Databases

Use our subscription databases to find citations and full text articles. To get started, just click on the database that you would like to search. If you're outside the library, you may need to enter your library card number and PIN in order to access the database.

• Digital Media
• Digital Learning
• Free Library Catalog

Awarded “Best Library Digital Resources” by Philadelphia Magazine

• BookFlix

  A digital literacy resource, for grades preK-3, that pairs animated fiction stories with nonfiction ebooks to build a love of reading. Includes lesson plans for teachers and tips for caregivers

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Children
  • Ebooks
  • Literacy
  • Children
  • Digital Media

• eBooks from Overdrive

  Available in a variety of formats, here you will find the Library's Overdrive ebook collection. Get the Libby app to borrow on the go; enter your library card and PIN.
  Use the following video to learn more about this resource

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Ebooks
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • Digital Media

• eBooks on EBSCOhost (formerly NetLibrary)

  Approximately 20,000 electronic books in all subject areas from careers to classics to Cliffs Notes. Mobile app available: create an online account for full access.
  Use the following video to learn more about this resource

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Ebooks
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • Digital Media

• Freading

  Over 200,000 downloadable ebooks for Free Library of Philadelphia library card holders. Mobile app available: use library card and PIN.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Ebooks
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • Digital Media

• Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library)

  Explore over 1,200 nonfiction, fully searchable reference titles. Access accurate information on science, literature, history, business, and more.
  Use the following video to learn more about this resource

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Ebooks
  • Homework Help and Study Aids
  • Music
  • General Research
  • Business and Entrepreneurs
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • Children
  • Digital Media

• Overdrive Kid's eReading Room

  Download ebooks and audiobooks for readers ages 0-12. Get the Libby app to borrow on the go.
  Use the following video to learn more about this resource

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Audiobooks
  • Children
  • Ebooks
  • Literacy
  • Children
  • Digital Media

• OverDrive Sala de Lectura Electrónica en Español

  Descargue libros electrónicos y audiolibros en español para niños, adolescentes, y adultos. (Download ebooks and audiobooks in Spanish for kids, teens, and adults.)

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Audiobooks
  • Ebooks
  • Language Study
  • Literacy
  • New Americans
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • Children
  • New Americans
  • Digital Media

• Overdrive World Languages eReading Room

  Download ebooks and audiobooks in Spanish, Chinese, Vietnamese, Russian, French, and other languages. Get the Libby app to borrow on the go.
  Use the following video to learn more about this resource

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Audiobooks
  • Ebooks
  • Language Study
  • Literacy
  • New Americans
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • Children
  • New Americans
  • Digital Media

• TrueFlix

  Read the book and watch the movie! TrueFlix provides a selection of digital books from Scholastic Publishing and pairs each with a film for a fun, new way to learn for Grade 3 and up.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Children
  • Ebooks
  • Homework Help and Study Aids
  • Literacy
  • General Research
  • Children

• TumbleBooks

  TumbleBooks is an online collection of animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading. Check out our home user guide. Mobile App: use your library card and PIN.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Children
  • Ebooks
  • Homework Help and Study Aids
  • Literacy
  • Children
  • Digital Media

denotes POWER Library resource

This project is made possible in part by Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) funds from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services and through Library Access Funds administered by the Office of Commonwealth Libraries, Department of Education, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Tom Wolf, Governor.