Databases
Use our subscription databases to find citations and full text articles. To get started, just click on the database that you would like to search. If you're outside the library, you may need to enter your library card number and PIN in order to access the database.
Filters
-
Academic OneFile
Find peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals in the areas of the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, literature, and more. More than 20,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 10,900 in full text.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Access Video On Demand: Just for Kids
Over 12,000 ad-free entertaining and educational videos, games, songs, and interactives like Sesame Street, Electric Factory, Reading Rainbow, Baby Einstein and more.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Access Video on Demand: Master Collection
Over 44,000 unlimited films, documentaries, and how-to-videos. Enjoy titles from Ken Burns, BBC, PBS, HBO and Rick Steves. Note: Unable to filter content for Children's Restricted Cards.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
America's Historical Imprints
Explore centuries of history through books, pamphlets, & other material on culture and daily life. Includes: American Broadsides and Ephemera and Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans & Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker. *Chrome browser not supported.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Contemporary Authors
A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures. Includes more than 16,000 articles and thousands of images.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Free Library of Philadelphia Podcasts
The Free Library Podcast is an easy way to participate in the author events and lectures that take place at the Central Library. Visit Author Events for upcoming events and information.Available To: Unrestricted, free web resource
-
Gale in Context | Elementary (formerly Kids InfoBits)
Students in K-5th grade will find kid-friendly content covering topics such as animals, arts, geography, health, literature, people, social studies, technology, and more! Includes more than 16,600 images and over 600 high-quality educational videos.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Gale in Context | Middle School (formerly Research in Context)
Gale in Context | Middle School provides support for middle grade students working on papers and projects. Includes full-text magazine & news articles, multimedia, biographies, and primary sources.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Gale Literary Sources (formerly Artemis)
Cross-search all of Gale’s literature databases from a single digital space. Includes Dictionary of Literary Biography, Something About the Author, LitFinder, Literature Criticism Online, and Literature Resource Center.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Gale Literature Resource Center
Access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary disciplineAvailable To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Gale OneFile | High School Edition (formerly InfoTrac Student Edition)
Content for high school students from magazines, journals, newspapers, reference books, and rich media (images, audio, video) covering a range of subjects, from science, history, and literature to political science, sports, and environmental studies.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Literature Criticism Online
This extensive compilation of literary commentary represents a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras, and genres. Covers Children’s, Classical, Contemporary, Drama, Poetry, Shakespearean, and more.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
LitFinder
Find the sonnets of Shakespeare, the poetry of Angelou, presidential speeches, and short stories by Poe. Discover full-text literature from more than 150,000 poems, 7,100 short stories & novels, 3,800 essays, 2,400 speeches, and 1,250 plays.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
NewsBank Hot Topics
Trending news and topics for your next assignment! Covers current events, business & economics, civics, government, & politics, social issues, science, technology & health, sports, arts & literature, and people in the news. *Chrome browser not supported.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
PressReader including the Economist Magazine
Read or listen to 6,300+ newspapers from the U.S. and around the world in digital format in 60 languages from 120 countries. Translate into 20 languages. Borrow the Economist for 7 day periods. Mobile app available: use library card & PIN.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Salem Press Reference
Searchable database of reference titles developed by Salem PressAvailable To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Something About the Author
Something About the Author examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on literature for young people. Includes over 12,000 entries and nearly 17,000 images.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
World Cinema Collection
Over 1,000 classic and contemporary films from the U.S and around the world. There are even silent films to enjoy! Note: World Cinema Collection is unable to filter for Children's Restricted Cards.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
denotes
POWER Library
resource
This project is made possible in part by Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) funds from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services and through Library Access Funds administered by the Office of Commonwealth Libraries, Department of Education, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Tom Wolf, Governor.