Caldecott Medal turns 75 - And the Winners Are...

By Andrea Z. RSS Mon, January 28, 2013

The American Library Association webcast just concluded and the winners are . . .

Caldecott Award

Winner:               This Is Not My Hat by Jon Klassen        


Honor Books:     Creepy Carrots by Aaron Reynolds; illustrated by Peter Brown

                                Extra Yarn by Mac Barnett ; illustrated by Jon Klassen

                                Green by Laura Vaccaro Seeger

                                One Cool Friend by Toni Buzzeo; pictures by David Small

                                Sleep Like a Tiger by Mary Logue and illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski


Newbery Award

Winner:               The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate      


Honor Books:       Splendors and Glooms by Laura Amy Schlitz

                                Bomb: The Race to Build -- and Steal -- the World's Most Dangerous Weapon by Steve Sheinkin

                                Three Times Lucky by Sheila Turnage

Congrats to our librarians who also chose Extra Yarn by Mac Barnett; illustrated by Jon Klassen.

Leave this field empty

Add a Comment to Caldecott Medal turns 75 - And the Winners Are...

Your email is kept private and will not be shown publicly
Good job, Jon Klassen! It's a great book that young children and adults both love.
Joel - Philadelphia
Wednesday, January 30, 2013