Caldecott and Newbery Medals Awarded

By Joel N. Mon, January 23, 2012
Winner of the Caldecott Medal
Winner of the Caldecott Medal
Winner of the Newbery Medal
Winner of the Newbery Medal

Today at the American Library Association’s Midwinter Meeting in Dallas, TX, the Caldecott and Newbery Award winners and honor books were announced. The Caldecott Medal awards the artist of the most distinguished American picture book, and the Newbery Medal honors the most distinguished contribution to Children’s literature.

This year’s winner of the Caldecott is Chris Raschka for his book A Ball for Daisy. He previously won the Caldecott Medal in 2006 for his illustrations in Norton Juster’s The Hello, Goodbye Window.

In addition, the Caldecott Committee also chose three other picture books for the honor list: Blackout by John Rocco, Grandpa Green by Lane Smith, and Me…Jane by Patrick McDonnell.

Dead End in Norvelt by Jack Gantos is this year’s winner of the Newbery Medal. This is Gantos’s first Newbery Medal, although his book Joey Pigza Loses Control was an honor title in 2001. The Newbery Honor books this year are Inside Out and Back Againby Thanhha Lai and Breaking Stalin’s Nose by Eugene Yelchin.

We are especially proud that one of our own Children’s Librarians served on the Caldecott Committee this year, and we applaud her—and the rest of the committee’s—hard work in selecting the Medal winner. Please stop in today and check these out!

Leave this field empty

Add a Comment to Caldecott and Newbery Medals Awarded

(Your email is kept private and will not be shown publicly)
(Example: Philadelphia, New Jersey, South Philly, Germantown)