Posts in “databases” (151)
Blog Articles
UPDATE - 8/12/2015 - The Free Library no longer offers Treehouse to our card holders. This change went into effect in December 2014 . We apologize for any confusion. One newest… continue reading FLP Now Offering Online Technology Education with Treehouse
By written by Jamie W. February 21, 2014 7
You'll find some new features at www.freelibrary.org today! We're pleased to introduce our new Digital Learning Portal . We've also redesigned our Download Media page to make it… continue reading Introducing Our New Digital Learning Portal and Redesigned Digital Media Page
By written by Jamie W. January 28, 2014
The latest version of one of our most popular and useful online resources is here. LearningExpress Library 3.0 supports academic and career development as well as lifelong learning through… continue reading Introducing LearningExpress Library 3.0
By written by Jamie W. January 14, 2014 6
If you are looking to get ahead at work or at school, interested in learning something new or brushing up on your existing skills, the Free Library is pleased to offer you access to Universal… continue reading Take Online Classes Through the Free Library with Universal Class
By written by Jamie W. December 23, 2013 112
With Zinio the Free Library is pleased to offer you free access to current issues of popular magazines to read on your tablet, smartphone, or computer. Your SEPTA ride to work just got so much… continue reading Download Digital Magazines with Zinio and the Free Library!
By written by Jamie W. December 20, 2013 24
With luck, the government shutdown will be a thing of the past very soon, but until then, remember that you can rely on the Free Library for many of your information needs. For… continue reading Online Census Data during the Government Shutdown
By written by Jamie W. October 15, 2013
With the fall season upon us, students, their teachers, and their principals have recently returned to school. In the School District of Philadelphia, each of those groups face immense… continue reading What students (and often their teachers and their principals) don’t know about research and an enriching liberal education
By written by Adam F. September 18, 2013 1
Over the summer we blogged about a number of changes coming to our electronic resources and databases . The last of those changes has finally gone into effect. The Free Library will no long… continue reading UPDATE - Changes to Our Electronic Resources and Databases
By written by Jamie W. September 12, 2013
Last month we blogged about changes coming to our electronic resources and databases . A few of those changes will take effect this week. First of all though, we are happy to report… continue reading UPDATE - Changes Coming to Our Electronic Resources and Databases
By written by Jamie W. June 28, 2013
We've all been there: One chapter from the end of a great book, and the pile of on-deck reads atop the bedside table looking awfully slim. The anxiety of not having something to read starts to… continue reading Attention Readers: Your New Favorite Book Is Here
By written by Jamie W. June 24, 2013 1
Our streaming Music Online collections, powered by Alexander Street Press, have recently added tons of great new content. You'll find these collections listed on both our Digital… continue reading Tons of New Music Added to FLP's Streaming Music Collections
By written by Jamie W. June 11, 2013 1
Many of our ebook readers have already discovered Freading. It's a great alternative to our Overdrive collection with a wide selection of titles from a growing list of publishers. Freading… continue reading Now Get Even More from Freading!
By written by Jamie W. June 7, 2013 1
Google recently announced updates to their Maps API script, with more updates planned this summer for their overall Maps platform. The Free Library uses this API to display Google Maps in various… continue reading Free Library Google Maps Upgrade and New Features
By written by Peter SM May 21, 2013
In our continual effort to better serve you, a team of librarians has recently taken a fresh look at our many electronic resources and databases, and has recommended some changes. Public… continue reading Changes Coming to Our Electronic Resources and Databases
By written by Jamie W. May 15, 2013 32
This is a great time for music lovers. Not so long ago, we had relatively few choices when it came to how we heard our music. We could buy it, which is ideal if you’re sure you’re… continue reading Music Everywhere
By written by Jamie W. May 15, 2013 17
Another resource and ally in the Open Data movement (as I've written about in previous blog posts ) has popped up online as of last week: CultureBlocks.com . CultureBlocks is a free web-based… continue reading Arts, Culture, and Creativity Mapped Out on CultureBlocks
By written by Peter SM May 8, 2013
We are excited to present VuFind , the newest version of our online catalog , starting on Wednesday, February 20th! We've been running VuFind in beta since early last year, so some of you may… continue reading VuFind, the Library's New Online Catalog!
By written by Peter SM February 15, 2013 14
The 55th annual Grammy awards were held this week in Los Angeles and the world was invited to sit on its collective couch and watch. Did the Grammys reaffirm your faith in pop music? Or like many… continue reading Grab a Grammy Winner with Freegal!
By written by Jamie W. February 12, 2013
Tax season is here, and as usual Philadelphians are flocking to every branch and regional library, as well as the Parkway Central Library, with questions about filing. Unfortunately,… continue reading Tax Filing Tips from the Free Library of Philadelphia
By written by Adam F. February 8, 2013 1
The Free Library of Philadelphia yesterday released its first batch of raw data to the OpenDataPhilly project. As discussed in previous blog posts , the "Open Data" initative's goal… continue reading Free Library of Philadelphia Contributes First Batch of Data to OpenDataPhilly Project
By written by Peter SM February 5, 2013