Databases

Use our subscription databases to find citations and full text articles. To get started, just click on the database that you would like to search. If you're outside the library, you may need to enter your library card number and PIN in order to access the database.

• Digital Media
• Digital Learning
• Free Library Catalog

Awarded “Best Library Digital Resources” by Philadelphia Magazine

• Academic OneFile

  Find peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals in the areas of the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, literature, and more. More than 20,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 10,900 in full text.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Art
  • Homework Help and Study Aids
  • Literature
  • Medical
  • Newspapers Magazines and Journals
  • General Research
  • Science
  • Social Science
  • Technology
  • Adults
  • Teens

• Gale in Context | Elementary (formerly Kids InfoBits)

  Students in K-5th grade will find kid-friendly content covering topics such as animals, arts, geography, health, literature, people, social studies, technology, and more! Includes more than 16,600 images and over 600 high-quality educational videos.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Biography and Autobiography
  • Health and Fitness
  • Homework Help and Study Aids
  • Literature
  • Movies and Television
  • Music
  • Newspapers Magazines and Journals
  • General Research
  • Social Science
  • Sports and Recreation
  • Technology
  • Children
  • Animals and Nature

• GCF LearnFree

  Easy-to-follow tutorials on Microsoft Excel, Word, and Office, as well as Internet Basics, social media, and more. GCF LearnFree also offers free tutorials in math and reading.

  Available To: Unrestricted, free web resources.

  • Computers
  • Online Learning
  • Technology
  • Adults
  • Teens

• Generations on Line

  Easy-to-use web-based software designed to enable senior citizens to use the Internet.

  Available To: All Free Library locations.

  • Technology
  • Adults

• Generations on Line (en Español)

  Este programa electrónico en español, basado en la Red Mundial Electrónica, es fácil de manejar y tiene como propósito ayudar a personas de la tercera edad para que puedan aprovecharse de la Internet.
  Spanish version of Generations on Line.

  Available To: All Free Library locations.

  • Technology
  • Adults
  • New Americans

• Generations on Line Tablet Help

  This innovative resource will help seniors and others become acquainted with touch pad technology (for Apple iPad tablets only)

  Available To: All Free Library locations.

  • Technology
  • Adults

• Internet Skills for Jobseekers from Generations on Line

  A straightforward introduction to job hunting online. Great for those who are new to the Internet.

  Available To: All Free Library locations.

  • Technology
  • Adults
  • Job Seekers

• LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com)

  THIS RESOURCE IS TEMPORARILY UNAVAILABLE. Learn business, creative, and technology skills to achieve your personal and professional goals.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Job Seekers
  • Music
  • Online Learning
  • Personal Finance and Investing
  • Business and Entrepreneurs
  • Technology
  • Adults
  • Teens
  • Job Seekers

• NewsBank Hot Topics

  Trending news and topics for your next assignment! Covers current events, business & economics, civics, government, & politics, social issues, science, technology & health, sports, arts & literature, and people in the news. *Chrome browser not supported.

  Available To: All Free Library locations and online with your library card.

  • Art
  • Business and Economics
  • Health and Fitness
  • Homework Help and Study Aids
  • Literature
  • Newspapers Magazines and Journals
  • Politics
  • General Research
  • Sports and Recreation
  • Technology
  • Adults
  • Teens

denotes POWER Library resource

This project is made possible in part by Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) funds from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services and through Library Access Funds administered by the Office of Commonwealth Libraries, Department of Education, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Tom Wolf, Governor.