The Most Magical Time of the Year

By Shannon G RSS Fri, November 20, 2009

It’s that time of year again—not a day full of turkey and football, but the announcement of the 2009 National Book Award winners! In addition to the winners in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and young people’s literature, the National Book Award also honored two authors for their contributions. Gore Vidal was celebrated for his “distinguished contribution to American letters," and Dave Eggers (author of the 2008 One Book, One Philadelphia selection!) was honored with the Literarian Award for Outstanding Service to the American Literary Community. Presented to an individual whose life and work are examples of the National Book Foundation’s goals to enhance the cultural value of literature, the award honors Eggers’ work as an author, editor, journalist, publisher, screenwriter, and co-founder of 826 Valencia, a nonprofit center dedicated to improving the writing skills of students.

Check out a list of the winners and finalists below, and tell us which books you’ll be adding to your holiday wish list!

Winner: Colum McCann for Let the Great World Spin

Finalists: Bonnie Jo Campbell (American Salvage); Daniyal Mueenuddin(In Other Rooms, Other Wonders); Jayne Anne Phillips (Lark and Termite); Marcel Theroux (Far North)

Winner: T. J. Stiles for The First Tycoon: The Epic Life of Cornelius Vanderbilt

Finalists: David M. Carroll (Following the Water: A Hydromancer's Notebook); Sean B. Carroll (Remarkable Creatures: Epic Adventures in the Search for the Origins of Species); Greg Grandin (Fordlandia: The Rise and Fall of Henry Ford's Forgotten Jungle City); Adrienne Mayor (The Poison King: The Life and Legend of Mithradates, Rome's Deadliest Enem)

Winner: Keith Waldrop for Transcendental Studies: A Trilogy

Finalists: Rae Armantrout (Versed); Ann Lauterbach (Or to Begin Again); Carl Phillips (Speak Low); Lyrae Van Clief-Stefanon (Open Interval)

Young People’s Literature
Winner: Phillip Hoose for Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice

Finalists: Deborah Heiligman (Charles and Emma: The Darwins’ Leap of Faith); David Small (Stitches); Laini Taylor (Lips Touch: Three Times); Rita Williams-Garcia,(Jumped)


Leave this field empty

Add a Comment to The Most Magical Time of the Year

Email is kept private and will not be displayed publicly
Comment must be less than 3000 characters
It's wonderful that you have Thanksgiving in the US. I think it's the most touching and magical holiday, and a true "reason" for getting together with family and close friends. Regards from Mexico, and happy thanksgiving :)
Emilio - Mexico
Saturday, November 21, 2009