Databases

Use our subscription databases to find citations and full text articles. To get started, just click on the database that you would like to search. If you're outside the library, you may need to enter your library card number and PIN in order to access the database.

• Digital Media
• Digital Learning
• Free Library Catalog

Awarded “Best Library Digital Resources” by Philadelphia Magazine

• Access World News

  Explore events and issues at the local, national, and international levels from over 9,000 news sources. Includes the Philadelphia Tribune, Philadelphia Magazine, and 30 other Philadelphia-area news sources. *Chrome browser not supported.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Genealogy
  • Homework Help and Study Aids
  • Newspapers Magazines and Journals
  • Adults
  • Teens

• America's Historical Newspapers (formerly Early American Newspapers, Series I 1690-1876)

  Search early American newspapers from all 50 states published across three centuries. Find cover-to-cover reproductions of over 750 fully searchable newspapers from 1690 to the recent past. *Chrome browser not supported.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Genealogy
  • Newspapers Magazines and Journals
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • History

• America's Obituaries & Death Notices - Heritage Hub

  A collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices from around the country.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Genealogy
  • Newspapers Magazines and Journals
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • History

• Ancestry Library Edition

  Provides the most genealogical information currently available online.

  Available To: Onsite at all Free Library of Philadelphia locations

  • Genealogy
  • Adults
  • History

• Evening Public Ledger

  Find full text access to back issues of this popular daily paper from 9/14/1914 and 12/31/1922 online here. Visit the Newspaper Department at Parkway Central for microfilm access to additional years (9/14/1914 - 1/5/1942).

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Genealogy
  • Newspapers Magazines and Journals
  • Philadelphia History
  • Adults

• HeritageQuest Online

  Expanding collection of research materials to help you trace your family lineage.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Genealogy
  • Adults
  • History

• NewsBank Main Menu

  The main portal to Newsbank Inc.'s databases, providing international, national, local, and historical news coverage.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Genealogy
  • Newspapers Magazines and Journals
  • General Research
  • Adults
  • Teens

• Newsbank Selected America's Historical Newspapers

  Articles from selected American newspapers covering many topics from 1690-1922.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Genealogy
  • Newspapers Magazines and Journals
  • Social Science
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • History

• NewspaperArchive

  Historic coverage of 15,600+ newspaper and publication images from the U.S. and around the world starting from 1607 to the present, fully searchable by keyword or date.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Genealogy
  • Newspapers Magazines and Journals
  • Adults

• Philadelphia Inquirer Historical Archive (formerly Civil War Archive)

  Full text of the Philadelphia Inquirer from 1829-1922. *Chrome browser not supported.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Genealogy
  • Newspapers Magazines and Journals
  • Philadelphia History
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • History

denotes POWER Library resource

This project is made possible in part by Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) funds from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services and through Library Access Funds administered by the Office of Commonwealth Libraries, Department of Education, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Tom Wolf, Governor.