Databases
Use our subscription databases to find citations and full text articles. To get started, just click on the database that you would like to search. If you're outside the library, you may need to enter your library card number and PIN in order to access the database.
Filters
-
Academic OneFile
Find peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals in the areas of the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, literature, and more. More than 20,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 10,900 in full text.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Academic Search Main Edition
Provides full-text and peer-reviewed journals essential for undergraduate & graduate studies. Subjects include biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, & religion from over 1,800 full-text and more than 1,200 full-text peer-reviewed journals.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Access World News
Explore events and issues at the local, national, and international levels from over 9,000 news sources. Includes the Philadelphia Tribune, Philadelphia Magazine, and 30 other Philadelphia-area news sources. *Chrome browser not supported.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
AP Images (formerly AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive)
Current photos & a selection of pictures/images from the 50 million print & negative library of photographs at the Associated Press. Search for a picture/image of your favorite celebrity.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos
Es la mejor herramienta de referencia en español para niños. Spanish-language tool for those learning Spanish and ELL students. Spanish and English text. Includes concise articles, videos, maps and activities more. (Recommended grades K+)Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Explore over 1,200 nonfiction, fully searchable reference titles. Access accurate information on science, literature, history, business, and more.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Gale in Context | Elementary (formerly Kids InfoBits)
Students in K-5th grade will find kid-friendly content covering topics such as animals, arts, geography, health, literature, people, social studies, technology, and more! Includes more than 16,600 images and over 600 high-quality educational videos.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Gale in Context | Middle School (formerly Research in Context)
Gale in Context | Middle School provides support for middle grade students working on papers and projects. Includes full-text magazine & news articles, multimedia, biographies, and primary sources.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Gale In Context: High School
Primary documents, biographies, topical essays, background information, critical analyses, full-text coverage of 800 magazines, photographs and illustrations, audio and video clipsAvailable To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Examine the many sides of today's hottest social issues. Explore pro/con viewpoints, articles, and infographics.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Gale OneFile | High School Edition (formerly InfoTrac Student Edition)
Content for high school students from magazines, journals, newspapers, reference books, and rich media (images, audio, video) covering a range of subjects, from science, history, and literature to political science, sports, and environmental studies.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Homework Help Online
Live, online tutoring every day in English or Spanish from 9 a.m. - midnight for K-12, college, and adults. Upload a writing sample or math problem and get feedback. Mobile app available: Tutor.com To Go. Create an online account for full app access.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Kids from World Book Online
Ideal learning resource for elementary-aged students and up. Easy-to-read articles, engaging games, science projects, and activities. Additional teaching tools for educators and parents make this a complete solution for elementary-aged students.Available To:
-
LearningExpress Library
Practice tests and test preparation study materials for academic and professional tests, including the SAT and GRE. Mobile app available: EBSCO LearningExpress. Create an online account for full app access.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
LearningExpress Library - Career Center
This LearningExpressLibrary module offers sections on business writing, the job search, skills for success and skills for successful interviews.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
LearningExpress Library - Recursos para Hispanohablantes
Recurso para el desarrollo académico y profesional ofrece el desarrollo de habilidades en matemáticas, ciencias y lectura/escritura para los alumnos de la escuela de edad y adultos, así como pruebas de la práctica para el nuevo GED, SAT, NCLEX-RN, y mas.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
NewsBank Hot Topics
Trending news and topics for your next assignment! Covers current events, business & economics, civics, government, & politics, social issues, science, technology & health, sports, arts & literature, and people in the news. *Chrome browser not supported.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Student from World Book Online
(Recommended grades 5+) This trusted online encyclopedia contains a Biography Center, current events, research guides, Citation Builder, games, and integrations with Google Classroom and Microsoft OneDrive.Available To:
-
Timelines from World Book Online
Timelines offers hundreds of timelines across eight broad topics, which cover various time periods in history or span the life of historical public figures. Users can also create their own timelines from scratch. (Recommended grades 5+)Available To:
-
TrueFlix
Read the book and watch the movie! TrueFlix provides a selection of digital books from Scholastic Publishing and pairs each with a film for a fun, new way to learn for Grade 3 and up.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
TumbleBooks
TumbleBooks is an online collection of animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading. Check out our home user guide. Mobile App: use your library card and PIN.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
World Book Online
Popular online encyclopedia for children and teens, including Spanish language content.Available To: All Free Library locations and internet with authentication.
denotes
POWER Library
resource
This project is made possible in part by Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) funds from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services and through Library Access Funds administered by the Office of Commonwealth Libraries, Department of Education, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Tom Wolf, Governor.