Reviews

Want to know what our librarians and staff are reading? Browse through a variety of reviews added to our catalog from a variety of genres.

Showing 1 to 20 of 2,924

Filter

  • Casino Royale
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Jul 21, 2021

    Tagged: Movies & Television

    Action. Adventure. Fast-Paced. Smooth Acting. Thriller. Violence.  Good Plot.

    I think this was the best 007 James Bond movie.  Daniel Craig does an awesome job as Bond.  He is smooth and appealing. The storyline is believable which makes the film easier to watch and enjoy. With lots of twist and turns this is really a great film. 

    Check out this item

  • Hard-boiled bugs for breakfast and other tasty poems by Prelutsky, Jack.
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Megan M on Jul 20, 2021

    Tagged: Children ebooks Education Family Humor Summer Reading

    Jack Prelutsky doesn't fail to entertain with this humorous new collection of poetry. Laugh and learn with Prelutsky's whimsical wordplay. Enjoy the accompanying illustrations by Ruth Chan. "Figure 8" is especially well crafted, it reminds me of "The Song That Doesn't End" which, as kids, my siblings and I delighted in singing, with the added bonus of simultaneously annoying anyone not partaking in the silliness. And Chan's picture of the sneezing bees in "Above the Meadow" really gave me a good chuckle, it's exactly how I'd imagine sneezing bees would look. I'd recommend this goofy volume of poetry to kids, teachers, librarians, basically anyone with a penchant for the ridiculous!

    Check out this item

  • Brick Mansions
    ★★★★☆

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Jul 19, 2021

    Tagged: Movies & Television

    Action-Packed. Adventure. Crime. Fast-Paced. Good Actors.

    Paul Walker showed great energy and clever moves in this last motion picture before his untimely death. He was a very good actor and always interesting to watch. All of the supporting actors were good as well. The film starts off with action and end with action. The gun battles and fist fights are intense and powerful, but, they were a little to phony. With no foul language or overpowering sex scenes ..this film was enjoyable..

    Check out this item

  • S.W.A.T.
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Jul 15, 2021

    Tagged: Law Movies & Television

    Action.  Adventure.  Violence.   Fast pace. Tense Moments.  Exciting Chases.  Great acting.  Great actors.  Funny lines. 

     

    Good film from start to finish. This film is full of action. If you turn your head you're sure to miss something. Samuel L. Jackson is awesome as usual.  LL COOL J is not bad either... i love these two guys. Lots of very good actors.  Some lines that will make you laugh....

    ("You got a driver's license..uh,  I have a library card.. ok that'll do". "You cheating on your wife with junk food").   I recommend this film to anyone who likes good guys versus bad guys action movies. I enjoyed this movie.... P.S. don't miss the glimpse of the late Alex Trebek"s Hollywood Star.

    Check out this item

  • A quiet place
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ashley B on Jul 8, 2021

    Tagged: Movies & Television

    I've never watched a movie with barely no dialogue and was intrigued throughout the whole movie. This is one of the best suspenseful movies I've ever seen. A Quiet Place was way way better than Bird Box and other similar movies. I can't wait to see the sequel. This movie is a must see!!!

    Check out this item

  • Camp by Miller, Kayla.
    ★★★★☆

    Reviewed by Megan M on Jul 8, 2021

    Tagged: Children Comics and Graphic Novels Fiction Summer Reading

    It's summer and Olive can't wait to go to Camp Acorn Lake with her best friend Willow. It's a sleepover camp, and there are so many fun activities for Olive and Willow to try. Once they arrive, Olive is ready to dive right into the camp experience. She's great at sports, loves her cabin & camp food, and easily makes lots of new friends. Willow, however, is a different story. She is feeling homesick, and makes every attempt to keep Olive from spending time with her new friends. She even sabotages the Rube Goldberg Machine that Olive and her friends put a lot of effort into! Is Olive and Willow's friendship over? Or can they figure things out? This book is the perfect summer read for a 3rd to 5th grader, especially if they're headed to camp for the first time. And for those who enjoy Camp, find out how Olive deals with being forgotten and left out by her friends in Click.

    Check out this item

  • Fatal throne : the wives of Henry VIII tell all by Anderson, M. T.,
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by valerie h on Jul 8, 2021

    Tagged: History

    This review contains spoilers! Click to reveal...

