Databases

Use our subscription databases to find citations and full text articles. To get started, just click on the database that you would like to search. If you're outside the library, you may need to enter your library card number and PIN in order to access the database.

• Digital Media
• Digital Learning
• Free Library Catalog

Awarded “Best Library Digital Resources” by Philadelphia Magazine

• Archive-It

  Archive-It is a web archiving service that collects and stores the websites of Philadelphia government agencies and selected cultural institutions. You can search or browse the collection to view these sites as they existed in months or years past.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Computers
  • Government Information
  • Philadelphia
  • Adults
  • Teens

• Gale in Context | Middle School (formerly Research in Context)

  Gale in Context | Middle School provides support for middle grade students working on papers and projects. Includes full-text magazine & news articles, multimedia, biographies, and primary sources.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Biography and Autobiography
  • Government Information
  • Homework Help and Study Aids
  • Literature
  • Newspapers Magazines and Journals
  • General Research
  • Science
  • Social Science
  • Teens
  • Children
  • History

• Gun Regulation and Legislation in America

  This HeinOnline collection brings together more than 550 periodicals, legislative histories, and government documents on gun regulation. It includes an extensive bibliography and a balanced selection of external resources for further research.

  Available To: All Free Library locations.

  • Government Information
  • Law
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • History

• HealthCare.Gov

  Official guide to the health care, health insurance and the Affordable Care Act

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Government Information
  • Health and Fitness
  • Medical
  • Adults

• Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture, and Law

  This HeinOnline collection brings together essential legal materials on slavery in the U.S. and the English-speaking world. It includes nearly 2,000 titles with every statute and case on slavery, and hundreds of historic texts and modern histories.

  Available To: All Free Library locations.

  • African American
  • Business and Economics
  • Government Information
  • Law
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • History

• U.S. Citizenship Test Prep

  Find information about the U.S. Citizenship test as well as study materials and practice tests.

  Available To: Unrestricted, free web resource

  • Citizenship
  • Government Information
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • New Americans

• U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980)

  The bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives constitutes a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history. *Chrome browser not supported.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Government Information
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • History

• U.S. Declassified Documents Online Subscription

  Declassified U.S. Government documents.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Government Information
  • Adults

denotes POWER Library resource

This project is made possible in part by Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) funds from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services and through Library Access Funds administered by the Office of Commonwealth Libraries, Department of Education, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Tom Wolf, Governor.