Reviews

Want to know what our librarians and staff are reading? Browse through a variety of reviews added to our catalog from a variety of genres.

Showing 1 to 20 of 2,591

Filter

  • First Sunday
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Oct 26, 2020

    Tagged: African American Family Humor Movies & Television

    Very Funny.  Ice Cube and Tracy Morgan are hilarious in this comedy that the family can enjoy together.  Their attempt to rob a church was a lot harder than they thought it would be. I loved the choir and the choir director.  I enjoyed this movie.
     

    Check out this item

  • Last Vegas
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Oct 26, 2020

    Tagged: Family Humor Movies & Television

    Life-long friendships. Comedy. Joys of Aging.  A group of childhood freinds come together after 58 years for a bachelor party in Las Vegas for one of the guys..  Its fullied with lots of funny geriatric moments. Seeing these veteran actors together was awesome. I enjoyed this movie.from start to finish.

    Check out this item

  • A quick & easy guide to sex & disability by Andrews, A.,
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Linda Y on Oct 23, 2020

    Tagged: Comics and Graphic Novels Disabilites and Accessibility

    This is an esoteric subject and definitely a unique one in this format. This is my first time seeing a guide such as this and it is a support for inclusivity, because this shows that even people with disabilities is human. Other books in this series include A Quick & Easy Guide to Queer & Trans Identities and A Quick & Easy Guide to They/Them Pronouns.

    Check out this item

  • Banned book club by Kim, Hyun Sook,
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Linda Y on Oct 23, 2020

    Tagged: Comics and Graphic Novels

    Banned Book Club is a true story retelling a Banned Book University club that formed during a time when there was a militant censorship from the government in Korea. There was already a good number of protests and police brutality as the government locked down on all connections to North Korea and perceived “negative” Western influences. So when first generation college student Kim Hyun Sook joined the book club, club members were reading books like The Scarlet Letter by Nathanial Hawthorne, The Motorcycle Diaries by Che Guevara and The Feminine Mystique by Betty Friedman to name a few.

    Standing for rights and personal beliefs is important because this determines how life is spent.  Banned Book Club may have started with the belief that the right to read is not an action to be censured, but it also speaks about activism and need to protest when actions from the government are perceived wrong.

    Other similar book and subjects for this book is March by John Lewis, Tiananmen Square, Iraqi protests, etc. So very often there might not be a good resolution for protests, but if so then this is a impetus for a movement to form and this can change the world. 

    Check out this item

  • Maid in Manhattan
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Oct 22, 2020

    Tagged: Family Humor Movies & Television Romance

    Romance mixed with comedy.  A feel good movie the whole family can enjoy together. Jennifer Lopez does a great job in this film.  I enjoyed this movie.

    Check out this item

  • Little
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Oct 22, 2020

    Tagged: African American Humor Movies & Television Teens

    This movie is very funny.  Imagine what it would be like being 13 again in this body-switching comedy.  On the same themed line as Freaky Friday and Big. It was fun to watch. Teenage girls would love this movie.This movie also touch on the bulling situtation going on in schools today.   At times you can see yourself or your children in the characters.  I enjoyed this movie.

    Check out this item

  • Back to the future
    ★★★★☆

    Reviewed by Donna P on Oct 20, 2020

    Tagged: Movies & Television

    enjoyed this movie when it first came out. nice movie to watch. wish i could go back to 2019 and start over.good family movie

    Check out this item

  • The fabled life of Aesop by Lendler, Ian.
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Megan M on Oct 20, 2020

    Tagged: Children Family History

    This review contains spoilers! Click to reveal...

    Check out this item

  • Bad boys
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Oct 20, 2020

    Tagged: African American Humor Law Movies & Television

    Lots of action and adventure.   I enjoyed watching the teamwork and comedy moments with Will Smith and Martin Lawerence. Cops and bad guys mixed with fast-paced action.  I enjoyed this movie. 

    Check out this item

  • Bad boys II
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Oct 20, 2020

    Tagged: African American Humor Law Movies & Television

    Comedy, Action, Adventure, Fast-paced, .  This movie is exciting and mixed with comedy.   I enjoyed this sequel to the original film. 

    Check out this item

  • White fragility why it's so hard for white people to talk about racism by DiAngelo, Robin J.,
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen E on Oct 19, 2020

    Tagged: African American New Americans Summer Reading

    White Fragility deserves no less than a 200page dissertation but I am going to distill it down for you so that it doesn't feel heavy, condescending, or inapproachable to you. White Fragility : why it's so hard for white people to talk about racism has been out since 2018 and you might not have read it yet for a variety of reasons which are easy to pile up if you want to play the excuse cards (I didn't know about it, there wasn't a book club about it locally, my church tried to read it together and it sounded too controversial, I have black friends, I'm not fragile, I didn't see it on display in the bookstore window till recently, my family wasn't in America at the time slavery was going on) all of which leave a bad shameful taste in the mouth.