    Check out this item

  • The children's train : a novel by Ardone, Viola,
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by valerie h on Jul 8, 2021

    Tagged: History

    The novel begins in 1946 in post World War II Naples. Seven year old Amerigo Speranza lives with his impoverished bitter mother, Antonietta.  They scrape by as trash and rag pickers. His mother tells him that his father vanished to America which is why she named him Amerigo.

    A local communist organization sponsors a program where poor children from Naples will take a train to the north and spend the winter and spring with better off communist families.  It was a sort of Fresh Air Program which is still big in New York City. Some families refuse as they fear their children will be taken to Russia and forced into slave labor. The Italian communists had nothing to do with Russia, and by and large, historically, it was successful project. 

    Amerigo's mother reluctantly lets him participate.  He and his neighborhood friends travel north, filled with fear and anxiety. To make matters worse, Amerigo is the last child to be picked up when the train arrives at its destination.  It turns out the Benvenutti clan, his foster family, is warm and welcoming.

    At age seven, Amerigo has embarked on a voyage of  self discovery.  He finds out that not only is he lovable, but he is mathematically and musically gifted as well.  Before he knows it, it is time to return to Naples and his mother. On the train back, Amerigo feels nothing but dread.

    Back home, Amerigo yearns for the warmth and kindness of his foster family.  His mother becomes more harsh and distant. A year passes.  Life with his mother has become intolerable.  She pushes him to drop out of school and apprentice to a shoemaker. Amerigo realizes that he has to make a decision,  Should he stay or should he go back up north?

    I really enjoyed the novel. It reminded me of a novel, I just finished, Miracle of St. Anna, by James McBride.

     

    Check out this item

  • Mother's Day
    ★★★★☆

    Reviewed by Donna P on Jul 6, 2021

    Tagged: Movies & Television

    Mother’s Day… a movie of various moms and their current life situations and how things work out in the end… I enjoyed watching this movie was very enjoyable..

    Check out this item

  • Let him go
    ★★★★☆

    Reviewed by Donna P on Jul 6, 2021

    Tagged: Movies & Television

    Good movie. Story about a family who loses their son in an accident . He was thrown from a horse and broke his neck. His wife and son were living with his parents. She remarries ends up in an abusive marriage. She moves away. They go on a journey to go find her and their grandson. 

    Check out this item

  • Second act
    ★★★★☆

    Reviewed by Lauren G on Jul 1, 2021

    Tagged: Movies & Television

    Second Act, starring Jennifer Lopez and Vanessa Ann Hudgens, is about a woman, Maya, (Lopez) who works in retail and wants to show that street smart can just be as good as book smart. She wants to prove that you don't need a degree to succeed. She gets an interview for a fancy job and her godson fibs her resume. So, she decides to go with it until she meets her biological daughter (Hudgens) she gave up for adoption years ago. I thought this was a really great story and shows that it shouldn't just be about where you go to school. Anyone, especially women, can succeed with a lot of hard work. I recommend watching this movie especially since it's very timely and enjoyable.

    Check out this item

  • Crazy, stupid, love
    ★★★☆☆

    Reviewed by Lauren G on Jul 1, 2021

    Tagged: Movies & Television

    Crazy Stupid Love starring Steve Carell and Ryan Gosling, is Cal Weaver (Carell) whose wife divorces him and now he has to go back into the dating world, but doesn't know how. He meets Jacob Palmer (Gosling) who teaches him how to get back into the dating game. This movie has a great cast, but I couldn't get focused watching it. I've heard many things about this movie, but it didn't seem the hype that it got. I didn't find it so funny, but maybe this just didn't age well.

    Check out this item

  • White hot by Brown, Sandra,
    ★★★☆☆

    Reviewed by Donna P on Jun 29, 2021

    Tagged: Fiction

    a  women leaves her her tyrannical father and brothers vowing never to come back but returns when her younger brother commits “Suicide”. Police determines it was murder and she stay long enough to find out the truth and love. I enjoyed reading this book.

    Check out this item

  • Then came you
    ★★★★☆

    Reviewed by Lauren G on Jun 28, 2021

    Tagged: Movies & Television

    Then You Came is about a hypochondriac boy, Calvin, and a girl, Skye, diagnosed with cancer who meet at a cancer support group, which changes their lives forever. Skye's cancer has gotten worse that she is soon going to die, so her and Calvin work on completing Skye's bucket list. They both learn from each other and learn to live life. I thought that this was a cute story and what I liked about it was that it wasn't a love story where Calvin and Skye would fall in love, but it was a story about two friends changing each other's lives in a positive way and helping one another out. It wasn't the best story told, but i still recommend seeing it if you want a heart-felt movie.

