Reviews

Want to know what our librarians and staff are reading? Browse through a variety of reviews added to our catalog from a variety of genres.

Showing 1 to 20 of 2,326

Filter

  • Quiet : the power of introverts in a world that can't stop talking by Cain, Susan.
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jul 16, 2018

    Tagged: Psychology

    Excellent reading for introverts who feel depleated after lengthy conversations or changes to their normal quiet routines or anything on the spectrum. The Quiet Spectrum! ("Shhhhh!")

    Check out this item

  • Toshiko Akiyoshi at Maybeck by Akiyoshi, Toshiko,
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jul 16, 2018

    Tagged: Music

    Review coming soon!

    Check out this item

  • State of wonder the complete Goldberg variations, 1955 & 1981 by Bach, Johann Sebastian,
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jul 16, 2018

    Tagged: Music

    Review coming soon!

    Check out this item

  • Sometimes I act crazy : living with borderline personality disorder by Kreisman, Jerold J.
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jul 16, 2018

    Tagged: Psychology

    The vignettes which provide a glimpse of some potential difficult relationship scenarios that Borderlines can get into are poignant and will likely bring up some personal memories for the Borderline reader. This book could be read as a solo venture, or read and discussed with a group or therapist. Slightly antiquated

    Check out this item

  • Coding for beginners in easy steps by McGrath, Mike,
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jul 16, 2018

    Tagged: Computers

    This is a great introduction to coding. It was very easy to read and even the colors matched the colors of Python which are highly synesthetically pleasing so that was great! The downside is that there are errors in the book so you will have to 'intuit' some of the 'punctuation' however; if you are a precise person and have internet and a Second computer available to help you troubleshoot this should be no problem for you.

    Check out this item

  • Adventures in Python by Richardson, Craig,
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jul 16, 2018

    Tagged: Computers

    I am giving this book the benefit of the doubt. I ended up using a simpler coding book to get started in Python. This book would best be used by an adult, assuming it has no typos the tasks should run, and I suggest naming the file the name that is suggested by the book NOT a name chosen for it's 'whimsy' as it will be easier to recall the contents of the file. It will also make it easier to look up online in case you need to troubleshoot it.

     

     

    Check out this item

  • Sometimes I act crazy : living with borderline personality disorder by Kreisman, Jerold J.
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jul 5, 2018

    Tagged: Psychology

    I read this book because I was trying to gain some insight into the mindset of someone with Borderline. I wouldn't categorize this as an enjoyable read because the peoples' lives are very un-productive as witnessed by their friends and family and their mood swings and up-rooted-ness can be completely flattening to think about. Either which case; the section on splitting was useful and so if you or a loved one has some kind of split personality disorder reading this book could be a great way to get close to them  or realize that it's not what you say, it's how you say it...that can make all the difference in someones life.

    For me it was worth reading to know that there's other people that go their whole life without knowing that they are Borderline or what that means. So if you are searching for a label and see yourself in this  .....which could happen.....make sure  you have a therapist professional to bounce thoughts off of. 

    Check out this item

  • Lawrence in Arabia : war, deceit, imperial folly and the making of the modern Middle East by Anderson, Scott,
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jul 5, 2018

    Tagged: History

    Review coming soon!

    Check out this item

  • All creatures great and small by Herriot, James.
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jun 26, 2018

    Tagged: Medical Science Animals and Nature

    This is the best series of all time and it is full of wacky British humor and pet stories. This is the perfect first book of the series. I highly recommend it for anyone 10years old and up who either didn't read it growing up, or who needs to practice proper writing because they have only grown up reading J.K. Rowling, or Diary of a Wimpy Kid which, lets face it are not that full of words which are included in Websters' Dictionary. Request this book and demand that it be kept in circulation as the timeless classic it is!

    Check out this item

  • The sixth extinction : an unnatural history by Kolbert, Elizabeth.
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jun 26, 2018

    Tagged: Environment & Nature General Research Science

    The 6th Extinction is the most important science book to come out all decade. Elizabeth Kolbert sets her life on hold and starts taking trips into the Rainforest to search for frogs, when she discovers that frog and other amphibian populations are being wiped out and there is very little coverage of it. The deeper she digs the more there is to un-earth, whether it's to clarify who influenced Darwin as he was pondering The Origin of Species, from other extinct animals which we rarely consider Mrs. Kolbert has finally brought earth science to the front and center of our lives. Whether we choose to react by all switching to solar-powered car shares and migrating to higher elevations out of the path of hurricanes, it is humbling to contemplate the preciousness of our Whole Planet, not just the parts we get caught up in everyday. I urge you to be the citizen who is concerned enough to read a serious science book. There are a shortage of these because they are not inventive in the slightest and require extraordinary research and cross-fact checking especially inlight of other science books in the 500's of the Dewey decimal order. Please leave comments and add your thoughts!