    Chapter one is all about leading the reader to safe un-biased waters. Or for some it might feel like MyBias Bootcamp. If you fit in this category this book is literally ForYou. If you are a racial minority this book is still for you too because it is a rare author who can re-direct a conversation back to the Root of the problem which is white people not talking about, standing up for, and having an opinion on racism then verses now and our current complacency in a new form of racism urgently in a life or death way. Reading this in solidarity with people willing to retrain themselves to see Racism as an institution ever present is the best thing you can do to facilitate change so don’t let being ‘stuck in the middle’ of a fight that you don’t see as your own stop you from reading it either.

    After Chapter one you will have a vocabulary to continue reading. Chapter two the author outs herself as white which was mind blowing and brought up some reverse bias for me. I was literally like “Why is the White Fragility book written by an older white woman?” Then in Chapter 3 she starts to call out the white culture of her upbringing and work environment so I was like 'okay it makes the argument rock solid to hear this in print from a white person to another white person that needs to happen but it’s disturbing that she is nailing down that she was taught to fear black people she’s one of those people who never lived as a racial minority (in a black neighborhood, or overseas or anywhere) and my question is basically "Why did you sell out and put up with it? Why not leave and participate in something else? How does authoring this book feel as a continued/former racist?????????

    I think there is value in naming all the taboo things, and claiming them to overcome them. Like my friend telling me she wants a Nasty Woman tattoo I can see the point but it’s a stoop to a level that was never supposed to exist in the first place. Every man woman child and human being was meant to be cherished on earth. There's no way to justify killing mosquitoes. There's no way to justify participating in institutionalized Racism. Societies logic has been wrong for too long and this book will lead you to the most vital place where all your brothers and sisters need you to go. Eventually, someone in your life is going to help you dismantle Racism if you ask for help with it. Via this book. Via calling you out on killing mosquitoes. Via testing you giving you shit for reading it in public. Now it's 2020 and H.R. 40 is being considered by the Supreme Court and hopes everywhere have never been higher for reparations from slavery+etal crimes; but what does it mean if White People; your own husband or wife; neighbor spouse, cousin, aunt, father, brown people, gay people, your best friend still have too many walls up to read White Fragility with you?

     

    Check out this item

  • The Green mile
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Oct 15, 2020

    Tagged: Body, Mind and Spirit Law Movies & Television Religion Humanities

    Emotional,   Spiritual,   Heart-breaking,  A gentle gaint prisoner and a prison guard becomes acquainted on the journey to death row.  Miracles, signs, and wonders also accompanied them on the way.  Very good movie. Very long, but, really enjoyable.

    Check out this item

  • Pretty woman
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Oct 15, 2020

    Tagged: Movies & Television Romance

    Comedy.  Romance.  Awesome Actor and Actress. This is a rags to riches, feel good, laugh-out loud type of movie. A oldie but a goodie.  If you like heart-warming movies...this is a great one.  I reallly enjoyed this movie.

    Check out this item

  • A witches' ball
    ★★★★☆

    Reviewed by Donna P on Oct 14, 2020

    Tagged: Movies & Television

    A very cute halloween movie for children. I watched it with my 4 yr old grandson. We both enjoyed it.

    Check out this item

  • The Call
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Oct 14, 2020

    Tagged: African American Law Movies & Television

    The level of tense and emotional moments kept me pinned to this movie.  It was also full of suspense.  How far can you actually go to help a 911 caller???  It was a good movie.  I enjoyed it.
     

    Check out this item

  • Knives out
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Oct 14, 2020

    Tagged: Family Humor Movies & Television

    After the death of the family patriarch the hunt for the murderer is on.  This movie will hold your interest while you put together clues about "whodunit".  It has comedy and suspense.  The line up of suspects are entertaining.  The family can watch this movie together.  I enjoyed this movie.

    Check out this item

  • Prisoners by Sutherland, Tui,
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Megan M on Oct 13, 2020

    Tagged: Children ebooks Fiction

    This review contains spoilers! Click to reveal...

    Check out this item

  • Get out
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Oct 8, 2020

    Tagged: African American Movies & Television Psychology

    Very suspenseful a bit of humor.  This movie will keep you on the edge of your seat.  Lots of  "what in the world is happening here" moments.  I liked the movie because it holds your interest from beginning to end.  If you are into creepy, gripping movies..this one is for you.  I enjoyed it.

    Check out this item

  • 21 bridges
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Oct 8, 2020

    Tagged: African American Law Movies & Television

    21 Bridges only way in or the only way out. Filled with fast-paced action, adventure, suspense, drugs, violence, good law enforcement  and bad law enforcement. Detective Andre, main character, played by Chadwick Boseman will stop at nothing to get the truth behind why there is so much drug traffic and corruption going on in his city.  The movie had a little too much shooting/violence.  This is a good movie for anyone who like movies surrounding law enforcement ...good or bad. 

    Check out this item

  • Hocus pocus
    ★★★★☆

    Reviewed by Donna P on Oct 8, 2020

    Tagged: Movies & Television

    a cute movie where kids on halloween night bring back three witches then try to send them back. great movie for older children around this time of year

    Check out this item