    Check out this item

  • College Road Trip
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Jun 25, 2021

    Tagged: African American Children Family Humor Movies & Television Teens

    Comedy/Drama. Funny. Family Movie. Touching. Kid Friendly. Daddy/Daugther movie.  College Life

    Every parent at some point has to cut the cord. It's sometimes easier said  then done. Kids  grow-up and move away even if it's just to college. Overprotective Dad (Martin Lawrence) comes to term with letting his little girl (Raven-Symone') grow up.  This movie is a great film for the girls sleepover.  It was fun to watch with funny characters, funny scenes and good acting. Fun songs from the 80's. I liked this movie because it didn't have foul language and the theme was one any family could relate to..whether it's a daugther or son going away to college. 

    Check out this item

  • Black or White
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Jun 25, 2021

    Tagged: African American Family Movies & Television

    Drama. Family. Heart-warming. Touching. Racial Issues. Strong Acting. Emotional.

    This film dealt with very realistic issues (racism, drug addiction, death, alcoholism, biracial families and intense custody battles). Very emotional and touching. Outstanding acting by award winning actors (Kevin Costner, Octavia Spencer). Eloise (Jillian Estell) did awesome acting as well. The movie had a good ending.  I could watch this film again.

    Check out this item

  • Real friends by Hale, Shannon,
    ★★★★☆

    Reviewed by Megan M on Jun 24, 2021

    Tagged: Biography and Autobiography Children Comics and Graphic Novels Fiction Summer Reading Teens

    This review contains spoilers! Click to reveal...

    Check out this item

  • Set It Off
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Jun 21, 2021

    Tagged: African American Movies & Television

    Drama. Action. Violence. Suspenseful. Heartbreaking. Awesome Cast. Memorable Characters. Nice Soundtrack. Memorable Scenes. 

     

    Four women trapped in a world filled with life's everyday problems decides that desperate times calls for desperate measures. Good girls, gone bad. The movie is exciting with a touch of romance and a touch of humor. Tense moments.  Too much violence and too many gun battles for me, but, all in all a very good movie. Strong ending.  Kimberly Elise and Blair Underwood are awesome in their introductory roles. Queen Latifah, Jada Pickett and Vivica A. Fox are naturals. 

    Check out this item

  • Dung for dinner : a stomach-churning look at the animal poop, pee, vomit, and secretions that people have eaten (and often still do!) by Virnig, Christine.
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Megan M on Jun 17, 2021

    Tagged: Children Education Science Summer Reading Teens History

    This is a gratifyingly gross exposé on excrement and other secretions utilized by humans throughout history. The reasons for it were, and are, varied: to cure disease, whiten one's teeth, alleviate pain, create fine jewelry or even flavor one's morning coffee. Maybe it came from a boar, a bug or the behind portion of a beaver. Perhaps it was harvested from the intestines of a sperm whale. Or it's quite possible it came out of your own body. This is foul stuff we'd never consider eating, drinking or smearing onto ourselves today...or...gasp...do we already do it without realizing it? Each chapter of this enlightening book focuses on a different fluid, waste product or other excretion and tells the story of when it was used, by whom, and why. There are also plenty of text boxes and sidebars elaborating on engrossing (no pun intended) topics such as: the interesting appearance of various types of animal and bird waste, how whale secretions are used in perfume, and even the illustrious career path of the professional pooper. My personal favorite was when I'd reach the end of each chapter - I'd find a hilarious new poop joke to add to my repertoire! Great item to leave on your coffee table for guests to peruse, or maybe tuck a copy into that magazine rack in your bathroom. Informative and funny!

    Check out this item

  • The Sandlot 2
    ★★★★☆

    Reviewed by Donna P on Jun 17, 2021

    Tagged: Movies & Television

    A new kid moves in and meets some boys. They go to play baseball in “the Sandlot”. The voy borrows his stepdads signed baseball and it gets hit into the house next door to the sandlot. There is a dog in the yard which prevents them from easily getting the ball back. I enjoyed watching this movie again. I first watched it with my son.

    Check out this item