Databases

Use our subscription databases to find citations and full text articles. To get started, just click on the database that you would like to search. If you're outside the library, you may need to enter your library card number and PIN in order to access the database.

• Digital Media
• Digital Learning
• Free Library Catalog

Awarded “Best Library Digital Resources” by Philadelphia Magazine

• Access Video On Demand: Just for Kids

  Over 12,000 ad-free entertaining and educational videos, games, songs, and interactives like Sesame Street, Electric Factory, Reading Rainbow, Baby Einstein and more.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Literature
  • Movies and Television
  • Children
  • Digital Media

• Access Video on Demand: Master Collection

  Over 44,000 unlimited films, documentaries, and how-to-videos. Enjoy titles from Ken Burns, BBC, PBS, HBO and Rick Steves. Note: Unable to filter content for Children's Restricted Cards.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Literature
  • Movies and Television
  • Adults
  • Digital Media

• Gale in Context | Elementary (formerly Kids InfoBits)

  Students in K-5th grade will find kid-friendly content covering topics such as animals, arts, geography, health, literature, people, social studies, technology, and more! Includes more than 16,600 images and over 600 high-quality educational videos.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Biography and Autobiography
  • Health and Fitness
  • Homework Help and Study Aids
  • Literature
  • Movies and Television
  • Music
  • Newspapers Magazines and Journals
  • General Research
  • Social Science
  • Sports and Recreation
  • Technology
  • Children
  • Animals and Nature

• Input

  Input was a local Philadelphia panel discussion program, airing Sunday mornings from 1968 through early 1971

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Movies and Television
  • Philadelphia History
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • Digital Media

• Kanopy

  Acclaimed movies, documentaries and kids films. Note: Kanopy is unable to filter for Children's Restricted Cards. Mobile app available: create an account for best results.

  Available To: Free Library card holders

  • Movies and Television
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • Children
  • Digital Media

• World Cinema Collection

  Over 1,000 classic and contemporary films from the U.S and around the world. There are even silent films to enjoy! Note: World Cinema Collection is unable to filter for Children's Restricted Cards.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Literature
  • Movies and Television
  • Adults
  • Digital Media

denotes POWER Library resource

This project is made possible in part by Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) funds from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services and through Library Access Funds administered by the Office of Commonwealth Libraries, Department of Education, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Tom Wolf, Governor.