    Check out this item

  • In a sunburned country by Bryson, Bill.
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jun 22, 2018

    Tagged: Environment & Nature General Research History

    The worlds first and only, never to be replicated Travelogue of Australia. Confused about the interior of this continent that is a country? Fear not. Don't bring a lonely planet guide on your trip...you can pluck one from any other traveler you bump elbows with down under. Bring Bill Bryson with you instead. This does not cover any modern tech companies or businesses but focuses on geological and geographical aspects of the land.

    Check out this item

  • A short history of nearly everything by Bryson, Bill.
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jun 22, 2018

    Tagged: Science Summer Reading

    Stymied about the importance of Science and the size of your footprint in the cosmos? Allow Bill Bryson with all of his technical wit to correctly pinpoint with precison the order of everything from the start of our universe, asteroids, and plate tectonics, to other glossed over fascinating aspects of human history such as aborigines in australia and rock formations used as a primitive sound amplification device to warn of predators. Bryson has a very special lexicon which will totally rock (and upheave) your British English world.

    Check out this item

  • Chemistry : a novel by Wang, Weike.
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jun 22, 2018

    Tagged: Fiction

    I have high hopes for this despite being a Nonfiction buff, review coming soon!

    Check out this item

  • Winterdance : the fine madness of running the Iditarod by Paulsen, Gary.
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jun 22, 2018

    Tagged: Children Science Summer Reading

    This is one of the best books ever written, and most certainly Gary Paulsens best book. You will find yourself transported by a love for the north, snow, sledding, and all the things you think you abhor. If you read it in summertime you might find yourself nostalgic for ice in your beard, the last time you were alone in the wilderness, or the last time you let yourself get so stinky your wife locked you out of the house. (I don't wish to spoil the comedy of error which unfolds here so I'm using some obtuse metaphors.) All of which is to say Paulsen should win some sort of standup comedy award for this book. A feel good strive and thrive book which will invigorate you. This is motivational literature that we read before we had books like Rise and Grind. (Another good read you should check out, I'm just saying this is the 'chicken before the egg'.) *Adult level reading/Teen reading.

    Check out this item

  • The glory and the dream: a narrative history of America, 1932-1972 by Manchester, William Raymond,
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jun 22, 2018

    Tagged: Citizenship Politics History

    This is the History of America as is should be taught in schools. I especially enjoyed the description of the attitude in washington when the fighting was taking place regarding the founding and location of the capital. Be advised it is a long long read, it might help you wind down at the end of the day and nod off. I suggest tackling it as bedtime reading assuming you don't have kids or a spouse who is watching T.V. right next to you. If it takes you 400days to get through it do not be ashamed you will be well informed about the struggles surrounding the formation of the nation, be reminded of the fact that Theodore cheated on Elenor and scads of other juicy nuggets and tidbits. 

    Check out this item

  • Playing for pizza by Grisham, John.
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jun 22, 2018

    Tagged: Fiction Law

    Review coming soon!

    Check out this item

  • The rooster bar by Grisham, John,
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jun 22, 2018

    Tagged: Fiction Law

    Review coming soon! 

    Check out this item

  • Eat & run : my unlikely journey to ultramarathon greatness by Jurek, Scott,
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jun 22, 2018

    Tagged: Cooking & Nutrition Sports & Recreation

    Scott Jurek is an inspirational runner, but equally fascinating creative artist, this books illustrates the time, dedication, and coordination of all aspects of his daily schedule and eating regime ....all the strategy and smarts that goes into making his body be able to recover and hit the road again as a machine. His recipes truly sound like they would satisfy and it's nice to get some quality ones that are vegan/gluten-free eco consious. Running these distances is incredibly humbling thing and while critics might say it takes a certain amount of 'self-hate' to force yourself to cover such distances I believe that Scott's love of running comes from a truly inspired by nature and his upbringing. Hope this proves to be a rewarding read and certainly a worthy way to procrastinate on your next run....

    Check out this item

  • FRBR, before and after : a look at our bibliographic models by Coyle, Karen,
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jun 22, 2018

    Tagged: Library Science

    This looks to be a great technical/philosophical/historical guide to the reasoning behind bibliographic models. Recommended reading for future Librarians, coders, or aquisitions clerks.

    Check out this item