Databases

Use our subscription databases to find citations and full text articles. To get started, just click on the database that you would like to search. If you're outside the library, you may need to enter your library card number and PIN in order to access the database.

• Digital Media
• Digital Learning
• Free Library Catalog

Awarded “Best Library Digital Resources” by Philadelphia Magazine

• Academic OneFile

  Find peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals in the areas of the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, literature, and more. More than 20,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 10,900 in full text.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Art
  • Homework Help and Study Aids
  • Literature
  • Medical
  • Newspapers Magazines and Journals
  • General Research
  • Science
  • Social Science
  • Technology
  • Adults
  • Teens

• Gale in Context | Elementary (formerly Kids InfoBits)

  Students in K-5th grade will find kid-friendly content covering topics such as animals, arts, geography, health, literature, people, social studies, technology, and more! Includes more than 16,600 images and over 600 high-quality educational videos.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Biography and Autobiography
  • Health and Fitness
  • Homework Help and Study Aids
  • Literature
  • Movies and Television
  • Music
  • Newspapers Magazines and Journals
  • General Research
  • Social Science
  • Sports and Recreation
  • Technology
  • Children
  • Animals and Nature

• Gale in Context | Middle School (formerly Research in Context)

  Gale in Context | Middle School provides support for middle grade students working on papers and projects. Includes full-text magazine & news articles, multimedia, biographies, and primary sources.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Biography and Autobiography
  • Government Information
  • Homework Help and Study Aids
  • Literature
  • Newspapers Magazines and Journals
  • General Research
  • Science
  • Social Science
  • Teens
  • Children
  • History

• Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints

  Examine the many sides of today's hottest social issues. Explore pro/con viewpoints, articles, and infographics.
  Use the following video to learn more about this resource

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Homework Help and Study Aids
  • Newspapers Magazines and Journals
  • General Research
  • Social Science
  • Teens
  • Adults
  • Teens

• Newsbank Selected America's Historical Newspapers

  Articles from selected American newspapers covering many topics from 1690-1922.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Genealogy
  • Newspapers Magazines and Journals
  • Social Science
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • History

• Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

  The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is an authoritative, comprehensive Web-based reference work about philosophy, useful to scholars of all levels as well as the general public.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Social Science
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • Humanities

denotes POWER Library resource

This project is made possible in part by Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) funds from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services and through Library Access Funds administered by the Office of Commonwealth Libraries, Department of Education, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Tom Wolf, Governor.