Children's Book Awards announced at ALA

By Donald R. RSS Thu, February 5, 2015

Every January, the American Library Association announces the winners of prestigious children's book awards including the longstanding Newbery and Caldecott awards.  In addition, there are a number of other awards given out. Three librarians from the Free Library of Philadelphia took part in selecting the winners. Joel Nichols served on the Stonewall Book Award Committee - Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award, which is given annually to English-language works of exceptional merit for children or teens relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender experience.  And the winner is: This Day in June, written by Gayle E. Pitman, Ph.D., illustrated by Kristyna Litten. Sarah Stippich served on the Theodore Seuss Geisel Award, which is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers. And the winner is: You Are (Not) Small, written by Anna Kang and illustrated by Christopher Weyant. Christopher Brown served on The Laura Ingalls Wilder Award, which honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children. And the winner is: Donald Crews. Congratulations to the winners and to the Free Library staff for their participation serving all children at the national level!

Have a question for Free Library staff? Please submit it to our Ask a Librarian page and receive a response within 72 hours.

Leave this field empty

Add a Comment to Children's Book Awards announced at ALA

Email is kept private and will not be displayed publicly
Comment must be less than 3000 characters