Databases
Use our subscription databases to find citations and full text articles. To get started, just click on the database that you would like to search. If you're outside the library, you may need to enter your library card number and PIN in order to access the database.
Filters
-
American Song
Listen to over 50,000 recordings from America's past; songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys; songs of Civil Rights, Prohibition, the Civil War, and more.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Classical Music Library
A comprehensive database of distinguished classical recordings offered in streaming format. The Classical Music Library also includes anthology playlists linked to the major music history and appreciation textbooks.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Contemporary World Music
This resource includes contemporary and traditional world music including tracks of reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Explore over 1,200 nonfiction, fully searchable reference titles. Access accurate information on science, literature, history, business, and more.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Gale in Context | Elementary (formerly Kids InfoBits)
Students in K-5th grade will find kid-friendly content covering topics such as animals, arts, geography, health, literature, people, social studies, technology, and more! Includes more than 16,600 images and over 600 high-quality educational videos.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Jazz Music Library
Jazz Music Library will be the largest and most comprehensive collection of jazz available online.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com)
Learn business, creative, and technology skills to achieve your personal and professional goals.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Music Online
Find and listen to music from a variety of genresAvailable To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Oxford Music Online (Includes Grove Music Online)
CURRENTLY AVAILABLE AT PARKWAY CENTRAL ONLY. The world's premier authority on all aspects of music.(Formerly Grove Music Online, New Grove Dictionary of Music, and Musicians Online)Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Popular Music Library
Find a wide range of popular music from around the world, including pop music, alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and more.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
-
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
With an extraordinary array of more than 35,000 individual tracks of streaming music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds, users can listen to performances by American folk icons such as Woody Guthrie, Lead Belly, Pete Seeger and many more.Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.
denotes
POWER Library
resource
This project is made possible in part by Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) funds from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services and through Library Access Funds administered by the Office of Commonwealth Libraries, Department of Education, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Tom Wolf, Governor.