Databases

Use our subscription databases to find citations and full text articles. To get started, just click on the database that you would like to search. If you're outside the library, you may need to enter your library card number and PIN in order to access the database.

• Digital Media
• Digital Learning
• Free Library Catalog

Awarded “Best Library Digital Resources” by Philadelphia Magazine

• Free Library of Philadelphia Podcasts

  The Free Library Podcast is an easy way to participate in the author events and lectures that take place at the Central Library. Visit Author Events for upcoming events and information.

  Available To: Unrestricted, free web resource

  • Author Events
  • Literature
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • Digital Media
  • Humanities

• Gale Literary Sources (formerly Artemis)

  Cross-search all of Gale’s literature databases from a single digital space. Includes Dictionary of Literary Biography, Something About the Author, LitFinder, Literature Criticism Online, and Literature Resource Center.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Biography and Autobiography
  • Literature
  • Poetry
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • Humanities

• Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

  The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is an authoritative, comprehensive Web-based reference work about philosophy, useful to scholars of all levels as well as the general public.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Social Science
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • Humanities

denotes POWER Library resource

This project is made possible in part by Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) funds from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services and through Library Access Funds administered by the Office of Commonwealth Libraries, Department of Education, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Tom Wolf, Governor.