Reviews

Want to know what our librarians and staff are reading? Browse through a variety of reviews added to our catalog from a variety of genres.

Showing 1 to 20 of 2,833

Filter

  • Daddy day care
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Apr 20, 2021

    Tagged: Children Family Humor Movies & Television

    Funny. Family Movie. Feel-Good Film. Silly. Heart-Warming. Nice Ending. Kid-Friendly.

    This movie has a lot of "awe moments". The children are all adorable. It's just so funny how people can come up with plans to make money without thinking that there maybe consequences somewhere down the line. This is a nice movie to watch with the family.

    Check out this item

  • Bowfinger
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Apr 20, 2021

    Tagged: Humor Movies & Television

    Hilarious. Funny Characters. Memorable Characters. Good Actors. Very Nice Soundtrack.

    This movie has two of my favorite funny actors (Steve Martin and Eddie Murphy). This movie has plenty of "laugh out loud moments".  Eddie Murphy plays multiple funny roles. You'll want to watch from begining to end just to figure out what exactly is going on here. Steve Martin has always been so funny in every role that I've seen him play (my favorite being The Jerk). This is a comedy with heart.. I beleive that this movie is worth a watch. I think it's a enjoyable film. The music was enjoyable as well.

     

    Check out this item

  • Imagine That
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Apr 20, 2021

    Tagged: African American Family Humor Movies & Television

    Family. Comedy. Fun to watch. Good Acting. Feel Good Movie.  Magical. Touching

    This is a feel good movie. A movie the family can enjoy together. It's filled with imaginative and magical moments that will make you smile.This is a nice daugther-dad movie. It was fun to watch and I enjoyed it.

    Check out this item

  • The Pacifier
    ★★★★☆

    Reviewed by Donna P on Apr 14, 2021

    Tagged: Movies & Television

     

    The pacifier a really cute movie that I would watch again. Vin Diesel is a navy seal officer who gets a job to babysit children of a fellow navy seal who was killed for a program he was working on. He has a tough time at first but in the end is loved by the children. A very nice movie I would recommend watching

    Check out this item

  • The hitman's bodyguard
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Apr 12, 2021

    Tagged: Humor Movies & Television

    Action-packed. Adventure. Comedy. Memorable Characters. Mild Violence. 

    Imagine that...a bodyguard hired to protect his worst enemy.   Samuel L. Jackson is the hitman  and Ryan Reynolds is the bodyguard making the perfect team.  This movie is hilarious and full of action and adventure. You will not want to miss one minute .

    Check out this item

  • Fist fight
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Apr 12, 2021

    Tagged: Movies & Television

    Comedy. Hilarious. Fun To Watch. Good Actors. Good Ending. Fast Paced.

    Teachers behaving badly opposed to the students.  This movie was soo funny.   Everyone is geared up for the big fight after school (except for one participant). The characters were fun to watch as the build up to the end of the school day came near.  I enjoyed watching this movie.  I laughed from beginning til the end.

    Check out this item

  • Girls trip
    ★★☆☆☆

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Apr 8, 2021

    Tagged: African American Humor Movies & Television

    Comedy. Rauchy. Foul Language. Good Ending. Nice Cast. Long-time Friendships

    The girlfriend's get away trip theme was good.  I could not enjoy the movie because it had too much foul language in almost every scene. Some scenes were funny.   It did, however, have a very good cast.

     

     

    Check out this item

  • Once upon an eid Stories of Hope and Joy by 15 Muslim Voices by Ali, Nujood.
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Megan M on Apr 8, 2021

    Tagged: Audiobooks Children Education Family Fiction Religion

    Have you ever gotten distracted while your brownies were in the oven - and burned the whole batch? Or maybe your friend’s bike got into an accident so you begrudgingly lent him yours? Perhaps you've dealt with guilt over things in life that were beyond your control. Or had sickness in the family, and took on the difficult task of helping someone close to you participate and find joy in a special day, even when they are not feeling 100%. Once Upon an Eid is a delightful, uplifting anthology of short stories about topics like these, and more, which kids and adults can enjoy, learn from, and see themselves in. This thoroughly enjoyable book allows the reader to experience Eid through the eyes of a number of different people, of various ages and genders, from different countries and cultural backgrounds. Some stories are lighthearted and funny, others more bittersweet. But even though the stories are all unique, each shows the important role that family and community play in our lives, no matter who we are. If you're looking for something to elevate your spirits and touch your heart, especially during Ramadan, give this book a try! I listened to the audiobook which features Siiri Scott and Neil Shah and this really brought the characters to life for me, but I'm certain the print version is engaging as well. Even though the stories are fiction, this put me in mind of the Chicken Soup for the Soul books that were popular when I was younger, due to the inspirational and spiritual nature of the stories. I'd recommend this book for 4th grade and up.

    Check out this item

  • Tyler Perry's Madea goes to jail
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Apr 6, 2021

    Tagged: African American Humor Movies & Television

    Drama. Comedy. Romance. Memorable Characters. Touching. Strong Acting. Sensitive Subject Matters. Heart-warming.

    Although this film deals with many sensitive subjects it will still have you laughing when Madea shows up. The actors and actresses were very convincing in thier roles.  Also adding to the comedy is Tamala and David Mann . It's not a lot of scenes with Madea in jail, but, it enough of them to keep you wondering  WWMD... "what would Madea do".

    Check out this item

  • The Real Coke, The Real Story by Oliver, Thomas

    Reviewed by Robert S on Mar 31, 2021

    Tagged: Biography and Autobiography Business and Economics Business and Entrepreneurs History Cooking and Nutrition

    This review contains spoilers! Click to reveal...

