Castner Scrapbook v.17, Education 1, page 17

Historical Images of Philadelphia Castner Scrapbook Collection
Advanced
Castner Scrapbook v.17, Education 1, page 17

Item Info

Item No: pdcc01764
Title: Castner Scrapbook v.17, Education 1, page 17
Additional Title: Wagner Free Institute of Science, and two others
Historic Street Address: 1700 West Montgomery Avenue
Historic Street Address: 214-216 S. 5th Street
Historic Street Address: 8th & Parrish Streets
Media Type: Scrapbooks
Source: Print and Picture Collection
Notes:

Item 1, top: Illustration of the Wagner Free Institute of Science, 1700 West Montgomery Avenue. Designed by local architect John McArthur, Jr., who later designed Philadelphia's City Hall, the historic building was completed in 1865 as the permanent home of the unique museum and educational institution founded in 1855 by William Wagner. Wagner, who had been collecting natural specimens since childhood, hailed as a Philadelphia merchant, philanthropist and scientist. He believed that science-based education should be available to everyone—both men and women of all socio-economic backgrounds. In the early 1850s, Wagner began hosting free public lectures. Wildly popular, these lectures often showcased specimens from his collections. Today, the Wagner Free Institute remains open to the public as a natural history museum. The institution also continues to offer free education courses. Engraving published in a Philadelphia newspaper, September 6, 1873. 16.7 x 15.6 cm.


Notes:

Item 2, bottom left: Illustration of the Philadelphia College of Medicine, Fifth Street below Walnut. The school was organized by James McClintock in 1846 and chartered a year later when it moved into this building. The College merged with the Medical Department of Pennsylvania College in 1859. Noted architect Thomas Ustick Walter designed the building which was constructed in 1830. Previous tenants include: The Philadelphia Club (1834-1835); Odd Fellows Hall (c.1845). Engraving on wood, c.1849. 9.5 x 12.4 cm. Published in The Stranger's Guide in Philadelphia and its Environs. (Philadelphia: Lindsay & Blakiston, 1854), p. 97-99


Notes:

Item 3, bottom right: View of the façade of the Warner School, also known as: Warner Grammar School; Warner Combined Secondary and Primary School. The building was designed by noted architect Samuel Sloan and constructed c.1850-1851 on 8th Street above Parrish. The School was named after Henry Warner. Warner served for a time as the controller of the 13th Ward of the City of Philadelphia, the Ward in which the School was located. Engraving from unidentified publication. 10.8 x 9.6 cm.


Creation Year: ca. 1845
Geocode Latitude: Geocode Latitude:39.969061
Geocode Longitude:-75.164941

Call Number: A917.481 P536 v.17
Creator Name: Castner, Samuel, Jr., 1843-1929 - Compiler