New Titles Coming to the Free Library in December!

By Rachel F. RSS Thu, December 1, 2022

There’s a lot to explore this December with a mix of new titles coming to the Free Library's shelves!

Young Children (up to 2nd Grade)

Twelve Dinging Doorbells by Tameka Fryer Brown; illustrated by Ebony Glenn

Every holiday, aunties, uncles, cousins, grandparents, and neighbors come over to eat, sing, and celebrate life. But all our main character can think about is the sweet potato pie Granny makes just for her. As tables fill with baked macaroni and cheese, chitlins, and other sides a-steaming, she and Granny move the pie to keep it intact. The task becomes trickier as the room grows with dancing and card games and pie cravings. Just when all seems lost and there’s no more pie, Granny pulls out a sweet surprise.

Older Children (3rd Grade to 6th Grade)

There's a Dragon in my Stocking! by Tom Nicoll

Eric has been keeping a secret: Pan, a mini-dragon who traveled to Eric's house from China via a crate of bean sprouts. On Christmas Eve, Eric and Pan are thrilled to hear someone coming down the chimney. But their festive visitors aren't quite who they were expecting: Pan's parents have come to visit! Eric is going to have a tough time keeping them a secret, too, especially when it turns out that Eric's family is hosting three other families for the holiday, too! Then disaster strikes, and Christmas dinner is in danger of being ruined. Can the mini-dragons save the day?

Teen Fiction

A Million to One by Adiba Jaigirdar

Josefa is an unapologetic and charismatic thief, who loves the thrill of the chase. She has her eye on her biggest mark yet--the RMS Titanic--the most luxurious ship in the world. But she isn't interested in stealing from wealthy first-class passengers onboard. No, she's out for the ultimate prize: the Rubiyat, a one of a kind book encrusted with gems that's worth millions. Josefa can't score it alone, so she enlists a team of girls with unique talents: Hinnah, a daring acrobat and contortionist; Violet, an actress and expert dissembler; and Emilie, an artist who can replicate any drawing by hand. They couldn't be more different and yet they have one very important thing in common: their lives depend on breaking into the vault and capturing the Rubiyat. But careless mistakes, old grudges, and new romance threaten to jeopardize everything they've worked for and put them in incredible danger when tragedy strikes. While the odds of pulling off the heist are slim, the odds of survival are even slimmer & Perfect for fans of Stalking Jack the Ripper https://catalog.freelibrary.org/Record/2044852 and Girl in the Blue Coat https://catalog.freelibrary.org/Record/2031055 , this high-seas heist from the author of The Henna Wars https://catalog.freelibrary.org/Record/2538934 is an immersive story that makes readers forget one important detail--the ship sinks.

Adult Fiction

The Valentine's Hate by Sidney Halston

Cupid only strikes once. At least that's what Lissette Alonso believes. Ever since the Most Disastrous Valentine's Day of All Time(TM) she has hated all things V-day. But Lizzie's best friend is having pre-nuptial festivities for a week leading up to her February 14th wedding and Lissette is taking her maid of honor duties seriously, maybe too seriously. Of course of course of course who is the first person she runs into on the way to the wedding? None other than her childhood nemesis, Brian Anderson, the reason for all of her Valentine's Day hatred. Brian knows he messed up with Lizzie but give him a break, he was just a kid who was trying to look cool and Lizzie regularly pushed all of his buttons--both in school and out of it. He's always been gruff and grumpy, but these days, Brian is much better off with his writing; fictional characters never talk back. Unlike Lizzie who always has something to say. Suddenly the two are back under the same roof and bickering like old times, except that Brian has bigger problems than dealing with Lizzie's verbal sparring. Someone Brian is desperate to avoid shows up and somehow Lizzie gets roped into pretending to be dating him. And, suddenly, the simmering anger has blossomed into something extra spicy...

Adult Nonfiction

Two Old Broads: Stuff You Need to Know That You Didn't Know You Needed to Know by Dr. M.E. Hecht and Whoopi Goldberg

Written by renowned surgeon and expert on the art of aging, Dr. M.E. Hecht, with her friend Whoopi Goldberg lending her unique point of view, Two Old Broads is laugh out loud funny and tells it like it is for all of us who left middle age in the dust and want to be present, positive, and as extraordinary as ever in our golden years.

DVDs and Blu-rays

CLERKS III

Director: Kevin Smith

Starring: Kevin Smith, Ben Affleck, Rosario Dawson, Sarah Michelle Gellar, Justin Long, Jeff Anderson, Brian O'Halloran, Marilyn Ghigliotti

After Randal Graves has a heart attack, he believes that he should make a movie about his start at the Quick Stop groceries and convenience store and everything that has happened in and around it through the years. He turns to his friends, Dante Hicks, Elias Grover, Becky Scott and even Jay and Silent Bob, to help him. His only hope is that he can pull it off without a hitch. Yet, given all of the strange things that occur out of the blue at the Quick Stop and the actions of others, anything might happen before he finishes the final scene.

 

You can find these new titles and many more great books, ebooks, audiobooks, movies, and music in our catalog and at a neighborhood library near you!


Leave this field empty

Add a Comment to New Titles Coming to the Free Library in December!

Email is kept private and will not be displayed publicly
Comment must be less than 3000 characters