    Check out this item

  • Paris : The novel by Rutherfurd, Edward.
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by valerie h on Mar 29, 2021

    Tagged: History

    This is an historical novel about Paris, the City of Light.  It's 752 pages, a big bug crusher, of a book.  But, stay with it.

    It covers the years 1261 to 1968. Six families are followed through centuries of religious persecutions, plagues, continous wars and one very bloody revolution. Notre Dame Cathedral is constructed as is the Eifell Tower in engaging detail.

    The characters are all interconnected through time. They love each other, kill each other, marry each other, impregnate each other, betray each other.  They are always, none the wiser, about their historical connections through the veils of history.

    We, the all-knowing readers, keep track of these liasons through tumultous times.  If you are a history buff or reader of romance novels, this book is for you.

    Check out this item

  • Tyler Perry's Good deeds
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Mar 29, 2021

    Tagged: African American Family Movies & Television Romance

    Romance. Comedy. Touching. Heart-warming. Inspiring. Emotional. Good Ending. Great Acting.

    This film honors goodness in a fairytale type of way. As do most of Tyler Perry's film this one deals with emotional and inspiring real life situations. Homelessness is a very sad but real reality to many people in this country of plenty. A constant reminder that pride comes before the fall and that you can be up today and down tomorrow. Tyler Perry is a true prince charming to the rescue in this movie. A movie that the whole family can enjoy together.  I enjoyed watching this film.

    Check out this item

  • Tyler Perry's The family that preys
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Mar 29, 2021

    Tagged: African American Family Movies & Television

    Drama. Strong Acting. Great Cast. Emotional. Good Ending. Nice Music.

    This film dealt with real everyday issues like sadness, friendship,  love, selfishness, homelessness, betrayal and the ability to move on. It was a good storyline and not as predictable as some of Perry's films. Very good actors/actresses ( Kathy Bates, Alfre Woodward, Taraji P. Henson, Rockmond Dunbar). Kind of on a soap opera line, but, I think this is one of Tyler Perry's better films. 

    Check out this item

  • Daddy's little girls
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Mar 29, 2021

    Tagged: African American Family Movies & Television Romance

    Drama, Emotional. Touching, Heart-warming. Family Movie. Uplifiting.

    Idris Elba is a warm-hearted, hard-working  all around good guy who just wants the best for his three daugthers. This film explores the horrible way that drugs, violence, and gang activity can affect the life of ordinary people trying to do the right things. The acting was very good and convincing. I enjoyed Gabrielle Union's character in this film.  The cast worked well together. This a film the family can watch together.

    Check out this item

  • Tyler Perry's I can do bad all by myself
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Mar 23, 2021

    Tagged: African American Family Humor Movies & Television Music Romance

    Comedy-Drama.  Emotional. Heart-warming.  Good Acting.  Emotional.  Family-oriented. Great Musical Performances. Inspirational. Romance.

    Tyler Perry is an awesome writer. His films are always inspiring and thought provoking.   This film will make you re-evaluate just how important family is to you. It shows so many different types of emotional and mental feelings  that can come from past experiences (abandonment, abuse, drunkeness, molestation ) when they are never addressed.  There are spectacular performances by Gladys Knight, Mary J. Blige and also Taraji P. Henson. No Tyler Perry movie is complete without a appearance by Madea (to add comedy). The children actors in this film did an awesome job as well. The ending is somewhat predictable, but, heart-warming just the same. I love this movie...I've watched it several times.

     

    Check out this item

  • Always and forever
    ★★★☆☆

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Mar 15, 2021

    Tagged: African American Fiction Movies & Television

    Always And 4ever

    Drama. Thriller. Mystery. Suspense. Murder. Revenge. Grudges. 

    You can tell from the first scene that a childhood pact has been made that will come back to haunt one day. Many parts were predictable. The movie left lots of unanswered questions and no build up for the next scenes . The main character didn't really seem to have much sympathy for her friends. However, it did have a twist at the end. It wasn't a great movie.

    Check out this item

  • Fatale
    ★★★★☆

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Mar 15, 2021

    Tagged: Movies & Television

    Drama. Mystery. Suspenseful. Adulterous issues. Revenge. Violence. 

    Hillary Swank plays a psychotic police detective out for revenge. Micheal Ealy is a sports agent who  has a one night affair with Swank and is caught up in a web of murders. There are some very intense scene.  Ealy's character is much like the one he played in "The Intruder"  he really takes a beating. This film has strong acting and a unexpected ending. 

    Check out this item

  • Honest thief
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Mar 15, 2021

    Tagged: Movies & Television

    Action. Adventure. Thriller. Suspenseful. Fast-paced. Violence. Greed.

    The love of money proves to be the root of evil in this thriller. Corrupt cops and the desire to be a honest man makes for a fast moving action-filled film. Liam Neeson's acting is strong and convincing as he tries to right the wrongs from his past after meeting the love of his life (Kate Walsh). Nice chase scenes. Some twist and turns and a bit of humor. The film will hold your interest.  Its not long and draw out. This is a treat if you are a fan of  Liam Neeson. He never fails to entertain.  Good ending.

     

    Check out this item

  • Dilili in Paris
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Leaona S on Mar 12, 2021

    Tagged: Art Education Family Movies & Television

    What a beautiful movie. The storyline was well thought out with elements of adventure, mystery and history. The graphics were visually pleasing and innovative. A well rounded family movie that all will enjoy.

    Check out this item

  • Fortune and glory by Evanovich, Janet,
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Donna P on Mar 9, 2021

    Tagged: Fiction

    fortune and glory

     

    the newest Janet Evanovich's book. Like her other books tell of Stephanie Plum's many adventures as a bounty hunter and the predicaments she gets into. I always enjoy reading about Stephanie Plum.

    Check out this item