Posts in “databases” (118)

Blog Articles

In our continual effort to better serve you, a team of librarians has recently taken a fresh look at our many electronic resources and databases, and has recommended some changes. Public… continue reading Changes Coming to Our Electronic Resources and Databases

By written by Jamie W.    May 15, 2013    32

This is a great time for music lovers. Not so long ago, we had relatively few choices when it came to how we heard our music. We could buy it, which is ideal if you’re sure you’re… continue reading Music Everywhere

By written by Jamie W.    May 15, 2013    17

Another resource and ally in the Open Data movement (as I've written about in previous blog posts ) has popped up online as of last week: CultureBlocks.com . CultureBlocks is a free web-based… continue reading Arts, Culture, and Creativity Mapped Out on CultureBlocks

By written by Peter SM    May 8, 2013   

We are excited to present VuFind , the newest version of our online catalog , starting on Wednesday, February 20th! We've been running VuFind in beta since early last year, so some of you may… continue reading VuFind, the Library's New Online Catalog!

By written by Peter SM    February 15, 2013    14

The 55th annual Grammy awards were held this week in Los Angeles and the world was invited to sit on its collective couch and watch. Did the Grammys reaffirm your faith in pop music? Or like many… continue reading Grab a Grammy Winner with Freegal!

By written by Jamie W.    February 12, 2013   

Tax season is here, and as usual Philadelphians are flocking to every branch and regional library, as well as the Parkway Central Library, with questions about filing.  Unfortunately,… continue reading Tax Filing Tips from the Free Library of Philadelphia

By written by Adam F.    February 8, 2013    1

The Free Library of Philadelphia yesterday released its first batch of raw data to the OpenDataPhilly project. As discussed in previous blog posts , the "Open Data" initative's goal… continue reading Free Library of Philadelphia Contributes First Batch of Data to OpenDataPhilly Project

By written by Peter SM    February 5, 2013   

If the previous year’s statistics are any indication of what consumers spent money on during the holidays , there is a good chance that you or someone you know may be receiving some sort of… continue reading Have Yourself A Happy High-Tech Holiday!

By written by Peter SM    December 18, 2012   

The Free Library of Philadelphia has released the newest version of our mobile site ! The new mobile site (version 3.0) uses responsive web design and provides an optimal viewing experience on all… continue reading Free Library of Philadelphia Mobile Site 3.0

By written by Peter SM    December 11, 2012   

Can a great urban library such as the Free Library of Philadelphia "remember" a musician?  With yesterday's passing of Dave Brubeck (B. Concord, CA, Dec 6 1920; d. Norwalk, CT,… continue reading Remembering Dave Brubeck

By written by Adam F.    December 6, 2012   

Picking up from where we left off last week: What does Open Data mean for patrons and customers of the Free Library and what are some of the potential benefits and possibilities? If ever there was… continue reading Benefits and Possibilities of Open Data and the Free Library

By written by Peter SM    December 4, 2012   

This is the first part in a multi-part series looking at tech news and issues relevant to the Free Library of Philadelphia’s customers and patrons. One of the more recent buzzwords gaining… continue reading The Open Data Initiative and GIS Technology

By written by Peter SM    November 27, 2012   

At the Free Library, we are always on the lookout for the best resources to add to our database collection. Likewise, we are constantly evaluating our current offerings to make sure you… continue reading News from Databaseland

By written by Jamie W.    August 9, 2012   

This morning the Techmobile hosted third graders from Reynolds School onboard for an overview of the Library’s electronic resources for children, and then did a hands-on activity using… continue reading Philadelphia: People, Places Things with Third Graders from Reynolds School

By written by Joel N.    May 1, 2012    1

Morningstar is a trusted name in financial analysis. While its flagship product, Morningstar.com, has been available in our Business, Science, and Industry Department at the Parkway Central… continue reading Your Money Matters: Morningstar Library Edition Now Available At All FLP Locations!

By written by Jamie W.    February 23, 2012   

You've asked for 'em, now we've got 'em: interactive, talking ebooks for children! TumbleBooks is "an online collection of animated, talking picture books which teach kids the… continue reading Introducing TumbleBooks!

By written by Sarah S.    February 8, 2012    1

In response to broad audience demand, the Foundation Center has created this spectacular interactive mapping tool.  Designed for all persons interested in the impact of philanthropy around… continue reading Philanthropy In/Sight: Every Picture Tells a Story

By written by Jenn D.    January 24, 2011    2

POWER Library has provided the public and school libraries within Pennsylvania with access to many valuable resources for years.  The Office of Commonwealth Libraries has just announced that… continue reading Changes to our database offerings

By written by Jen W.    January 29, 2010    7

Tag Cloud


Tags


Archives


RSS