Databases

Use our subscription databases to find citations and full text articles. To get started, just click on the database that you would like to search. If you're outside the library, you may need to enter your library card number and PIN in order to access the database.

• Digital Media
• Digital Learning
• Free Library Catalog

Awarded “Best Library Digital Resources” by Philadelphia Magazine

• Career Cruising

  Explore careers, discover your dream job, polish your skills and more

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Education
  • Job Seekers
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • Job Seekers

• Career Training Database

  This database contains information on more than 200 training programs in Philadelphia with a messaging function to connect users with the providers.

  Available To:

  • Databases and Electronic Resources
  • Education
  • Job Seekers
  • Adults
  • Job Seekers

• ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center)

  Index to education related materials

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Education
  • Adults
  • Teens

• Kids from World Book Online

  Ideal learning resource for elementary-aged students and up. Easy-to-read articles, engaging games, science projects, and activities. Additional teaching tools for educators and parents make this a complete solution for elementary-aged students.

  Available To:

  • Biography and Autobiography
  • Education
  • Homework Help and Study Aids
  • Literacy
  • Online Learning
  • Teens
  • Children
  • Digital Media

• Student from World Book Online

  (Recommended grades 5+) This trusted online encyclopedia contains a Biography Center, current events, research guides, Citation Builder, games, and integrations with Google Classroom and Microsoft OneDrive.

  Available To:

  • Biography and Autobiography
  • Education
  • Homework Help and Study Aids
  • Online Learning
  • Teens
  • Children
  • Digital Media

• Timelines from World Book Online

  Timelines offers hundreds of timelines across eight broad topics, which cover various time periods in history or span the life of historical public figures. Users can also create their own timelines from scratch. (Recommended grades 5+)

  Available To:

  • Biography and Autobiography
  • Education
  • Homework Help and Study Aids
  • Online Learning
  • Teens
  • Children
  • Digital Media
  • History

• World Book Online

  Popular online encyclopedia for children and teens, including Spanish language content.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and internet with authentication.

  • Biography and Autobiography
  • Education
  • Homework Help and Study Aids
  • Literacy
  • Online Learning
  • Teens
  • Children
  • Digital Media

denotes POWER Library resource

This project is made possible in part by Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) funds from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services and through Library Access Funds administered by the Office of Commonwealth Libraries, Department of Education, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Tom Wolf, Governor.