Youth Media Awards have been announced!

By Sarah S. RSS Tue, January 28, 2014

This week, one of the most exciting and prestigious events in children’s literature took place right here in Philadelphia. The American Library Association’s Youth Media Awards are a highly anticipated event in which the Caldecott, the Newbery, the Coretta Scott King and the Printz Awards, among others, are announced. And if you think all librarians are shy, quiet people, you would be shocked at the cheering, gasping, laughing and jumping up and down that happens in that packed auditorium. It’s always such a thrill!

We at the Free Library of Philadelphia are especially excited and proud that some of our staff members served on the award committees. Our own Rachel Fryd served on the Caldecott Award Committee, Joel Nichols served on the Stonewall Award Committee, and Betsy Orsburn chaired the Newbery Committee. Congratulations!

Here are just some of the winners. You are more than welcome to check these books out or put them on hold. Then let your librarians know if you, too, think they are the best of the best!

The Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children:

Caldecott Medal

Locomotivwritten and illustrated by Brian Floca

Caldecott Honor Books

Journey written and illustrated by Aaron Becker

Flora and the Flamingo written and illustrated by Molly Idle

Mr. Wuffles by David Wiesner


John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature:

Newbery Medal Winner

Flora & Ulysses written by Kate DiCamillo and illustrated by K. G. Campbell

Newbery Honor Books

Doll Bones by Holly Black

The Year of Billy Miller by Kevin Henkes

One Came Home by Amy Timberlake

Paperboy by Vince Vawter


Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award recognizing an African American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults:

CSK Author Book Winner

P.S. Be Eleven by Rita Williams-Garcia

CSK Author Honor Books

March: Book One, written by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin, illustrated by Nate Powell

Darius & Twig by Walter Dean Myers

Words with Wings, written by Nikki Grimes

Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Book Award

CSK Illustrator Book Winner

Knock Knock: My Dad’s Dream for Me, illustrated by Bryan Collier and written by Daniel Beaty

CSK Illustrator Honor

Nelson Mandela, illustrated and written by Kadir Nelson

Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award:

When the Beat Was Born: DJ Kool Herc and the Creation of Hip Hop, illustrated by Theodore Taylor III and written by Laban Carrick Hill


Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults:

Printz Award winner

Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick

 Printz Honor Books

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Kingdom of Little Wounds by Susann Cokal

Maggot Moon by Sally Gardner, illustrated by Julian Crouch

Navigating Early by Clare Vanderpool


Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience:

A Splash of Red: The Life and Art of Horace Pippin, written by Jen Bryant, illustrated by Melissa Sweet wins the award for children ages 0 to 10.

Handbook for Dragon Slayers, written by Merrie Haskell is the winner of the middle-school (ages 11-13) award.

Rose under Fire, written by Elizabeth Wein is the teen (ages 13-18) award winner.


Pura Belpré (Illustrator) Award honoring a Latino illustrator whose children’s books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience:

Belpré Illustrator Award winner

Niño Wrestles the World, illustrated by Yuyi Morales

Belpré Illustrator Honor Books

Maria Had a Little Llama / María Tenía una Llamita, illustrated and written by Angela Dominguez

Tito Puente: Mambo King / Rey del Mambo,  illustrated by Rafael López, written by Monica Brown

Pancho Rabbit and the Coyote: A Migrant’s Tale, illustrated and written by Duncan Tonatiuh


Pura Belpré (Author) Award honoring a Latino writer whose children’s books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience:

Belpré Author Award winner

Yaqui Delgado Wants to Kick Your Ass, written by Meg Medina

Belpré Author Honor Books

The Lightning Dreamer: Cuba’s Greatest Abolitionist, written by Margarita Engle

The Living, written by Matt de la Peña

Pancho Rabbit and the Coyote: A Migrant’s Tale, illustrated and written by Duncan Tonatiuh


 Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award for most distinguished informational book for children:

Sibert Award winner

Parrots Over Puerto Rico, written by Susan L. Roth and Cindy Trumbore, and illustrated by Susan L. Roth

Sibert Honor Books

A Splash of Red: The Life and Art of Horace Pippin, written by Jen Bryant, illustrated by Melissa Sweet 

Look Up! Bird-Watching in Your Own Backyard, written and illustrated by Annette LeBlanc

Locomotive written and illustrated by Brian Floca

The Mad Potter: George E. Ohr, Eccentric Genius, written by Jan Greenberg and Sandra Jordan


Stonewall Book Award – Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award given annually to English-language works of exceptional merit for children or teens relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience:

Stonewall Winners

Beautiful Music for Ugly Children, written by Kirstin Cronn-Mills

Fat Angie, written by e. E. Charlton-Trujillo

Stonewall Honor Books

Better Nate Than Ever, written by Tim Federle

Branded by the Pink Triangle, written by Ken Setterington

Two Boys Kissing, written by David Levithan


Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for the most distinguished book for beginning readers:

Geisel Award Winner

The Watermelon Seed, written and illustrated by Greg Pizzoli

Geisel Honor

Ball, written and illustrated by Mary Sullivan

A Big Guy Took My Ball! written and illustrated by Mo Willems

Penny and Her Marble, written and illustrated by Kevin Henkes


 YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults:

The Nazi Hunters: How a Team of Spies and Survivors Captured the World’s Most Notorious Nazi, written by Neal Bascomb


For a complete list of the award winners, go here.

Leave this field empty

Add a Comment to Youth Media Awards have been announced!

Your email is kept private and will not be shown publicly