Databases

Use our subscription databases to find citations and full text articles. To get started, just click on the database that you would like to search. If you're outside the library, you may need to enter your library card number and PIN in order to access the database.

• Digital Media
• Digital Learning
• Free Library Catalog

Awarded “Best Library Digital Resources” by Philadelphia Magazine

• Academic OneFile

  Find peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals in the areas of the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, literature, and more. More than 18,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 9,200 in full text.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Art
  • Homework Help & Study Aids
  • Literature
  • Medical
  • Newspapers, Magazines, & Journals
  • General Research
  • Science
  • Social Science
  • Technology
  • Adults
  • Teens

• Academic Search Main Edition

  Provides full-text and peer-reviewed journals essential for undergraduate & graduate studies. Subjects include biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, & religion from over 1,800 full-text and more than 1,200 full-text peer-reviewed journals.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Homework Help & Study Aids
  • Psychology
  • Religion
  • General Research
  • Science
  • Adults
  • Teens

• Access World News

  Explore events and issues at the local, national, and international levels from over 9,000 news sources. Includes the Philadelphia Tribune, Philadelphia Magazine, and 30 other Philadelphia-area news sources. *Chrome browser not supported.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Genealogy
  • Homework Help & Study Aids
  • Newspapers, Magazines, & Journals
  • Adults
  • Teens

• AP Images (formerly AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive)

  Current photos & a selection of pictures/images from the 50 million print & negative library of photographs at the Associated Press. Search for a picture/image of your favorite celebrity.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Homework Help & Study Aids
  • Newspapers, Magazines, & Journals
  • Photography
  • Adults
  • Teens

• Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library)

  Explore over 500 nonfiction, fully searchable reference titles. Access accurate information on science, literature, history, business, and more.
  Use the following video to learn more about this resource

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • ebooks
  • Homework Help & Study Aids
  • Music
  • General Research
  • Business and Entrepreneurs
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • Children
  • Digital Media

• Gale in Context | Elementary (formerly Kids InfoBits)

  Students in K-5th grade will find kid-friendly content covering topics such as animals, arts, geography, health, literature, people, social studies, technology, and more! Includes more than 16,600 images and over 600 high-quality educational videos.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Biography and Autobiography
  • Health and Fitness
  • Homework Help & Study Aids
  • Literature
  • Movies & Television
  • Music
  • Newspapers, Magazines, & Journals
  • General Research
  • Social Science
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Technology
  • Children
  • Animals and Nature

• Gale in Context | Middle School (formerly Research in Context)

  Gale in Context | Middle School provides support for middle grade students working on papers and projects. Includes full-text magazine & news articles, multimedia, biographies, and primary sources.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Biography and Autobiography
  • Government Information
  • Homework Help & Study Aids
  • Literature
  • Newspapers, Magazines, & Journals
  • General Research
  • Science
  • Social Science
  • Teens
  • Children
  • History

• Gale In Context: High School

  Primary documents, biographies, topical essays, background information, critical analyses, full-text coverage of 800 magazines, photographs and illustrations, audio and video clips

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Health and Fitness
  • Homework Help & Study Aids
  • Newspapers, Magazines, & Journals
  • General Research
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • Children

• Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints

  Examine the many sides of today's hottest social issues. Explore pro/con viewpoints, articles, and infographics.
  Use the following video to learn more about this resource

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Homework Help & Study Aids
  • Newspapers, Magazines, & Journals
  • General Research
  • Social Science
  • Teens
  • Adults
  • Teens

• Gale OneFile | High School Edition (formerly InfoTrac Student Edition)

  Content for high school students from magazines, journals, newspapers, reference books, and rich media (images, audio, video) covering a range of subjects, from science, history, and literature to political science, sports, and environmental studies.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Environment and Nature
  • Homework Help & Study Aids
  • Literature
  • Newspapers, Magazines, & Journals
  • Politics
  • General Research
  • Science
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • History

• GREENR - Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources

  GREENR is an interdisciplinary resource for environment and sustainability studies and provides news, video, primary source documents, and statistics on energy systems, healthcare, food, climate change, population, economic development, and more.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Business and Economics
  • Environment and Nature
  • Homework Help & Study Aids
  • Newspapers, Magazines, & Journals
  • General Research
  • Science
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • Animals and Nature

• Homework Help Online

  Live, online tutoring every day in English or Spanish from 9 a.m. - midnight for K-12, college, and adults. Upload a writing sample or math problem and get feedback. Mobile app available: Tutor.com To Go
  Use the following video to learn more about this resource

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Homework Help & Study Aids
  • Job Seekers
  • Online Learning
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • Children
  • Job Seekers

• LearningExpress Library

  Practice tests and test preparation study materials for academic and professional tests, including the SAT and GRE. Mobile app available: EBSCO LearningExpress
  Use the following video to learn more about this resource

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Homework Help & Study Aids
  • Online Learning
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • Test Preparation

• LearningExpress Library - Career Center

  This LearningExpressLibrary module offers sections on business writing, the job search, skills for success and skills for successful interviews.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Homework Help & Study Aids
  • Job Seekers
  • Online Learning
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • Job Seekers
  • Test Preparation

• LearningExpress Library - Recursos para Hispanohablantes

  Recurso para el desarrollo académico y profesional ofrece el desarrollo de habilidades en matemáticas, ciencias y lectura/escritura para los alumnos de la escuela de edad y adultos, así como pruebas de la práctica para el nuevo GED, SAT, NCLEX-RN, y mas.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Homework Help & Study Aids
  • Job Seekers
  • Online Learning
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • Job Seekers
  • New Americans
  • Test Preparation

• NewsBank Hot Topics

  Trending news and topics for your next assignment! Covers current events, business & economics, civics, government, & politics, social issues, science, technology & health, sports, arts & literature, and people in the news. *Chrome browser not supported.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Art
  • Business and Economics
  • Health and Fitness
  • Homework Help & Study Aids
  • Literature
  • Newspapers, Magazines, & Journals
  • Politics
  • General Research
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Technology
  • Adults
  • Teens

• TrueFlix

  Read the book and watch the movie! TrueFlix provides a selection of digital books from Scholastic Publishing and pairs each with a film for a fun, new way to learn!

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Children
  • Homework Help & Study Aids
  • Literacy
  • General Research
  • Children

• TumbleBooks

  TumbleBooks is an online collection of animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. Check out our home user guide. Mobile app available.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Children
  • ebooks
  • Homework Help & Study Aids
  • Literacy
  • Children
  • Digital Media

• World Book Online

  Popular online encyclopedia for children and teens, including Spanish language content.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and internet with authentication.

  • Biography and Autobiography
  • Education
  • Homework Help & Study Aids
  • Literacy
  • Teens
  • Children
  • Digital Media

denotes POWER Library resource

This project is made possible in part by Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) funds from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services and through Library Access Funds administered by the Office of Commonwealth Libraries, Department of Education, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Tom Wolf, Governor.