pub Cities P 53-1:.

A Digest of Laws and Ordinances Concerning Philadelphia...1701-1904. GPD LR345.32 P53. Gives table of cases access and rough subject access.

PHILADELPHIA CASE DIGESTS, REPORTERS, AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Research in Pennsylvania Law. GPD 016.34 Su78r. Lists Pennsylvania law reporters. Actual reporters are at JLL.

Martin's Bench and Bar of Philadelphia.SSH 923.4 M362. Contains a bibliography of the laws of Pennsylvania, of Pennsylvania law reporters, and of pamphlet reports up to 1883. A useful list of early Philadelphia attorneys is also included.

Legal Intelligencer. On microfilm in GPD and at JLL. Look for annual indexes.

The best place to do case research is at Jenkins Law Library.

MANUALS AND DIRECTORIES

County Government and Archives in Pennsylvania. SSH Shelved at 974.8 P37. Gives the general organization of county government in PA making it useful for ALL counties.

City Manual, 1859-1983 with some gaps. GPD Gov Pub Cities P 53-14.

Acts and ordinances are historically interesting, but not very useful for surname searching. Journals of proceedings, on the other hand, are useful for surname searching.

KENSINGTON

An Act of Incorporation for the Kensington District of the Northern Liberties, 1828. GPD Gov Pub States P 38-2091:.

Digest of the Acts of the Assembly, Kensington District, 1832, 1844, 1847, supplements of 1848 and 1852. GPD Gov Pub States P 38-2091:.

Digest of the Acts of the Assembly, Kensington District, 1847. SSH 345.32 P53d.

Journal of Proceedings, Kensington, 1853-Jun 1854 (in 3 vols). GPD Gov Pub Cities P 53-40:.

NORTHERN LIBERTIES

An Act of Incorporation for That Part of the Northern Liberties Lying Between the Middle of Sixth Street and the River Delaware and Between Vine Street and Cohocksink Creek with Ordinances. GPD Gov Pub Cities P 53-454:.

Digest of the Acts of the Assembly, Northern Liberties, 1830, 1838, 1847, 1853. GPD Gov Pub Cities P 53-454:.

RICHMOND

Digest of the Ordinances, Richmond. GPD Gov Pub Cities P 53-451:. Published in 1852.

SOUTHWARK

Ordinances of the Corporation of the District of Southwark, 1829, 1838, and Digest of the Ordinances, District of Southwark, 1849. 3 vols. GPD Gov Pub Cities P 53-441:.

SPRING GARDEN

Digest of the Acts of the Assembly, District of Spring Garden, 1833, 1841, suppl. for 1846, 1852.GPD Gov Pub Cities P 53-448:.

PENN DISTRICT

Digest of the Ordinances, District of Penn, 1852. GPD Gov Pub Cities P 53-453:.

WEST PHILADELPHIA

Digest of the Ordinances, District of West Philadelphia, 1852. GPD Gov Pub Cities P 53-455:.