Reviews

Want to know what our librarians and staff are reading? Browse through a variety of reviews added to our catalog from a variety of genres.

Showing 1 to 20 of 2,756

Filter

  • Summer of a thousand pies by Dilloway, Margaret.

    Reviewed by Marianne B on Jan 22, 2021

    Tagged: Children Family Fiction

    After her alcoholic father goes to jail, 12-yr-old Cady Bennett must leave foster care in San Diego to live with an estranged aunt in the obscure mountain town of Julian. Cady doesn't know the particulars of the family's estrangement (she finds out later), nor does she know how to respond to Aunt Michelle and her partner, Suzanne, who give her the stability, a pretty room (her mother's), love, and a wholesome natural environment which she has never experienced. Cady gradually unwinds, learns to trust, make friends, heal her emotional scars, and save her Aunt's failing pie business. A fan of baking shows, Cady wants to learn how to bake. Aunt Shell's unfailing patience and discipline in teaching Cady how to bake, tempered by Suzanne's sweet indulgence, transform a damaged recalcitrant pre-teen into a lovable and responsible girl. Cady marshals the help of the townspeople to save Aunt Shell's business by developing her own pie recipes to add to the shop's menu. Wonderful book, true to life characters. Latino interest. Illegal aliens, undocumented workers. Great recipes for pies, Lady Baltimore Cake, Tres Leches Cake, icing ,and gluten free crust included. Attractive cover. Must read! Double-thumbs up! Gr. 5 and up. Marianne Bucci, Head, Children's Dept., NER

    Check out this item

  • No good deed

    Reviewed by Joyce L on Jan 22, 2021

    Tagged: African American Movies & Television

     

    Drama. Suspenseful. Thriller. Violent. Crime.

    The movie is full of tension from the very beginning.  The actors are strong and convincing. Idris Elba and Taraji P. Henson worked well together.  Elba looked the part of a bad guy. He was very effective (simply evil). Taraji never have a problem with keeping up with any of her leading men  She is always quick and on point with her responses( but a little too naive in this film). This movie will keep you on the edge of your seat. If you like fast-paced suspense this movie is for you.  I enjoyed this movie.

    Check out this item

  • Matilda
    ★★★★☆

    Reviewed by Donna P on Jan 20, 2021

    Tagged: Movies & Television

    Watched the Matilda with my grandson. Forgot how much I enjoyed this movie. A story of a gifted girl who has a special power. She uses her power for good. Nice family movie.

    Check out this item

  • The strangers by Haddix, Margaret Peterson.
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Megan M on Jan 19, 2021

    Tagged: Children Family Fiction

    This review contains spoilers! Click to reveal...

    Check out this item

  • The miseducation of Lauryn Hill. by Hill, Lauryn.
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jan 14, 2021

    Tagged: African American Music

    Best Album ever. People moved to Philly over this album. Or at least I did.

    Check out this item

  • Once again by Legend, John.
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jan 14, 2021

    Tagged: African American Music

    Great Vocals and Piano.

    Check out this item

  • MJ : the genius of Michael Jackson by Knopper, Steve,
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jan 14, 2021

    Tagged: African American Music

    M.J. Biography.

    Check out this item

  • My name is my name by Pusha T.
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jan 14, 2021

    Tagged: Music

    Great Album

    Check out this item

  • King push : darkest before dawn : the prelude
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jan 14, 2021

    Tagged: African American Music

    No doves were harmed in the recording of this album.

    Check out this item

  • Raising Cubby a father and son's adventures with Asperger's, trains, tractors, and high explosives by Robison, John Elder.
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jan 14, 2021

    Tagged: Psychology

    Great book from John Elder Robison on the raising of his son. When you have children it changes you. We will find out how Cubby feels about his spot in the limelight later.

    Check out this item

  • Be different : my adventures with Asperger's and my advice for fellow Aspergians, misfits, families, and teachers by Robison, John Elder.
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jan 14, 2021

    Tagged: Psychology

    If you are living an alternate lifestyle due to sensory processing abnormalities than John Elder Robison is here to sooth your next three hours with his prose.

    Check out this item

  • Look me in the eye my life with Asperger's by Robison, John Elder.
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jan 14, 2021

    Tagged: Psychology

    John Elder Robison is the best.

    Check out this item

  • The truth about love tour [live from Melbourne]
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jan 14, 2021

    Tagged: Music

    Love P!nk.

    Check out this item

  • Chess openings for dummies by Eade, James.
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jan 14, 2021

    Tagged: Games and Gaming

    It's never too late to improve your chess game. There are apps nowadays but you are probably sick of screens so voila.

    Check out this item

  • Still so excited! : my life as a Pointer Sister by Pointer, Ruth,
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jan 14, 2021

    Tagged: African American Music

    Memoir on the Pointer Sisters.

    Check out this item

  • Hood feminism notes from the women that a movement forgot by Kendall, Mikki,
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jan 14, 2021

    Tagged: Literature

    So glad this is available free on overdrive! Highly recommended.

    Check out this item

  • Exit west a novel by Hamid, Mohsin,
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jan 14, 2021

    Tagged: ebooks

    Here is an ebook you will finish all the way.

    Check out this item

  • Raw : my journey into the Wu-Tang by U-God,
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jan 14, 2021

    Tagged: African American Music

    Cool Lamont Hawkins story.

    Check out this item

  • The very best of Wu-Tang Clan
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jan 14, 2021

    Tagged: African American Music

    Not exactly the Drake Album you were looking for but who can go wrong with the Wu-Tang Clan.

    Check out this item

  • Thug kitchen eat like you give a f*ck. by Kitchen, Thug.
    ★★★★★

    Reviewed by Ellen A on Jan 14, 2021

    Tagged: Cooking and Nutrition

    This is the original available as an ebook. 

    Check out this item